Chevron Left
Back to Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,703 ratings
801 reviews

About the Course

How does a good idea become a viable business opportunity? What is entrepreneurship and who fits the profile of an entrepreneur? This introductory course is designed to introduce you to the foundational concepts of entrepreneurship, including the definition of entrepreneurship, the profile of the entrepreneur, the difference between entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial management, and the role of venture creation in society. You’ll explore where technology entrepreneurship and impact entrepreneurship align and where they diverge, and you’ll learn proven techniques for identifying the opportunity, assessing the opportunity, hypothesis testing and creating a prototype. By the end of this course, you’ll know how to test, validate and prototype your idea, and also whether or not you fit the profile of an entrepreneur! You’ll also be ready to move on to the next phase of entrepreneurship in Entrepreneurship 2: Launching the Start-Up....

Top reviews

AG
May 4, 2017

'Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity' made me believe that i had all that one should know before starting up. I would recommend this course to all those looking to build the next big thing.

GG
Dec 3, 2018

Even as I had started with a fragmented idea about entrepreneurship, this course kind of helped to articulate and build a structure of thought process around it. Looking forward for the courses ahead.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 778 Reviews for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

By Jon M

Apr 1, 2016

This course provides a broad overview of the entrepreneurial process and comes complete with plenty of actionable material. It lacks any sort of meaningful collaboration with other students, which seems to be an inherent flaw of the MOOC platform more than a fault of this course. I will be taking the rest of the specialization, and hope the capstone can bring like minded students together to turn the theory we learn throughout this course series into reality.

By Sobhagya G

Jan 19, 2019

It's a good start to actually understand how to start working on your own idea. This course sets the base or tone of entrepreneurship. I started the course just to understand the basics of it and see how entrepreneurship can be taught and to my surprise, there are lots of things that needs to be covered and to be done before starting your own venture. I am looking forward to complete or go through the other modules.

By Lawrence C

Dec 24, 2017

Generally, very good. Hopefully, the tests can be harder. As a student from Fox school of Business and management located at Philadelphia as well, I was wondering the Wharton courses can be hell like difficult. But this course is just easy. To ensure quality, hopefully, more challenging questions would be set up in future courses. All in all, I am glad to take this course. Thanks all instructor's effort here.

By Kaitlin D

Jan 13, 2020

Overall I thought the class was great and I learned a lot. I look forward to using some of the lessons learned in the real world. I especially loved the interviews segments on LaunchPad and within the course.

However, as a software engineer, I thought some of the suggestions for how to prototype software projects were not only very outdated, but just down right bad advice.

By Ivy Z

Jul 31, 2020

Solid introduction to entrepreneurship... from developing and examining opportunities, to sources of innovation, defining the focal market, understanding user needs, discovery driven planning, pricing, and prototyping. And each week ends with an interview with a successful Wharton alum sharing insights on that weeks subject. SOLID intro course.

By Pritesh Z

Aug 21, 2020

I liked how the instructors gave practical examples to teach. One feedback - the first session where all the instructors got together, the sound wasn't that clear as it was during one-on-one with the camera, teaching. Also the demo customer interview which prof K Hossanagar (pardon if misspelt) took wasn't that audible. Overall great sessions.

By Rajdeep D

Jul 16, 2020

Some of the videos were far too long to sustain my attention. The PDF documents were a perfect summary of the videos though, which allowed for a faster learning process. As for the rest of the course and the instructors, everything was perfect. The instructors were diverse and well-versed and the content they covered was perfectly explained.

By Dhaval K

Dec 6, 2020

The course was helpful in understanding the initial aspects while staying a startup. There was a well balanced of a theoretical and practical approach. I really liked the way Prof. Kartik did the interview to understand holistically about the customer current behaviour,a similar approach would be loved across the program.

By Kyryl K

Jan 3, 2019

The course is great, it gives a basis for the next to come. The one thing I liked the most is interviews, it was really great to hear and lear from those who have hands on experience, It is great not only because of their views, advices or expertise but also due to their emotions and how they felt about what they do.

By Alexis S J

May 19, 2020

This is a very good course and interesting topics included on it. Excellent team of instructors and very professional one. In my humble opinion, I suggest incorporating more graphics to the presentations. A graphical approach can provide a better understanding of the information provided in this course.

By Ndinao I

Nov 30, 2019

I enjoyed this course. Variety of materials available to learn from videos to PDF slides. I've gained an in-depth understand of startups, venture capital, prototypes, importance of interviews & samples and which one comes first. Overall a sense of how to apply entrepreneurship to daily opportunities.

By Hashem F

Jun 24, 2017

Very Beneficial and Insightful

I have a concern on the some instructors that they talk too fast in some lectures, the thing that may cause a little distraction for me or missing some key points. However, the course provides some great info about finding and qualifying entrepreneurial opportunities.

By Guarang R

Jan 11, 2017

a wonderful opportunity to learn basics of entrepreneurship and The first very course is so helpful in starting the startup works. I recommend every one who want to see the change around and want to be the change should enrol for this course. I thank wharton for such a sublime initiative.

By Zara F

Jan 21, 2019

It was great because you see different perspective and expertise. Some things I would like more depth into, e.g. list some examples of the "how", how to achieve some points that is suggested. But overall very great for someone like me (designer) with minimal business background.

By Tim D

Jan 8, 2018

Course was a great overview. I made bound books from the lecture slides. Will be a great reference. Liked the pace of the course it moved very fast and seemed to be pretty comprehensive. It surpassed my expectations for what I thoughLooking forward to the rest of the class.

By Rehan a

Mar 18, 2018

Excellent course so far. Since I have some background in Entrepreneurship, sometimes I feel the lectures can get a little long, which can cause one to lose interest. Maybe break down the lectures to no more than 10 minutes would be better.

Overall, great examples, interviews.

By Collin S F

Mar 7, 2016

Overall, a good course. Slow at first. The class first had me concerned if I was going to learn anything new, but toward middle way, the relevancy really picked up. I am very curious to see what the Wharton School team of professors have to share in the next class.

By John A B I

Mar 30, 2016

Good course.

I did find the quizes not as challenging as the Marketing and Accounting courses I took through Wharton/ Coursera. Sometimes it seems some of the Professors talk very quickly as opposed to the Core MBA offerings. Overall, great content. Thank you!

By Piyangoon L

Mar 8, 2021

Important insights to review before conducting new businesses. Provide adequate *easy* tools to pickup forward. Good for rearranging your ideas into places. Additional material e.g. Audio interviews and PDF slides are great sources. Value for money course.

By Mohit S

Apr 10, 2018

Overall i loved the course 1. But i would appreciate if there are more practical assignments that would put me as a student to work on. I would feel obliged to complete them in order to win my course certificate as well as i will gain better knowledge.

By Ricardo O

Feb 16, 2016

Overall good course. The slides should've been presented in only one document per module - like almost all previous courses of Wharton. All of the optional videos with interviews had audio problems (I could only hear them from the left speaker).

By Dew J

Jun 28, 2017

Although it is a very good beginner course with basic ideas and outline. But that can be found in many books on amazon compare to this costly course, I expect more detail and skill set such as analysis tools and work with number.

By Ram K

Jan 13, 2018

I recommend this course to every one who is in business and or want to do business. Course is very well laid out and simple to understand . I am motivated to do rest of the courses based on my experience with the first one.

By MOHAMED A E R

Jan 27, 2018

It's a great course, it makes you think and open the debate of making business. Instructors are trying to give you different strategies and techniques to eliminate the uncertainty which comes packed with entrepreneurship.

By Johnny V

Jun 9, 2016

I felt the first week offered almost no valuable information, and when purchasing a specialization, I expect every week to be full of facts. After that it picked up and I became satisfied. I would purchase it again.