Chevron Left
Back to Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,622 ratings
782 reviews

About the Course

How does a good idea become a viable business opportunity? What is entrepreneurship and who fits the profile of an entrepreneur? This introductory course is designed to introduce you to the foundational concepts of entrepreneurship, including the definition of entrepreneurship, the profile of the entrepreneur, the difference between entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial management, and the role of venture creation in society. You’ll explore where technology entrepreneurship and impact entrepreneurship align and where they diverge, and you’ll learn proven techniques for identifying the opportunity, assessing the opportunity, hypothesis testing and creating a prototype. By the end of this course, you’ll know how to test, validate and prototype your idea, and also whether or not you fit the profile of an entrepreneur! You’ll also be ready to move on to the next phase of entrepreneurship in Entrepreneurship 2: Launching the Start-Up....

Top reviews

OO
Feb 28, 2021

Coursera is the best,,, I’ve always thought going to school was all you need to acquire the knowledge you want... But now I no you can be home and acquire your knowledge through the help of coursera..

GG
Dec 3, 2018

Even as I had started with a fragmented idea about entrepreneurship, this course kind of helped to articulate and build a structure of thought process around it. Looking forward for the courses ahead.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 755 Reviews for Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the Opportunity

By Mohit S

Apr 10, 2018

Overall i loved the course 1. But i would appreciate if there are more practical assignments that would put me as a student to work on. I would feel obliged to complete them in order to win my course certificate as well as i will gain better knowledge.

By Ricardo O

Feb 16, 2016

Overall good course. The slides should've been presented in only one document per module - like almost all previous courses of Wharton. All of the optional videos with interviews had audio problems (I could only hear them from the left speaker).

By Dew J

Jun 28, 2017

Although it is a very good beginner course with basic ideas and outline. But that can be found in many books on amazon compare to this costly course, I expect more detail and skill set such as analysis tools and work with number.

By Ram K

Jan 13, 2018

I recommend this course to every one who is in business and or want to do business. Course is very well laid out and simple to understand . I am motivated to do rest of the courses based on my experience with the first one.

By MOHAMED A E R

Jan 27, 2018

It's a great course, it makes you think and open the debate of making business. Instructors are trying to give you different strategies and techniques to eliminate the uncertainty which comes packed with entrepreneurship.

By Johnny V

Jun 9, 2016

I felt the first week offered almost no valuable information, and when purchasing a specialization, I expect every week to be full of facts. After that it picked up and I became satisfied. I would purchase it again.

By Soubhik R

Sep 2, 2016

Truly inspirational course with real life examples. Those who are seriously considering to become an entrepreneur MUST take this course.

4 stars as there is very little to do for a person who is taking this course.

By Yashvardhan S

Jul 27, 2020

I personally feel that the content needs to updates and a little bit more relatable for the students.

The delivery of some professors could have been better...it was difficult to understand what they were saying.

By Carlos J G C

May 4, 2018

I have to tell it is a great course. The professors are very clever and the lessons are very easy to understand, as their content is graphic and allow you to download the course's material to review them.

By taehyeong k

Apr 27, 2017

It is hard to take a cousre for foreigner who live abroad, but this web site & lecture gave opportunity for everone including me . It will be very helpful to anyone who have interest in Entrepreneursip

By Muhammad T

Aug 30, 2016

Excellent content, in-depth compared to may other MOOCs. The instructors have organized the lectures very well and shown some useful and practical methods that can be implemented at various stages.

By ACHRAF G

Jul 13, 2020

This course has been very beneficial for me, first as an introduction into entrepreneurship, and secondly as a quick jump to practical concepts, methods and tools to develop opportunities.

By Ahmed G M

Oct 29, 2016

It's a very helpful course as introduction to entrepreneurship world. It's very rich by knowledge about how take the risk to identify and utilize opportunities and get in the marketplace.

By Peeyush R

Aug 16, 2016

As it's the start of the whole specialisation it's not very clearly detailed. Like few lectures are amazing as solo lectures, but overall week wise all lectures do not connect so well.

By Uchenna M M

Apr 6, 2017

This course in the specialization was really helpful to me in shaping my service prototype by applying "the wizard of oz" move....... Thank you so much coursera and Wharton

By Deepak M

Aug 10, 2020

first of all i would like to thank coursera for giving me aid and secondly this course is very helpful specially Ethan Mollic sir and karl's sir class are very interesting

By Guy N

Aug 27, 2017

I like the way informations are structured and displayed but rather different Quiz withing the course and at the end of each instead of only at the end of the Unit course.

By Влад Р

Nov 17, 2017

Great course about the product/enterpreneurship. A lot of views and approaches proven by lifetime experience.

Although not all of the professors semm to be knowledgeable.

By Sally Y

Oct 14, 2017

Good experience to be involved in Wharton, but I do hope there will be more optional guess interviews, which interest me most from their inspiring start-up experience.

By Hassibullah A

Apr 5, 2020

Very nice introduction to major concepts an new entrepreneur can take advantage of in building an idea to a business. I can't wait to explore the follow on modules.

By Bhuvan C P

Feb 15, 2020

My Experience with coursera is very nice. I successfully completed my Entrepreneurship 1: Developing the opportunity. Content present in the course is really good.

By Youra A

Feb 7, 2021

I hope the course was more visual with images and videos. Overall, it is a great course to learn different approaches and perspectives towards entrepreneurship.

By Richard T

Jan 9, 2017

Great introduction to entrepreneurship from 4-5 very talented professors who don't have just theoretical experience but actual experience as entrepreneurs.

By Mohit J

Mar 29, 2016

Embedded one page case study in the middle of the lecture videos with a followup debrief or the same during the assignments would be extremely useful.

By David K

May 13, 2018

Well developed lectures, practical examples,

it is evident the instructors/professors have practical experience and provide really useful guidance