Chevron Left
Back to Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
stars
1,023 ratings
414 reviews

About the Course

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Top reviews

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 406 Reviews for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

By Sintija V

Jul 09, 2017

Really great course with highly valuable practice opportunities! I really enjoyed doing all the tasks! Thank you very much! :)

By Daniel A A V

Nov 28, 2016

Un curso muy provechoso y ameno. Aunque, me gustaría que incluyeran más entrevistas o material propio de autores más clásicos.

By María T F

Jul 13, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!!! It was a wonderful experience! The teachers and the writers are incredible!!!

By Gabriel P

Nov 11, 2015

Excellent course if you are a writer and don't know where to start and how to go on! Not only for young readers, in general!

By María F C F

Sep 08, 2020

it was a nice course a enjoyed a lot, and also I can learn is important in my process professional

Thank great experience.

By Kristina Z

Jul 31, 2020

great course! learnt so much! David is brilliant and loved hearing from different writers from around the world thank you

By Gretel

Jan 02, 2018

me sirvió de mucho ahora solo me gustaría poder mantener contacto con los diversos escritores, en serio amé el curso

By Alexandria S

Oct 09, 2015

The instructors are such good examples of kindness. I like the gentle and effective course. I plan to take it again!

By Krystol G

Aug 08, 2015

It was a really fun class with so many wonderful tips on how to improve your writing. I'm glad I decided to take it.

By Deinma D

Sep 20, 2017

It is indeed a well rounded course - touches every area necessary to kick start your a writing career for children.

By Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

This is a thorough and informative course which I greatly enjoyed, while learning many things that I did not know.

By Charlotte H

Nov 25, 2015

Great introductory course! My writing improved tremendously and the interaction with other people was amazing.

By Saher

Jul 22, 2020

I like this all of course because I have to learned new thing and mostly my writing identity I have enjoyed it .

By Bandhana D

Jun 17, 2020

I enjoyed this course and hope that I can apply the learning, as I follow my passion to write for young readers!

By Kaylah

Jun 05, 2020

Very interactive class! I really enjoyed the video lessons and the interactive feedback from other participants!

By Mayank B

Jun 01, 2020

Loved this course. It helped me understand how to write for children and how it differs from writing for adults.

By Donna P

Oct 22, 2019

I absolutely LOVED this class! The assignments were very thought provoking and held my attention untill the end!

By Yuruani A

Aug 14, 2015

Entertaining and informative, the course helps you start writing with great tips and suggestions for inspiration

By Carmen

Mar 12, 2016

It feels like a privilege to hear published, recognised authors discuss their work and encourage beginners to w

By Deleted A

Dec 17, 2015

Really helpful course for beginner writers - and particularly those looking to write for our youngest readers.

By Tatiana Z

Jan 29, 2017

Fue un curso maravilloso! Muy interesante y con muy buenas pautas, perfecto para los que amamos la escritura

By SANIKA C

Aug 26, 2020

Loved it truly.............

Now, I have better ideas about writing and also know how to reach out to people

By Noushad N A

Jul 02, 2020

This Course was very Helpful in improving my writing skills and understand my more creative writing skills

By Telen G

Feb 17, 2016

I really liked this course it was fun and it taught me a lot about the course of writing and publishing.

By Alexis J M

Aug 18, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this course, it was really interesting and broken down into small, manageable chunks.