Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript by University of London

4.6
stars
5,908 ratings
1,604 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn three key website programming and design languages: HTML, CSS and JavaScript. You will create a web page using basic elements to control layout and style. Additionally, your web page will support interactivity. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Define the purpose of HTML, CSS and JavaScript 2. Make a simple web page using HTML 3. Use CSS to control text styles and layout 4. Use CSS libraries such as Bootstrap to create responsive layouts 5. Use JavaScript variables and functions 6. Manipulate web page content using JavaScript 7. Respond to user input using JavaScript In this course, you will complete: 2 assignments writing HTML, CSS and JavaScript, each taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete 1 programming exercise~30 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

DA

May 26, 2018

This is an excellent course for the basics in html, css and js I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted to build a simple but interactive website using one of the many frameworks available

CM

Oct 10, 2017

Thought the course did a great job of teaching the basics without getting too ahead of itself. All of the sample code was well commented out to explain exactly what the code did which was very helpful

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,598 Reviews for Responsive Website Basics: Code with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript

By Hameer A

Nov 19, 2019

i am very thankful of your, i have lot of learnt from this course, after completed this course i am able to work as professional developer

By Axel G

Jul 20, 2018

Very straight forward going explanations about modern webdesign. I Learned a lot fo new techniques. Thank you all for this very good course

By Jonathan J C A

Mar 5, 2018

Es excelente para el nivel mostrado básico, muy comprensible si hay dudas de como empezar un desarrollo responsive esta es la mejor manera.

By Md S I

Jul 26, 2017

This course gives me the confidence that even being a non-programmer, I can still progress towards Web development, specially the UX part.

By David M

Feb 17, 2021

this was a very interesting course mostly the java script the insight was great and i will be using this skill in some up coming projects

By Natalie K

Jan 9, 2017

Very interesting videos! easy to learn with fun. Highly recommended for all beginners who wants to know more about front end development.

By Dusan Z

Jan 31, 2016

This course is modern, well made and very much "hands-on". I love use of libraries such as Bootstrap and jQuery! I recommend this course.

By Gabriela V

Dec 9, 2019

Really happy to follow this great adventure. Congratulations to our teachers. They did a really good job. Happy to follow the next step.

By José P S S

Sep 7, 2020

Excelente curso con explicaciones muy claras y evaluaciones sencillas.

By Christophe V

Oct 5, 2015

I have followed 2 courses at the same time: this one and "HTML, CSS and Javascript". They are covering the similar topics but this class has fallen short on most of the subject.

Lecture time is very little. Short videos, and few of them. Each video is mostly non-focused talking, very few examples and so you don't learn much.

By comparison, the other class has a lot of videos, each video is much longer and goes into many examples. Time is spent on focusing on the things to learn, and you get a lot out of it.

I am dropping out of this specialization and will follow the other one which I hope will bring good content (unfortunately the following classes are not from the same teacher but from the same university). The following classes from this specialization are from the same teacher, so I don't think things will improve much.

By Shuai Y

Jul 16, 2017

1.The course doesn't specify on important details in HTML such as some of the most used tags, it only teaches several and doesn't even give explanation. And it doesn't offer references for learners to self-teach them other tags. Honestly, I wouldn't be able to master Html after only viewing this course, let alone being confident to move on to CSS (fortunately I already learned those things from other tutorials and just came here to view the basics, while this course is not a good tutorial for either beginners or medium learners).

2. The instructor is clearly not well-prepared with frequent stammers, pauses, slip of the tongue, and mistakes in demonstration of making websites. He might be a good front-end engineer, but not a good teacher who should express himself explicitly.

By Sarah M

Sep 23, 2020

I was very familiar with all of the concepts taught and was able to complete this course in a couple hours. This is what I was expecting, I had the opportunity to take free Coursera courses so I figured this would be an easy certificate. But this isn't why I am giving it a two star rating. I have taken many basics tutorials...I feel sorry for anyone who paid for this because this is the most simplistic fundamental course I have ever seen on the subject. This is not suitable for adults and shouldn't be on this website. This is suitable for 4th graders...or people that aren't fluent in speaking English, it's that rudimentary. This isn't a bad thing...this just isn't the right platform for this class.

By Tanya H K N

Mar 29, 2016

Suitable neither for absolute beginners nor as a stand-alone course. For example, there are things that the quiz questions refer to that haven't been covered in the course, but you can't even look them up because they haven't given you the necessary terminology to find relevant information about them on google. This means that you'll be left looking through a minefield of resources that include the code in the quiz question but are actually about something else.

I have now started using Lynda instead, and am seeing all the bad habits I've picked up and the holes left in my knowledge. Normally I prefer Lynda to Coursera for the assignments and the quizzes, but not in this case...

By Mathew T

Nov 21, 2019

Very basic content, which is fine. The real drawback is that the homework assignments can be done without actually learning any of the content. One assignment, supposedly checking your understanding of bootstrap/html/css, requires only that the student replace certain images in the provided code. This could be done with zero knowledge of the programming languages, and provides students with zero impetus to grow. Other general problems exist, e.g. with the peer grading schema.

By Muhammad Z K

Dec 24, 2016

I haven't completed the course yet but after html and css and some javascript, I didn't feel like continuing. the instructor doesn't suit me... kind of monotonous tbh. the content of the course seemed good but instructors play a huge role on delivering those content to the students so it just didn't work for me. especially the short haired instructor with constant hand movement and unblinking stare which is quite unnerving...

By austin k

Feb 2, 2016

The instructors are very knowledgeable, but the course seems to have the , "we just threw this together at the last minute feel". Many of the Quizzes are very poorly worded. The final project is a bit of a disaster as some of the reviewers are unable to unzip a generic '.gz' file and you can end up getting 0 points from those particular incompetent types.

By Markus R

Mar 15, 2016

I am really disappointed, to be honest! Course covers mostly trivial stuff; lectures are just presenting code snippets; many inaccuracies; nothing about HTML5; entire 4-week-class can easily be completed in one week.

Definitely not near the quality I am used to from Coursera. Udacity’s "Intro to HTML and CSS" and "JavaScript Basics" are way better.

By Cheryl L D

Oct 11, 2015

Very hard to follow unless you have had a good deal of experience with programming. I would not really recommend. Like the teachers OK, but they all went through too much material way too fast and without proper explanation. I will take other classes on programming and then come back to this one again later (maybe).

By Ahmed M S

Nov 11, 2015

many question in the quiz wasn't covered in the video lectures. I enrolled in this course looking for refreshing my info about the 3 subjects and hopefully gaining new in-depth info about them but the information presented during the course was very trivial and only covered few parts about the main 3 subjects

By Dipika J

Mar 8, 2017

Introduced too many tools in a single course. Javascript, CSS, JQuery is very vast and it is not possible to learn everything in one course. They should have been introduced one by one. It took a lot of time for me to capture what the video taught. I had to do a LOT of self learning

By James K

Nov 9, 2015

This course needs an overhaul. There are mistakes in some code examples and quiz questions are sometimes ambiguous. While I appreciate the work that has gone into making this MOOC, there are better courses available on Coursera to learn this material.

By ROHIT C

Nov 18, 2019

We should wait for weeks and weeks for people to review our courses which is not at all a good idea and what if someone is in need of the certificate and waiting for others to review even if it is not his/her fault. Kindly look into this

By Ana M E G

Mar 6, 2016

I think it the course goes extremely fast, I do not agree with its tittle of basic nor the instructors provide sufficient information to achieve the final quiz goal, I am not sure about completing the entire course. Thanks anyway.

By Rajat G

Dec 12, 2019

You will get basics knowledge about javascript and JQuery and nothing else in this course. But I learned a lot from this course which is so Unique and you found it very useful if you are a beginner in JavaScript.

By Bruno M

Oct 11, 2015

Only very very basics. They won't teach you make well formed HTML documents, complete CSS files or learn to program in JavaScript.