Chevron Left
Back to Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,433 ratings
745 reviews

About the Course

How does a good idea become a viable business opportunity? What is entrepreneurship and who fits the profile of an entrepreneur? This introductory course is designed to introduce you to the foundational concepts of entrepreneurship, including the definition of entrepreneurship, the profile of the entrepreneur, the difference between entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial management, and the role of venture creation in society. You’ll explore where technology entrepreneurship and impact entrepreneurship align and where they diverge, and you’ll learn proven techniques for identifying the opportunity, assessing the opportunity, hypothesis testing and creating a prototype. By the end of this course, you’ll know how to test, validate and prototype your idea, and also whether or not you fit the profile of an entrepreneur! You’ll also be ready to move on to the next phase of entrepreneurship in Entrepreneurship 2: Launching the Start-Up....

Top reviews

AG
May 4, 2017

'Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity' made me believe that i had all that one should know before starting up. I would recommend this course to all those looking to build the next big thing.

GG
Dec 3, 2018

Even as I had started with a fragmented idea about entrepreneurship, this course kind of helped to articulate and build a structure of thought process around it. Looking forward for the courses ahead.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 718 Reviews for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

By Ana F d S

Aug 31, 2017

Great course overall! I just didn't find the quizzes relevant.

By KUKKADAPU P

Jun 7, 2020

MUST DO COURSE FOR YOUNG BUSINESS MINDS

THANKS TO PROFESSORS

By Saurabh S

Jan 22, 2018

I would like the course to be more interactive and engaging.

By Benjamin A

Oct 30, 2016

Loved it, I gave me a lot to think about and consider.

By hans v

Apr 6, 2016

Very useful combination of stats, tips and advise

By Amaan A

Jun 14, 2016

Great content, And the faculty is up to the mark

By Hunab C

May 19, 2019

Some talks are hard to follow and lack context

By Nico S

Oct 18, 2018

Loved the content and learn something new.

By Shubham G

Apr 9, 2020

Good for understanding the opportunities

By Moe

Jun 25, 2016

Invaluable information in every lecture.

By Carlos S

Apr 17, 2016

Scholarship for further modules, please.

By Clarisse K T

Aug 25, 2019

Not enough books or references

By Sushil K

Dec 24, 2017

Nice beginning.....thanks

By Mohammad Y J

Mar 21, 2019

was a really nice course

By Jeroen

Jun 1, 2018

Very insightfull

By Roshan V

Jun 5, 2019

Lovely course.

By Ashu S

May 4, 2016

Great course!!

By Diogo M P B

Jun 7, 2020

Good overall.

By Saifuddin J

Jul 27, 2020

nice course

By princeton j

Oct 31, 2017

good

By Zifeng K W

Sep 17, 2017

Cool

By Sandeep

May 2, 2020

This is a good course with inputs from different experts, on an open-ended subject.

The material and interviews are good.

The pace of the discussion could be speeded-up, considering this is a guidance to budding 'entrepreneurs' .

Similarly, the content can include more discussion on typical pitfalls, real case-studies on tipping-points etc.

At few places, I found the discussion as a sermoning on do's-and-dont's, which was not very effective.

Well, I may be reading it wrong, and it may be a slow-start, since its a level-1 course for beginners.

Overall, good course, Thanks.

By Muhammad O A

Dec 25, 2017

I now have a fair idea to start planning for my startup venture. A major problem in the course has been the contributions of Prof Ethan Mollick and Laura Huang. It has been really hard to follow Prof Ethan Mollick's lectures for his fumbling with words and even a significant portion of complete sentences. The most difficult part of the course was covered rather casually. Subtitles help but they too have their caveats. Prof Karl is outstanding indeed and covers up very well for the problems mentioned. Anyway many thanks for the opportunity provided for this learning.

By Morten J

Apr 10, 2018

IMO it started good, but you lost my interest in this course when it started repeating itself into annoyance on the prototyping part. Enjoyed the Ulrich and Huang sessions, as they kept my attention and kept the presentation without to much jibberish around the key points. Picked up a couple of good items such as the profiling type of companies and the idea generation. On the idea generation this differ to many other idea generation sessions, and this one is nicely backed up with empirical data.

By Stella O

Apr 10, 2020

Great Course! It provided all of the fundamental information and guidelines anyone seeking to take the plunge into Entrepreneurship would find valuable.

I would ordinarily have rated the course a 5-star, except for the fact that no feedback was provided to questions raised in the forum discussions. Order than that, its a top-notch program.

Thank you Coursera and wharton for this. I would definitely complete the next 4 Entrepreneurship courses.