Chevron Left
Back to Customer Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Customer Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
6,932 ratings
1,473 reviews

About the Course

Data about our browsing and buying patterns are everywhere. From credit card transactions and online shopping carts, to customer loyalty programs and user-generated ratings/reviews, there is a staggering amount of data that can be used to describe our past buying behaviors, predict future ones, and prescribe new ways to influence future purchasing decisions. In this course, four of Wharton’s top marketing professors will provide an overview of key areas of customer analytics: descriptive analytics, predictive analytics, prescriptive analytics, and their application to real-world business practices including Amazon, Google, and Starbucks to name a few. This course provides an overview of the field of analytics so that you can make informed business decisions. It is an introduction to the theory of customer analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform customer analytics. Course Learning Outcomes: After completing the course learners will be able to... Describe the major methods of customer data collection used by companies and understand how this data can inform business decisions Describe the main tools used to predict customer behavior and identify the appropriate uses for each tool Communicate key ideas about customer analytics and how the field informs business decisions Communicate the history of customer analytics and latest best practices at top firms...

Top reviews

ND

Jan 31, 2019

Though I have worked on Customer Analytics with my previous work experiences and also on Surveys etc at George Brown College Canada, this module was more than insightful. Lots of learning to learn eh!

AV

Sep 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the class. Analytics are such an important part of today's understanding of the customer but have other uses even beyond that. Professor Fader has really great insight on the subect.

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,414 Reviews for Customer Analytics

By Mengya Z

Feb 19, 2018

Too high level and there's no detail tools and exercise for analytics. I felt I didn't learn much after this course. Quite disappointed.

By Stefano

May 23, 2016

For the price paid I would expect something more... It gives you an idea and show you examples. Good background course in order to show your interest in the subject. It could have been organized in a different way in order to make tinteractive and

By Lauri S

Apr 10, 2016

While these courses have interesting subjects, the content is very light, requires little effort and hence results in little learning.

By Katelyn J

Oct 09, 2015

Interesting assortment of professors but very little interaction in the course. Just 4 quizzes. Not very helpful for building a deep understanding of the material.

By James S

Nov 01, 2015

Although the content was very interesting and the basic concepts were good to know, the student doesn't ultimately gain any tools that they use upon exit of the course.

By Cackowska D

Feb 11, 2017

it was quite difficult to follow , due the language barrier and it was only overview , they could gave a bit more informa

By Ananth V B

Feb 09, 2017

Lots of theory and concepts, but little in the way of how to solve customer analytics problems yourself.

By Manoj K j

Aug 06, 2016

I was expecting some models will be designed and solved in the class sessions. But the lectures contain only theories.

By titus l

Feb 20, 2016

It is however a real eye opener to see the applications of customer analytics. However, I do wish there was more time to understand the statistics and the math behind the modelling. This course tells you the potential, but doesn't delve into the treatment of data. Also there is insufficient case studies and practice questions unlike the operations analytics module so it was difficult to get a handle of concepts without application.

By Noel F

Jan 25, 2016

Very high level course, interesting as a background but doesn't really deep dive in any topic.

By Alex S

Feb 25, 2017

Unlike the other three business analytics courses I completed, I thought this one was light on content, and lacking adequate coverage of concrete tools (formulas, software programs, etc.). In addition, the quiz questions for weeks 4 and 5 seemed to come out of left field, as if they had been prepared for a longer, more comprehensive course; not based on the small amount of material presented.

By Benjamin B

Nov 05, 2015

This course doesn't go enough in detail concerning the different customer analytics methods. The last part on applications focuses too much on what was going on in marketing in the past and doesn't address digital marketing enough.

By Jonathan Z

Feb 07, 2016

Almost no practical application

By sebastien k

Sep 26, 2017

Good introduction to get an helicopter view on the topic.

Lacking of hands on exercises and explanation of more advanced concepts.

By Pedro M

Jun 18, 2016

Great course, great content, I really like this course. But if English is not your first language, the exams are crafty enough to be in trouble...

By J R

Aug 18, 2016

-

By Daniel A

Oct 24, 2019

It did not satisfy my thirst for knowledge on this topic

By Efe E

Feb 09, 2019

I would like to hear more about models especialy predictive one but all the things about models are bullshit. They generaly talk about demand curve which is a lesson of a economics more than customer analytics. They should choose more appropriate example. Moreover, I expect to see at least the type of models and where it is used generally. It was a waste of time. That's why I am not gonna take other modules. Adios !

By Jigisha T

Dec 22, 2018

Too theoretical. I expected that the trainers will use actual datasets and carry out some analytics. It was just theory of data collection, little bit of economics and marketing.

By Priyank A

Jan 21, 2019

Not the course's fault but maybe when I hear the name "Wharton School" I over-expect.

However professors have done a very good job in keeping the course interactive, especially the Mary and Sharmila example.

By Atanu R

Sep 08, 2018

Other than Mr. Raghu, this course is trash

By Rios A

Oct 23, 2018

I don t like this course. Really not helpful and empty

By Jiang T

Sep 22, 2015

In fact, i think this course is waste my time because the course only have lecture. They don't tell you how to use software to solve the problem even do not give any practical homework. Compared to other course, the quality of this course is extremely low.

By Francisco A V P

Oct 03, 2016

It's not a course for a university like Wharton. It's more professors showing their books and research without really showing any deep information.

By Meir K

Nov 15, 2015

The exam questions are a little out there... dont indicate retention of knowledge. Quite frustrating, I'll be dropping this course.