Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,566 ratings
1,305 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,278 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Gustavo A

Jul 29, 2017

The course teaches the fundamentals of modelling and it fits the needs of people with no previous knowledge in finance.

By Claude S

Sep 14, 2020

The issue is with wanting to review the questions you got wrong on the quiz, to learn from mistakes etc. not possible?

By David V

Aug 30, 2019

Teacher does a fantastic job of explaining concepts, and provides detailed examples of each one along the way as well.

By Karen W E

Aug 08, 2018

It was great, I just wish there were explanation for the wrong answers in the quizzes so I can understand my mistakes.

By Harshal K

Apr 25, 2018

Very basic course, needs to give more inputs on application of the concept rather than just elaborating on concepts

By John D

Oct 20, 2017

Helpful overview of how modeling works and what tools are available. Not terribly practical, but a helpful survey.

By Deleted A

Aug 15, 2016

I love how the lectures are constructed. Even at the end of module 1 I feel so confident of doing well. Thank You.

By Anuj S

Apr 08, 2020

Pretty Basic Course. It builds the foundation for what is going to come next. The regression part is interesting.

By Samuel A O

Mar 25, 2020

Very wonderful experience so far. I began to see a practical side of the quantitative I have always calculated.

By Matthew H

Feb 15, 2016

A good starting point for quantitative modeling. I am looking forward to taking the next courses in the series.

By Rolando O R

May 14, 2020

Really interesting and insightful, however, It could have included more examples and a little bit less theory.

By Sophie B

Jun 06, 2018

good explanations, lecture is easily understandable. quite easy material if you really want to work with maths

By Andrea N R S

Jan 16, 2018

Buen curso como introducción a la modelización, aunque deberían incluir ejercicios prácticos y algún software.

By Sara C

Oct 08, 2017

Could use more excel based exercises and examples but overall good broad explanations of different models

By Parul s

May 30, 2020

More examples should be given to make us understand the concepts better. Otherwise, the course is good.

By Moinul A

Mar 28, 2020

Demostrating example is spreadsheet or R, would be a very helpful tool to understand the course better.

By Douglas J

Nov 27, 2019

Would be nice to get the answers to the end of module questions so you can revise where you went wrong.

By AJAYPAL S

Apr 02, 2018

The topics are covered in a very efficient manner. Looking forward to staying motivated and learn more.

By carl n

Aug 07, 2016

I knew about modeling already, but this was a good refresher and it includes a minor business concepts.

By shallo

May 30, 2018

it is the overall very basic introduction while the mathematic part need more time to understand haha

By sri h

Dec 31, 2018

it would be great if it involves lectures more practical applications on par with theoritical stuff

By Paulo D F

Nov 25, 2017

Excelent! So well exemplified concepts that is possible to understand. Should have exercises to do.

By Cesar D T H

May 01, 2020

I would like to see exercises solved because the log model I got a little confused

Excellent course

By Tapani L

May 06, 2017

Not enough examples and how to calculate problems. The quiz questions should have answers as well.

By keren c k t

Feb 21, 2020

the course outline was clearly stated, explanations were basically understood with great examples