Chevron Left
Back to Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
491 ratings
156 reviews

About the Course

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top reviews

DP
Oct 8, 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM
Nov 30, 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 156 Reviews for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

By Giuliano B

Jan 16, 2021

This is a fascinating cultural course that I have learned a lot. I am very grateful. Thank you

By Shohei W

May 18, 2020

Very good overview of relationship between Japanese photography and illustrations and texts

By Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

By Ricardo M

Oct 30, 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

By yui k

Jun 12, 2020

Watanabe Kazan's insights gave me something for current Black Lives Matter movements.

By Sandra R d C

Jun 25, 2020

The content is very interesting and well explained and many beautiful images, too.

By Janna T K

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

By Daniel Y

Nov 19, 2020

Fascinating, well edited, served in easy to digest bits, and very communicative.

By Mauricio U C

Jan 16, 2021

Very enjoyable and full of interesting information. Allowed me to learn a lot.

By Tala B

Feb 7, 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

By Hayley H

Nov 18, 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

By Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

By Brian C S

Dec 6, 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

By spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

By Karolina U

Oct 25, 2020

Very useful and interesting for me as a East Asian culture specialist :)

By Carmen

Feb 21, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

By Melina C K

Mar 6, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

By Sagan-Indiana C

Aug 10, 2020

Loved it! Inspired a whole new literary area of research for me.

By Yuliya A S

Oct 5, 2020

Loved it, Very interesting fantastic material, and explanation.

By Juyoung R

Jan 7, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

By Phyllis L S

Aug 2, 2020

Thank you for this delightful and stimulating course.

By JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

By Aleksandr Z

Aug 29, 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.

By Syn-Ti L

Jan 6, 2018

Great introduction to Japanese art and literature!

By Viktoriia S

Dec 6, 2020

Very interesting course and lecturer. Thank you!