Chevron Left
Back to Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB by University of London

4.6
512 ratings
109 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will develop more advanced web application programming skills. You will learn how to control data read and write access using methods, publish and subscribe. You will learn how to access your database and server shells using command line tools. You will use the SimpleSchema system to validate data and generate input forms automatically. You will see a complete collaborative code editing environment, TextCircle, being built from scratch. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - use Meteor methods to control data write access - use publish and subscribe to control data read access - install and use advanced Meteor packages - add user accounts to your applications - implement complex MongoDB filters - use the MongoDB and meteor server shells - define data validations schemas using SimpleSchema - generate data input forms automatically using SimpleSchema In this course, you will complete: 2 programming assignments taking ~4 hours each to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

KK

Oct 02, 2017

manipulate application with multiple users is a really useful technical skills we should get, these courses contain how to add multiple users/documents/comments, that's really need to learn!

AN

Feb 23, 2016

I really liked the course. Tha manner of teaching and the subject with all the details of "how to" are attention catchy. Unfortunately just had no time to complete it properly and in time.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 108 Reviews for Web Application Development with JavaScript and MongoDB

By Serjey G I

Feb 24, 2016

Great course!

By Artem N

Feb 23, 2016

I really liked the course. Tha manner of teaching and the subject with all the details of "how to" are attention catchy. Unfortunately just had no time to complete it properly and in time.

By Akash C

Jan 22, 2016

Very Nice teaching. Why don't you people try to make new Tutorials for Nodejs. That would be awesome.

Really enjoying learning Meteor.

By Mariana d A S

Sep 14, 2016

The course is excellent: modern, practical, and with a number of useful tips.

By Gnat M

Dec 20, 2015

Dr. Matthew Yee-King is one of the best teachers I ever seen. Besides course is really interesting and useful.

By EZABO B

Dec 17, 2015

Perfect

By Wong P K

Jul 08, 2018

The example demonstrated in the course is quite interesting. The instructor also teaches us how to build the example from scratch. If you have some background in the (PHP) web development and some idea about JS, you can finish the whole course within one week.

By Muhammad S

Aug 14, 2019

Lot of thanks to University of London and Coursera for providing this amazing and useful course. Really enjoyed learning. It helped me learn new skills to develop my career and enrich my expertise. Thanks

By Carlos L

Apr 06, 2019

Non of the courses teaches you how to host your meteor app nor the limitations of it, I think this is very important and it's not mentioned anywhere!

By Karl S

Jun 24, 2016

The final project for this one was difficult but within reason, as it should be.

By Andreas D

Mar 07, 2017

Great course! It covers many aspects of web development and it is really helpful that you can see a complex application being created line by line. The only issue that kept me from giving 5 stars is the assignments. Frankly, they are too simple! They don't give you the chance to repeat the techniques shown in the videos and comprehend these complex and for some of us new topics. Many thanks!

By Cristian C B

Feb 15, 2016

Es bueno pero hace falta enfocarlo mas en temas especificos

By Sergej V

Dec 28, 2015

Enjoying it, but missed out a bit before...

By Francisco J F A

Feb 26, 2016

Great course!! It's really useful.

By Frederic H

Nov 27, 2016

Very good introduction to Meteor. Should be updated to newer Meteor version, lots of things have changed in the official guidelines in the meantime.

By Dana N

Aug 15, 2016

This was informative, but there were some issues with the final project that could have used some more guidance.

By Thelemaque D

Jan 12, 2016

Great cours !

By Alejandro

Dec 20, 2015

great

By James K

Jan 14, 2016

Best course in the specialization so far. Well thought out and explained. The course still has the same problem with quiz questions being at times obtuse, but overall it's a really good course.

By Nicola R A

Jan 12, 2016

Great Course

By Eleonora R

Sep 14, 2018

Very well explained (really love the teacher!) however some of the functionalities do not work with recent version of the framework, making it very slow and difficult to follow the course through.

By Victor W

Sep 17, 2018

exercise made so easy

By lyheng

Feb 20, 2017

The previous 3 courses was pretty good, but the assignment is tooooooooo easy, and this course has lot of redundancy, which i think it is not necessary, but overall, i think it is good

By Lucas E S

Oct 14, 2017

Needs an update since meteor.js changed a lot since the course was developed

By Ioannis G

Mar 26, 2016

I would prefer if the course lasted 6 weeks so we can get a better understanding in theory and practice every single bit of the code. It was a nice ride in general and I liked it. The last exercise was hard, it could have been a little easier.