Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
6,337 ratings
1,984 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

RB
Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

SP
Aug 15, 2020

Excellent program to learn lots of tools towards Design Thinking !! Thanks a lot! Very interactive and the last activity of completing the assignment was very thought provoking !! thanks to all pears!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,965 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Alexander C C L

Jul 12, 2020

An excellent course that you can complete at your own pace; within the deadline. The trainers are top of the line where the use of stories/case studies help in comprehension and linking the topics to the real-world applications.

My appreciation and use of Design Thinking has developed further upon completing this course; much appreciation goes to the University of Virginia, Darden Business School & the staff involved. It has been a memorable and enriching experience :)

By Camilo M

Aug 1, 2020

Amazing. I was truly touched by the effort put into this course. I've done other online courses but this one is by far the best one. For me, it was very clear that the tools shared in the learning process were also used in its creation. It made me feel uncomfortable as the new knowledge confronted the old one. Every example had many insights and more. Well, I could go on and on. Then again, thank you very much. Looking forward to learn more.

By Sonia B

Jan 13, 2020

The subject matter is not only interesting, but also very pertinent to our times. The video lectures were engaging and of just the right length. Stories were used to illustrate concepts, which made them easy to understand. Finally, the assignment was very challenging. I have had to work hard at it, revisiting the lectures and the suggested reading. It was worth my time and effort. I am really happy and proud to have earned this certificate.

By Beatriz N

Aug 25, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. I am a PhD student in Organizational Communication and I loved getting my feet wet with Design Thinking concepts. I think the course was very straight-forward, very application-based, with little fluff, while still being very entertained. I am very picky with the Coursera courses I choose, but this was definitely a winner, and I will be looking forward to more courses by this program and this Professor.

By Kristian H

Mar 5, 2020

Insightful and relatively concise course that puts the issue of design thinking in a nutshell. The process is explained in a way that is easy to understand and to apply as well. The assessment is indeed helpful in applying all the different tools effectively. I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of work submitted by peers for review, and I actually learned from their experience as innovation consultants as well. Recommended.

By Jayesh R

Jun 15, 2020

I knew bits about the tools used, but I didn't know there is a complete approach called design thinking which makes taking up challenges exciting and helps you become solution-oriented. I have been in an organization where managers are all about mitigating risks rather than being innovative. I got to learn a lot about the potential of design thinking through case studies. Will definitely refer Prof. Jeanne's books in the future.

By DENISE

Apr 7, 2020

This course gave me extraordinary tools for the idea generation process; it helped me understand what a real brainstorming session is and, more importantly, it changed my mindset for the way I look at things in my Organization. I will take the tools this course has given me throughout my professional life, and I am sure I will be able to apply them pretty much everywhere. A big THANK YOU to Coursera for making this possible!

By Christopher N

Jun 5, 2020

Having been an exchange student in Denmark and having gone back to Denmark quite a few times, I really enjoyed the information about The Good Kitchen. That alone let me to know that I would enjoy this class. After this class, I believe I will better know when to "run the numbers" and when applying design thinking might be the better avenue. This is a great starting point and I look forward to exploring more.

By Fran V

Jul 3, 2019

Loved this course. Clear, concise and logical. I am myself a designer and this process feels totally natural to me. I presented the Design Thinking concept to my team lead, who was also really keen to utilise it and follow it for our team's design process. Subsequently, we have got permission from our director to implement in our team, which is tasked with innovation within the company. Wins all round!!

By Laurie A K

Mar 8, 2020

Dr. Leitdka's delivery of the course was excellent. Her and her peers presentation of core concepts in the Design Thinking methodology was superior. I learned a great deal via videos, case studies, and examples to have a fundamental understanding of the framework and tools for real-world application. Thanks to Dr. Leitdka and Coursera for permitting access to a great learning experience!

By Amit K

Jan 19, 2019

What i really loved about the course was the real life examples and cases. The Design Thinking tools explained in the course are very practical. Though we apply some of them in real life somewhere or other but the program gave me a very structured approach to apply them. I am sure, if applied properly the tools should be effective and produce desired results. Thank you! it was fun learning.

By Eunice G

Oct 5, 2020

The course presentation was excellent. Jeanne made it very easy to follow and she was a joy to listen to. Her knowledge and passion for the subject was great and each topic flowed easily onto the next thus making easy to follow. The choice for the final assignment was also great as it made me put into practice al that was taught in the course. Thank you very much Jeanne for very good work.

By Aindril D

Jun 1, 2020

Overall a great course to help understand the various aspects of design thinking and also helped put into perspective and channelize alot of practices that we are already implementing in our daily work environment. The examples of three different organizations implementing the design thinking in different ways to me was the highlight of the course. Thank You Professor for the great course.

By Christian S

Sep 4, 2016

A good introduction into the topic of design thinking.

Even thought the participants only will get real understanding of the material when executing them in real life, as with so many topics that are being sought, this course helps you to understand what is special to design thinking. It helped me to distinguish it from e.g. agile/scrum, and be able to work within a design thinking team.

By Jim S

Mar 28, 2016

Excellent course for business leaders to get a flavour of this concept with some real-world case studies. I'm actually making it a compulsory course for my management team.

Clear presentation style pitched at just the right level with bite sized videos that can be watched offline with the App.

Only improvement would be the addition of some quizzes through the course to test understanding.

By Daria T

Jun 7, 2020

I had the best experience through this course! Not only did I pick up concepts and tools that I can apply immediately in my professional life, I also connected with new alumni who are just as motivated to engage in continuous learning as I am. Thanks to UVA for making this available as a special opportunity for all alum during this time of immense change and progress in the world!

By Ankur D

May 7, 2020

Very well crafted course that introduces Design Thinking concepts an their applications with specific and easy to understand examples. The course methodology and module flow inspires curiosity.

There should be a detail module on Mind-mapping tool and its application. Further, some quizzes and case studies would help to reinforce the concepts and tools at the end of every module.

By David M G L

Aug 4, 2020

I enjoyed the design thinking for innovation course because it demonstrated how each design thinking tool applied to a real-world scenario. I never felt as if I was confused as the content flowed from one tool to the next and the discussion groups were a great help in understanding that other people were also having difficulties in applying these methods in their organisations.

By Muhammad K S

May 22, 2020

Excellent description by Professor Jeanne M. Liedtka. Effective use of so many design tools and being open to situational changes are the key outcomes of the course. I believe this would help us direct our energy towards always having a growth mindset - this would be beneficial personally as well as professionally. Thank you Professor for educating us with your brilliant work.

By Diego S O

May 27, 2020

This course focuses on getting in love with the problem, the "what is" of any situation to solve. If we all achieve this, all the tools from this course will be essential to properly define a solution and pivot / iterate it if necessary. All the practical and real life examples tie the lessons to existing problems, which make it easy to understand and improve our perspective.

By Chrysavgi P

Apr 12, 2020

This course was a really good opportunity to enhance my knowledge as well as learn how to use different design tools to solve any challenge. Also, the fact that I had the chance to review my peers' assignments gave me the opportunity to see how different people used design thinking to solve the problem. The instructor was very good and all the videos were really helpful.

By Suveen K

Sep 26, 2019

What i loved most about this course

It's short, simple, precise, to the point. This course highlights, repeats and recaps the basics of Innovation and it is done in such a manner that the foundation of innovation gets registered in your mind. I loved everything about it and will recommend people to take this to get their basics right for Design Thinking for Innovation.

By Pierre S

Jan 25, 2017

Cours très intéressant sur la manière de gérer des projets en utilisant le Design Thinking, les explications sont bien faites ainsi que le plan. Les vidéos dédiées aux différents outils avec des intervenants différents et le recours à des exemples concrets apportent beaucoup et facilitent la mise en application des concepts dans les projets personnels/professionnels.

By Ram C

Aug 27, 2019

I Thank the management of coursera to have given me an opportunity to take this course of Design Thinking with financial aid and was able to complete the course before time.

Thanking the team who have assessed my final project submissions and assessment.

This has helped me to revive my career as a future innovator and work with kids in the field of design thinking.

By Daniel E T

Dec 27, 2019

Absolutely phenomenal. This was my first courser course ever taken and I have had within these past couple weeks million dollar ideas flow to my head thanks to my Father and Heaven and the talent and wisdom of these teachers at the Darden School of Business, I approve the value of this course and believe it is one of the best for a beginner. Thanks for everything!