Chevron Left
Back to Customer Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Customer Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
6,967 ratings
1,485 reviews

About the Course

Data about our browsing and buying patterns are everywhere. From credit card transactions and online shopping carts, to customer loyalty programs and user-generated ratings/reviews, there is a staggering amount of data that can be used to describe our past buying behaviors, predict future ones, and prescribe new ways to influence future purchasing decisions. In this course, four of Wharton’s top marketing professors will provide an overview of key areas of customer analytics: descriptive analytics, predictive analytics, prescriptive analytics, and their application to real-world business practices including Amazon, Google, and Starbucks to name a few. This course provides an overview of the field of analytics so that you can make informed business decisions. It is an introduction to the theory of customer analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform customer analytics. Course Learning Outcomes: After completing the course learners will be able to... Describe the major methods of customer data collection used by companies and understand how this data can inform business decisions Describe the main tools used to predict customer behavior and identify the appropriate uses for each tool Communicate key ideas about customer analytics and how the field informs business decisions Communicate the history of customer analytics and latest best practices at top firms...

Top reviews

ND

Jan 31, 2019

Though I have worked on Customer Analytics with my previous work experiences and also on Surveys etc at George Brown College Canada, this module was more than insightful. Lots of learning to learn eh!

SS

Nov 15, 2016

Amazing course for even beginners in the field of customer analytics. Highly recommend to do this course for enhancing the analytical skills. Examples and case studies explains the concept very well.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,427 Reviews for Customer Analytics

By Angel S

Feb 07, 2016

pretty easy materials.

was a bit frustrated because questions on the tests did not seem to come from the material covered for a few of the test questions.

By Digant R K

Mar 22, 2016

Predictive Analysis (week 2) and Application / Case Studies (week 4), were the best part of the course, and I genuinely learned things that I will try to implement in my small family business. However, Weeks 1 and 3 were highly disappointing (to put it mildly). Maybe I was expecting something more concrete or advanced, but the material provided was too basic.

By Niv U

Oct 09, 2015

More hands-on experience would make this course better.

By Diego F

Feb 16, 2016

Good, but not on my scope.

By Daniel C

Oct 29, 2015

Some errors on video of prescriptive analytics. Not so practical course.

By Kumar A

Jul 06, 2017

Very basic course and assignments were not rigorous. I was expecting an assignment where I would have been expected to calculate CLV or predict an outcome.

By Dilip D P

Aug 08, 2016

I expected a more in depth understanding of the course like learning the mathematical modes described

By Yuduan L

Oct 28, 2015

The course structure is good. If there is more real cases, it would be good.

By sakshi l

Apr 26, 2018

Need practical knowledge on how to use models for prediction

By Vinogradova A

May 05, 2016

This was very interesting! But we don't have the answers for the questions that appear during the course. And one more time: The big problem of these courses is we don't have real feedback, we can't ask teacher anything.

By 张婧仪

Mar 04, 2018

Too much information that is not integrated nor systematic.

By Salvador N

Jan 11, 2016

A lot of the content is pretty basic. I was expecting something a little more in depth. There weren't even any problem sets.

By Martina F

Dec 05, 2016

If you are looking for an overview and have not had much exposure so far, this is a good course. If you want to go deep, it will not be sufficient for you. I would prefer a deeper dive with more examples to work with. But still this is a good start.

By Richard T

Jan 08, 2016

Good introduction to analytics. Short. Not particularly demanding.

By Thumb

Aug 09, 2016

Covering basic information of customer research and tools. Not really insightful in my opinion. The structure of the course could improve a little. I think it overall fits with novice learners who are interested in online marketing.

By Pallavi G

Jan 28, 2017

Great learning experience, although it could be more practical from the very beginning.

By Kumar A

Jun 21, 2016

It's provides good exposure!

By Sachin M

Sep 28, 2015

I was a bit underwhelmed by the course. It had lot of lectures and theories but limited case studies / and no exercises.

By John L B

Nov 21, 2016

Overall this was a fairly interesting course, but some weeks were much more engaging and challenging than others. I really enjoyed the challenge of week 3, but unfortunately it was followed by week 4 which was not engaging and lacked content.

By Bruno G

Nov 20, 2015

Classes were interesting, although a bit light. I would also have liked to have more explanations on the quizzes to make sure the material was fully understood. And reading references would have added to the experience. It felt a bit like the class was kept basic in order to make the corresponding "specialization" package more attractive. Slightly disappointing.

By PRABHAT K

Sep 25, 2016

Including a few calculations will help in understanding the core concepts

By Bojan B

Feb 06, 2016

Not bad, most of the times boring because there were no real examples and scenarios. The professors are knowledgeable and should deliver that to us even though we pay waaaaay less than Wharton students who are fortunate to have rich families...

By Eugene W

Jun 26, 2017

1) Lack of hands on practice with the Buy Til You Die model.

2) The concepts in Weeks 2 to 5 are already well covered in technology blogs and news sites - I'd have liked to see more current material such as 'Overview of Different Types of Marketing Attribution (Heuristic, Algorithmic..), 'Cohort Analyses', 'How Digital Advertising / Programmatic Media works', 'Web Analytics' etc.

3) Hands-on exercises with R or Excel would be ideal.

By Toby P

Oct 19, 2015

Pros: Concentrated material covered clearly and efficiently. For the limited number of video material (~1/week), there is a lot of basic concepts explained well.

Cons: Few specific examples, which I think reinforce the abstract material presented. I think going though some numbers really drives a point home, and not having examples left me feeling a bit adrift.

Overall: Good information and food for though, but not a lot of actual analytics. Take if you don't have but want experience in this area.

By Arnab K G

Nov 10, 2015

Quizzes are worded in a very round about manner, making passing them a test of the English language!