Chevron Left
Back to Crowdfunding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Crowdfunding by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
302 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

Crowdfunding, the practice of raising small amounts of money from large numbers of people, has enabled people around the world to start new businesses, fund initiatives, and raise money for themselves and others. Yet, not all crowdfunding efforts reach their desired goal. Why do some succeed, while others fail? This course will reveal the science behind successful crowdfunding, drawing on data from hundreds of thousands of campaigns. You’ll learn different types of crowdfunding approaches, and receive detailed advice on what to do (and what not to do) when crowdfunding. You’ll also have the unique opportunity to go behind-the-scenes with key players in the field with exclusive interviews from the founder of Indiegogo to successful campaign creators, to get the information you need to set your crowdfunding initiative up for success....

Top reviews

DS
Apr 30, 2020

Excellent course. It covered relevant and vital crowdfunding topics. The interviews from successful business owners provided insight and value. I welcome a more advance course in the future.

DB
Oct 16, 2020

Comprehensive, objective, well-researched, well-organized and clearly presented; effective integration of interviews that presented various facets of crowdfunding. Super helpful!

Filter by:

101 - 110 of 110 Reviews for Crowdfunding

By Andrea p

Mar 17, 2020

Good

By David G

Dec 28, 2020

.

By Mike Y W

Sep 4, 2018

I enjoyed the professors warm smile and enthusiasm during the fairly short video lectures, and the interviews were not only relevant (mainly industry insiders) but they gave a good idea of what to expect when crowdfunding. Quizzes were way too easy. The course focuses on the results and conclusions/thoughts from the professor's survey, and doesn't really offer anything else, which is why I'm deducting a star since the course fee is a bit high. There's also no final exam or some sort of peer-based assignment, so I'm taking another star off for that.

By Andrea F

Feb 12, 2020

It was useful to have some first hand data and advice but most of it is not helping to build a (successful) campaign, provided it is possible to do that. On the other hand, it is above all to help realise that CF is not the panacea for all evils and, in my case, it was rather dissuasive from a career in this sector. Thanks a lot

By MaryKate S

Mar 22, 2020

I feel as if this course is set for people trying to sell a product. If you are interested in crowdfunding for non-profits, you may not find the better part of this course useful.

By Tuan L A

Aug 7, 2020

It's interesting knowledge but no easy to apply in practice. If the course can provide an project training, it will be more useful and practical.

By Paul P

Apr 28, 2020

It’s a good course but not very deep or meaty - some good insights but not great value for the price.

By Derek S

Feb 27, 2018

pretty cursory.

By Serge L

Dec 15, 2018

The Crowdfunding course is primarily focused on Project based crowdfunding and does not discuss charity-base crowdfunding; it spends little time on equity crowdfunding. In the beginning, the professor talks about 4 types of crowdfunding and states that he will only focus on the 3 (Project, Equity, and Charity). However, the bulk of the course focuses on Kickstarter type crowdfunding. If you want to know how to implement a successful Kickstarter or Indiegogo then the course can be helpful. If you want to learn how to create a successful charity crowdfunding campaign then the course offers no insight.

By Akhil C

Jun 3, 2020

I personally did not liked this course. Don't get me wrong, I am developing skills in Coursera since much long. A better was for this course could be by including a proper way for helping people developing a crowdfunding project. Like different peer reviews for the type of crowdfunding project we are going to initiate then the description which we are going to write and at last the rewards which are funders are going to get.

Coursera has been a very important part of my life by actually helping me do things. Like in the course Resume making, they just don't tell about how to make a resume but instead help us like we are in college and with the help of peer reviews, we have our own completed project at the end of the course. Hope this review of mine helps.