Chevron Left
Back to Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
4,089 ratings
1,360 reviews

About the Course

Ever wondered why some things become popular, and other don't? Why some products become hits while others flop? Why some ideas take off while others languish? What are the key ideas behind viral marketing? This course explains how things catch on and helps you apply these ideas to be more effective at marketing your ideas, brands, or products. You'll learn how to make ideas stick, how to increase your influence, how to generate more word of mouth, and how to use the power of social networks to spread information and influence. Drawing on principles from his best-selling book, "Contagious: Why Things Catch On," Professor Jonah Berger illustrates successful strategies for you to use buzz to create virality so that your campaigns become more shareable on social media and elsewhere. By the end of this course, you'll have a better understanding of how to craft contagious content, build stickier messages, and get any product, idea, or behavior to catch on....

Top reviews

NR
Jul 25, 2020

Educational and eye opening, the instructor offered amazing content with examples and links to further look into the topics mentioned. A great tool to have for anyone in business, sales, or marketing.

RC
Dec 20, 2018

Pleasant tone, many tangible illustrations that bring the theory to life. Well-balanced pace. Could be complemented by a practical exercise - but perfect for working professionals who have less time.

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,339 Reviews for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

By Deleted A

Jul 18, 2017

The course is well designed and articulate. However from the POV of a working professional (working in Brand Management for about 4 years) I found the initial modules a bit generic. Also if you could include certain tangible metric for the assement of potentially viral content that would make it a little more applicable in day to day working.

By George O

Feb 14, 2017

The course covers both theory and practice. It is therefore useful for both academicians and practitioners. I strongly recommend it. In a future follow up course there could be more teaching on how to make products or ideas viral on social networks such as LinkedIn, facebook, twitter. Maybe on when or how to post the content on social media.

By sushill s s

Oct 26, 2016

Fantastic Course, very well crafted for an online environment. The course was well planned and gave us a clear view on how things happen and what we need to do to get something like this in place. The lecturer was so good, this gave me an understanding on what to expect from a college like this and the value that they deliver.

By Verónica R

Apr 23, 2020

Loved it! I think it would be great to add some updated videos about Social Media examples since it has grown a lot in the last few years. The most recent examples were the ALS campaign and I think there's a whole lot more to try to explain the principles from the class.

Overall, very nice experience and also very helpful.

By franca g c

Jan 19, 2018

Great tips that made a lot of sense. These were delivered in an easy manner and the instructor was quite credible. Videos were short and to the point. Would have been great if there had been some specific exercises to conduct or a short project to work, where we could apply the learnings from the sessions.

By Maximilian P

May 18, 2020

Generally a nice push into the right direction. Makes you think and makes sense - Although very broad. For a course with a certification not representative at all. I would not feel comfortable showing this at a job interview. It's basically the quick video summary of his book I assume... Not very scientific.

By Krishna P

Jun 5, 2017

The course was very beneficial in knowing the scientific and psychological impact of consumer behaviors and social influence. Professor Jonah was great and he was able to make every point very clear. However I expected the course to have more reading materials or project or any sort of other activities too.

By Giridharan S

Dec 29, 2016

A very useful course. Professor Berger's style of delivery is good. It opened up my eyes to different aspects of viral marketing in a coherent and cogent manner. It may be useful to incorporate one more week to actually show how to craft contagious content using the different aspects taught earlier.

By Julia B

Sep 8, 2017

Great info and insights, presented in appropriate lesson length and depth. I do suggest that someone take a look at the questionnaire content for grammar and general comprehension. Several questions were confusing; I wasn't sure what they were asking, due to grammatical errors. Strange but true!

By Tina I

May 20, 2020

While short & to the point, I would have liked to see more examples of each concept in order to better illustrate the point. Also, more data on the science behind his material would be appreciated.

Despite only auditing the course, I was marked late for the quizzes which I could not take.

By Carlos S

Mar 28, 2020

Usefull information, clear explanations, and I liked the examples as real advertisement. Teacher has good energy to communicate and the structure of the course makes sense and it is easy to follow. The course was quite short, and I missed more techniques to create viral / sticky content.

By Emmanuelle Z

Jun 9, 2020

Being a second year business administration student, I found this course very interesting. I have a vague idea about Marketing and the information that i learned will surely help me. However, maybe we can use a bit more visual example to explain each concepts. Great lectures, Thank you!

By Lucas

Jun 26, 2017

Very easy to follow. Teacher speaks very clearly and provides good examples. The course is very dynamic. I put only four stars because I found that the last week did not bring enough interesting material compared to the others (did not feel like taking any notes). Thank you very much ;)

By Dimitra Y

Aug 22, 2020

The course was very easy to digest with interesting stories to help remember why certain marketing content is exactly what this course describes as "viral and contagious content". However, I do wish it went a bit more in-depth for those of us who are no stranger to the marketing world.

By Trian

Nov 26, 2017

I enjoyed the content of the class and it sparked me to become a more well rounded graphic designer and consultant. Though some information and the class went by quickly, I'm eager to look into other resources to help further my understanding of the science of marketing.

By BAMBA Y S M

Apr 3, 2020

Thank you to Prof. Jonah Berger to have made this course easily understandable!

It was such a pleasure to learn from him who is teaching in a prestigious University as UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA. Thank you to #Coursera to make this great platform available to everyone.

By Ayushi A

Jun 28, 2020

The course has been effective in communicating the concepts through numerous examples. the course pattern and design helps connect the learning islands for the student.

Use of activities or tasks or smaller practical quiz may enhance the learning and participation.

By Stephanie S

Aug 13, 2020

This course had a ton of great information about marketing! There were a lot of relatable stories and tons of examples that really help the course content stick. It's a relatively short course which makes me wish it were free to complete and not just audit.

By Andrea G P

Jul 22, 2020

It has good information but I wish it would let you submit the quizzes without forcing you to upgrade. The grading is automatic and it's a good way of making sure you're understanding the content of the course even if you are not getting the certificate.

By Iveslava Z

Sep 27, 2017

The course give you the main points to consider and think about while struggling to create influential and viral contents. However, I expected something more in-depth. Overall, for the little time you need to finish the course, it is worth enrolling.

:)

By Don J M

Sep 5, 2017

Very interesting and engaging. I think I finished the first three weeks in two evenings. Will definitely recommend this course to others. A lot of the material is common sense, psychology wise but not something most of us think to on a day to day basis.

By Shahan A L

Mar 22, 2020

The only downside of the course was that it seemed so short. The lectures could have been longer and further in-depth. I only say this is because i absolutely enjoyed myself and learnt a lot about the power of content and network creation. Much needed.

By Job E

Sep 29, 2016

This was really helpful for me to understand social behaviours and how they influence the spread of ideas. I hope to take another similar course in the future from Prof. Berger! He talks clearly and explains stuff in a way everyone can understand.

By Mujde O

Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for the up mood and positive attitude while teaching the class. It helped me finish it a lot earlier that I expected. However I thought the lessons and the assignments would be more in depth and would give me more news on the subject.

By Satria A

Jun 8, 2017

Simple and easy to understand, but I think if more tools tips (practical information) it will be better than this one. My expectation for this course is about the hack to make a viral marketing with knowledge and the tools. However, it is okay!