Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.6
3,272 ratings
976 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM

Sep 23, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

MV

Dec 01, 2016

As a design manager I should say this course actually opened my eyes to a new world. I hope be able to make good changes in my world by using this knowledge more and more in my life. Thanks to All :)

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 959 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Jose J B

Nov 15, 2015

Me gustó mucho el curso pues es muy práctico, corto y se entiende claramente la metodología propuesta para lograr diseñar para la innovación.

By Michal K

Dec 15, 2016

Very nice and coherent overview of DT approach. I highly recommend committing few hours to this course and gaining valuable insights

By Brayan A A M

Mar 10, 2016

Great course from the beginning to the end. It challenge you, motivates you and become a person with a different sense of (and tools for) innovation.

By Fabio M d F

Jul 22, 2017

Good course. Gives an overview and main principles.

By David H

Jan 05, 2016

ULTRA AWESOME

By Héctor J M O

Nov 30, 2017

Great course that give you competencies, knowledge and tools to begin new and innovative ideas

By Christopher J

Nov 30, 2017

w00t!

By Rishi R

Jun 25, 2017

A great course for solving practical business issues

By ASHWIN U S

Nov 27, 2015

Wonderful Course. Got to learn a lot of new and interesting stuff. And interacted with quite a lot of intelligent and enthusiastic learners.

By Louis S D

Nov 11, 2017

This is a wonderful course and I applaud Prof Liedtka on her teaching methodology combining structure with creativity. Each of the tools listed are really useful in expressing the design thought process in action and every one of the experts have lent their unique perspectives, which have been really helpful in outlining the idea that Design Thinking tries to convey. My only gripe if any would be the assignment rubric, which shackles the author within a very walled framework and defeats the purpose of thinking out of the box. While it offers a precious guideline for the peer to evaluate, it more or less mandates the author to stick within this and it applies some sort of unwritten pressure on the peer to rate only on those defined yardsticks, which again effectively brings down the scope for the writer of the reflection to bring in fresh approaches into their piece. Design Thinking in spirit has to involve a level of creative thinking within a structured framework, but if the structure takes precedence, then in all probability creativity would take an uncomplimentary second position. Please take this for what it is, but be sure that the course and the material have been totally outstanding, and I commend the Darden team for putting this out on Coursera.

By Nwanneka O

Aug 01, 2017

I LEARNT A LOT

By Vijay R

Jul 31, 2017

This course gave me an opportunity to learn 'practical' Design Thinking directly from the inspiring teacher/professor , Jeanne Liedtka with very engaging course videos and exercises.

By Lidiane F C

Mar 01, 2018

Curso muito bom, simples de entender em uma linguagem didática. Material de apoio e foruns excelentes

By Roberto I R G

Jan 24, 2017

Excelente curso para principantes e intermedios

By Felipe T F

Dec 21, 2017

Highly recommended!

By David H

Jan 04, 2017

The lecture videos move very fast at times but the information is concise and useful. The professor uses lots of examples to illustrate each of the topics covered and helps facilitate the students in adapting the concepts into their own lives and experiences.

By Sandra S

Jun 22, 2016

Great course for beginners!

By Oliver L L F

Jun 18, 2017

Great course. Highly recommended!

By Philipp H

Oct 23, 2017

Useful and easy to follow introduction to design thinking.

By Fabio D

Sep 21, 2017

great course!!!

By Amit B

Nov 02, 2017

A very nice and curated introduction to the world and possibilities of Design Thinking. Loved the examples and structure of the course.

By Ran L

May 11, 2018

Jeanne has been one of the best presenters I've ever seen. The words from her mouth carry great depth of thoughts and passion for what she cares about. I'm definitely retaking this course in the coming future.

By Hamsa P S

Jun 12, 2018

I've learned a lot of different techniques and gained perspective through this course that no other content on internet could provide me. This course is "Impact delivered"

By Carolie S

May 06, 2016

This was, by far, the most useful online course I have taken. The course quality is excellent and the concepts were explained clearly. I highly recommend.

By maria c r n

Feb 13, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken from Coursera. The professor and the team involved in this course are great. Highly value added content.