Chevron Left
Back to Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
stars
850 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top reviews

AP
Jul 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 234 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

By Asif H

Jun 9, 2020

The overall course material was good. But I faced a problem with the accent of the instructors.

By Prateek B

Sep 9, 2020

It was a nice learning experience. Thank you for this informative and interesting course.

By Sharavanakkumar S

Nov 29, 2020

I learned something new, which helps in identifying new tools used in bioinformatics.

By SHASHANK K S

Jun 11, 2020

Very useful course but it will be great if tools are explained in little more detail.

By Mahek B

Jun 24, 2020

the software suggested are slightly difficult to use rest the content is good

By Eddie S L L

Nov 5, 2020

I think this course is pretty good. It is very informational and practical.

By Mrithika S

Jul 25, 2020

This course was very useful and simple to learn and understand.

By ananya s

Nov 7, 2019

VERY THOROUGH AND INFORMATIVE. EAGER TO DO THE OTHER COURSES.

By Anushka G

Sep 9, 2020

The course was pretty interesting. I enjoyed learning it.

By Carla L I

May 30, 2020

It has very hard but very interesting for my career

By DINESH K R

Aug 17, 2020

It was really amazing lecture with detailed demo.

By AGBO A A J B P

Nov 29, 2018

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

By ESHA J

Oct 16, 2020

Thank you so much

This course was really helpful

By Yasser M

May 5, 2018

It is one of the best MOOC courses I have Taken.

By Rui P d S F M

Aug 16, 2020

The final task requires too much work.

By Ivonne G

Nov 20, 2017

I really like it. Easy and practical.

By Suman H M

Oct 31, 2020

good but question are too trickly

By Abarna C

Sep 9, 2020

The course was interesting!

By Bikash K

Jan 15, 2019

Very simple and informative

By Romain M

Jul 22, 2018

Great course, thanks

By 121922201008 g

Sep 18, 2020

Great

By Joanna P

Apr 14, 2020

Interesting topic! And well presented material! It is very convenient and helpful to be introduced into several bioinformatic tools, as they may seem intimidating in the beginning. Also, I liked the final assignment.

I would suggest to add more assignments during this 5 week course as it is hand-on work and thus it motivates students to learn more and get familiar with the tools. It would also be useful to put more emphasis into the applications f these tools and how widely they are used. It would also be useful to do some troubleshooting during the course, like how we should interpret the results when they are not so clear or what we could further do to acquire a more clear picture.

Thank you very much for everything! It has been an enjoyable 5-week course.

By Jason B

Mar 27, 2020

There is very little background information given to what is being done, how it is being done or why it is being done. Obviously an online course like this can only go into so much detail but there was almost no explanation of the background. It is also not just using the medical field as its context but what is taught has almost no relevance outside medicine as the course is better understood as a tutorial on how to use their own web tools. While those tools serve their purpose, unless you want to use their tools, you will gain very little over the course.

By Arina D

Jul 1, 2020

This is a set of manuals. No theory - just a description of several tools with some very basic explanation of the principles underlying these tools.

Before applying for this course, I can suggest visiting the site with all the tools described in these courses and reviewing it - it may be easier for someone (and definitely faster) to read the instructions on the site https://cge.cbs. dtu.dk/services/

However, the tools themselves are quite useful.

By Lynn M

Sep 18, 2020

Was slightly disappointed about how the class is very on the surface. It covers some cool tools but does not go into the details of genome sequencing, which I was expecting to see more of. Some lectures are highly repetitive as well.