Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
6,335 ratings
1,422 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 25, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,447 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Aurileide A

Nov 22, 2021

It´s very basic. It could have some activities in order to consolidate the knowledge. Anyway, it is a very nice begginers course.

By Yan J

Apr 8, 2018

It is very useful if you are new for UED. It will help you building up framework, and tell you some fundation defination of UED.

By Alexa B

May 12, 2020

This course provided a nice introduction to UX Design, but I wasn't impressed with the number of typos in the course materials.

By Oki A

Jun 14, 2022

Great for a more extensive introductory course to UX Design but some of the reading materials are out of date or inaccessible.

By Caitlin M

Mar 22, 2022

Had some technical issues (which is a bit ironic for a UX course) but otherwise felt I learned a great overview of the basics.

By Nur F

Nov 3, 2020

Clear and structures video lectures. Would have preferred the CORRECT answers to the quiz are shown after user has submitted.

By Laura A

May 15, 2020

Rosa is so good! I learned a lot in this course. Thanks Cousera & Georgia Tech, to make this courses available for everyone!

By Emmanuel M

Aug 19, 2020

El contenido me paereció muy valioso. Me abrió la mente.Excelente que la mayoría de videos tengan subtitulación al español.

By Lok S C

Feb 2, 2022

good for extreme beginners. Does not always relate to real world business concerns, but great as a theoretical background.

By sunday l

Dec 27, 2021

Not bad, as a refreshment for the terms and basic knowledge for user research. But lack of practice and not update enough.

By Emídia F

May 30, 2020

The content is very good, but the interaction and doubts posted in the fórum are forgotten by the creators of the course.

By Supriya B

Mar 20, 2020

More detailing on how to design alternatives would have been useful. I felt like I did not learn much about that aspect.

By Mehedi H

May 11, 2020

There should be a review system like assignment for alternative designs , prototyping , creating survey , evaluation.

By Jonathon C

Jan 27, 2020

excellent presenter, high level concepts made easy through real examples. Only downside was quality of transcripts.

By Kelly C

Jan 19, 2017

It is a fundamental class, quite easy to understand for people who don't have any background about user experience.

By Gerardo V

Apr 22, 2020

Great way to be introduced into the world of UX design. I enjoyed the course a lot and it was very easy to follow.

By Hadeer M

Aug 13, 2021

It's great but a little hard to understand for me even with subtitles the Linguistic concepts needs more details.

By María T G D

Sep 30, 2019

It is really helpful if you are just trying to get to know what user experience research and design is all about.

By Madhuri G

Mar 2, 2021

Assessments are very thoughtfully made. They were not easy and that helped me get back to course and learn more.

By Mehmet B

Aug 15, 2020

A fair well-designed course covering the basics. I believe, better detailing on the quizzes would be beneficial.

By Hyo E L

Mar 16, 2018

took less than few hours to complete!

Clear and easy explanation helped me to grasp basic concepts of UX design

By Naomi S

Oct 11, 2020

Users should be able to manually review wrong answers, by 'locking in' their test result so they can't cheat.

By Luiz M

May 19, 2020

The course was good. The issue was the predominant verbal explanation but very little visual exemplification.

By Vanessa P M d S

Jun 19, 2017

Easy to follow, good teacher, good content. I would suggest to include more real examples for each concept.

By Maziel S J C

Oct 3, 2016

Conceptos muy básicos pero sin duda funcionales y necesarios para quien inicia en el User Experience Design.