Chevron Left
Back to Entrepreneurship 4: Financing and Profitability

Entrepreneurship 4: Financing and Profitability, University of Pennsylvania

4.8
640 ratings
79 reviews

About this Course

Start-ups can benefit from a wide variety of financing options on the path to profitability, but how do you know which one to choose? This course explores different financing models, including bootstrapping, organic growth, debt and risk capital, and also provides a clear overview of equity financing including the key types of investors: angels, venture capital, and crowdfunding. You’ll learn about terms, and term sheets, exit modes and what exit strategy might be best for you. By the end of this course, you’ll have an understanding of what success looks like and how it can be financed. You’ll also be ready for the capstone project, in which you will get feedback on your own pitch deck, and may even be selected to pitch to investors from venture capital firms....

Top reviews

By MG

Apr 01, 2017

Love this course, especially in planning a new start-up. I can take these lessons and incorporate them into my planning process. That is precisely what I'm going to do.

By CS

Apr 12, 2018

I have always been in start up business, and I deal with these everyday, and yet I still learned plenty from this course. Many thanks to all the professors. :)

Filter by:

76 Reviews

By Jafed Encinas

May 14, 2019

Able to concentrate and stay focused for periods of several hours, even when tasks are relatively mundane, and doesn't make mistakes. He has a high boredom threshold. Always assured and confident in demeanour and presentation of ideas without being aggressively over-confident. No absences without valid reason in 6 months. Reaches a decision rapidly after taking account of all likely outcomes and estimating the route most likely to bring success. The decisions almost always turn out to be good ones.

This Course always completes any assignment on time and to a high standard. This Course has outstanding artistic or craft skills, bringing creativity and originality to the task. Aiming for a top job in the organization. He sets very high standards, aware that this will bring attention and promotion. This Course pays great attention to detail. He always presented work properly checked and completely free of error.

By Abdi Abdoreza Yaghmai

May 04, 2019

I would like to thank professor Karl Ulrich for his thorough and articulated lectures.

By Ernesto Ovidio Roca Urioste

Apr 09, 2019

Thanks to all the team

By Andres Vaca Meneses

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent Information! Very practical.

By Simone Ferraro

Feb 10, 2019

Good course!

By Deepti Sharma

Jan 26, 2019

Provides good overview and do's & don'ts of financing for first time entrepreneurs

By Mohamed Abdeen

Dec 30, 2018

thanks

By Dmitrii Maslennikov

Dec 12, 2018

Good for everybody who wants to understand main steps for an entrepreneur.

By LUK HEI YEUNG

Nov 21, 2018

It is a good course for entrepreneurs to get know what's need to know before they plan for their start-up.

By Gautam Bansal

Nov 17, 2018

There can be more numerical examples, short case studies, to add more practical side to the course.