Chevron Left
Back to Computer Vision - Object Detection with OpenCV and Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computer Vision - Object Detection with OpenCV and Python by Coursera Project Network

3.9
stars
494 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

In this 1-hour long tutorial, you will learn how to do Computer Vision Object Detection from Images and Videos. At the end of the tutorial, you'll have learned how to detect faces, eyes and a combination of them both from images, how to detect people walking and cars moving from videos and finally how to detect a car's plate. This tutorial runs on Coursera's hands-on project platform called Rhyme. On Rhyme, you do projects in a hands-on manner in your browser. You will get instant access to pre-configured cloud desktops containing all of the software and data you need for the project. Everything is already set up directly in your Internet browser so you can just focus on learning. For this project, you’ll get instant access to a cloud desktop with (e.g. Python, Jupyter, and Tensorflow) pre-installed. Prerequisites: You should have a fundamental knowledge of Python and OpenCV. Notes: - You will be able to access the cloud desktop 5 times. However, you will be able to access instructions videos as many times as you want. - This tutorial works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

OE
Sep 15, 2020

Excellent project for beginners in this domain. Clear explanation and repeated practice over various scenarios made it easier to pick up the codes for object detection.

NS
May 10, 2020

The course was pretty amazing, especially the tutor was nice and I could understand everything he explained and I am in love with Rhyme, it makes learning so easy.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 100 Reviews for Computer Vision - Object Detection with OpenCV and Python

By Lovi R G

Aug 28, 2020

Not impressive

By Ryan V

Jan 29, 2021

This course is a complete waste of time. If you are a beginner, I can't see how you could learn anything. If you know anything about ML/Python/OpenCV I think you'd agree, this is a pathetic excuse for a course. 6 example that are basically the same. Coding challenges that are copy and paste. No thinking required. No brainpower required. The prof goes through examples that lead to pretty horrible results and gives no explanation on how to make it any better. I think the prof took one example from some forum channel and created 6 copies of it. Try googling OpenCV and ML and I guarantee you'll find a similar example somewhere. Here is the course in 10 seconds: "Okay, lets do a step by step on how to detect faces. First, import libraries (duh). Next, import classifier from .XML, try yourself (dude, just copy and paste the path). Next, import image, try yourself (same thing). Now detect face and show results. Boy are they bad but who cares. Now let's do this again 5 more times for a different object". Oh, and the test at the end is like, can you remember the filename. Like what? Nothing about actual computer vision. Pathetic!!

By emanuele g

Aug 14, 2020

it is really bad, it is just a video copy pasting code lines without giving any information / input about the libraries and how they works. The instructor does not give any value added, he does not explain anything and the detections he is running are even not working (a lot of missed persons / cars / faces and false positives) and he does not even explain how to fix. All notebooks consists of the same 4-5 OpenCV APIs, so it is really a waste of time and money.

Really bad

By Javier A R R

Sep 23, 2020

It will be difficult for a non english listener to understand the pronunciation of the teacher, also, there is no way to download the content so it can be used for further exploration and learning.

By Mohammad S B

May 27, 2020

Error in face classifier code of face and eyes detection section, no documents sent by Rhyme that are required, even i could not download it.

By Agam V

Jun 30, 2020

There were no method explanations provided and it was just a plain see and write code exercise. No insight as to how it works was provided.

By Abhishek M

May 1, 2020

The link added to this course is that of "Computer Vision: Video Basics with OpenCV and Python", no point in enrolling for this course.

By Bishwaraj P

May 9, 2020

The instructor didn't put any content

after face detection

specified in the intro in the External Tool.

By Chaitanya T

Jul 7, 2020

Never saw a tutorial more poorly explained. Plus the instructor's voice was not clear.

By Ehsan E

May 23, 2020

The course is incomplete , it seems like a bug , and just it covers face detection .

By Shirish S

May 1, 2020

This course is incomplete. Only has face detection, the cloud desktop lags a lot.

By Aman K

Apr 26, 2020

Course content is different and the name of the course is different .

By Q B

May 14, 2020

The Course is not Complete,why can i only watch the first week?

By Rasala a

Jun 17, 2020

In place of my name other person name is coming in my cert

By Joseph L

Jun 10, 2020

Poor explanation and instructor tolerates false detection.

By Abdelrhman Y H

May 22, 2020

misguided title

It's same content as video basics

By Minank S

May 19, 2020

Useless nothing is explained.don't waste time

By Yeshwanth B

Sep 22, 2020

bad speaker i hate him, very bad course

By Baratam B

May 9, 2020

The Rhyme platform for usage was worst.

By SHARJEEL K C

Sep 8, 2020

please dont purchase its not working

By ARPIT J

Sep 2, 2020

not user friendly and very slow

By Tushar B

May 17, 2020

Misleading course information

By Kedar D G

Mar 22, 2021

we can't give a zero rating.

By Divij B

Jul 8, 2020

Not up to the mark

By Dinesh K

Sep 21, 2020

Not Good