Chevron Left
Back to Web Scraping with Python + BeautifulSoup

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Web Scraping with Python + BeautifulSoup by Coursera Project Network

3.7
stars
111 ratings
30 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this project, you will have a grasp of the essentials for extracting data from most of the websites on the internet. This includes the usage of BeautifulSoup for getting elements through patterns, Browser DevTools for pattern investigation, and Requests for managing the interface with the servers. This course will be useful for anyone dealing with extracting web data from pages and APIs in a regular basis This guided project is for people that would benefit of being able to extract data from the internet through Python. This of interest to marketers, analysts and data scientists. Basic Python is recommended. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 30 Reviews for Web Scraping with Python + BeautifulSoup

By Debolina

Aug 31, 2020

This is a very basic introductory course for people who are complete beginners to Web Scraping. Good job!

By Cheng G

Aug 28, 2020

Good as an introduction but not helpful if you want to dive deeper. Actually the most difficult part is how to bypass anti-robot check by target website, which is not covered by the course. As a result, what learned in this course can hardly be applied to real world projects.

By Murtuza B

Oct 7, 2020

I was not able to understand the language and that was the only barrier I faced. The course was explained beautifully. Also I was not able to access the 'http://testing-ground.scraping.pro/login' website as mentioned in the course. It was down probably. Thank you so much for creating the course.

By STEFANO F P

Oct 25, 2020

Terrible course. Without considering the very bad English which prevent from understanding some words, the course is very basic. The instructor just type some codes without explaining anything. This is a 1-hour wasting course.

By Priyansh B L

Sep 29, 2020

Learned the basics of Web Scraping with BeautifulSoup in a Beautiful way!

By Siddique Z A

Sep 2, 2020

Nice session on web scraping using BS4 i.e Beautiful soup.

By nihal g

Nov 26, 2020

course content is good for beginners but the accent of the instructor makes it a little difficult to understand

By Shravan S

Sep 1, 2020

Could improved English or talked a little bit slow so we can understand

By John H E

Nov 27, 2020

This course was just a tutorial of Beautiful Soup. There was no overarching project that take advantage of the concepts and applied to a goal. This is the first time I do not recommend a project of Coursera.

By Ed H

May 27, 2021

Ye Gods!!! This course was a train wreck and not worth my time or money.

First, the instructor's accent was very thick. This isn't a problem if you are a good teacher (more on that later). I'm normally good at picking up on accents, but this one was thick enough that even the closed captioning had difficulties making out what he was saying at various points. I found myself (both with and without the closed captioning) watching segments of these videos 3 or 4 times because I wanted to understand the code better. Eventually, I just gave up on this. When teaching a class involving lots of technical skills and jargon, it's important that the communication is as clear as possible; I can't fault anyone for their accent, but it then becomes incumbent on Coursera to provide clear closed captioning. Additionally, his website examples were primarily in Portugeuse, which made following along with the examples very difficult.

The thick accent alone isn't a problem; I've had many wonderful instructors from other countries. But this instructor also didn't have very good teaching skills. When teaching a course for beginners, you absolutely have to clearly define key terms and explain why you're doing what you are doing. He often didn't do either, and the class became an exercise in trying to copy what he was doing on the screen with very little understanding of what or why you're doing it. Exploration is another key skill when teaching new concepts to beginners - after they've built up some confidence, you allow them to explore the environment. Even though he said to "feel free to play around" with the code on occasion, there wasn't enough conceptual knowledge to know how to do this. The course requirements indicated that the learner would need to know basic Python to take the course. I have this and have been successful in other basic Python courses. I am very new to webscraping, however. Given how quickly he skimmed over concepts important to webscraping, you really needed to be somewhat grounded in that topic before taking the course. But if you were already grounded in the topic, why would you take the course? There are a few very good BeautifulSoup tutorials on Youtube. I've watched a few of them and picked up on the major concepts pretty well. I was hoping this course would allow me to extend the knowledge I already had, perhaps using BS on different websites or in different ways. Instead, I feel like I may have even lost ground after taking this course. Avoid at all costs.

By Steven C

Aug 26, 2020

Can't do the course. The feed is extremely slow and gets confused & pops me into odd places that are not related to the course.

By Siddharth K

Feb 21, 2021

The Video and audio quality is worse. The content is just drivel. And just can't understand a word with that accent.

By VICTOR D S S

Sep 22, 2020

This is the worst cousera project i've ever done

By TMU g

Mar 27, 2021

really no good, sorry

By Marlon A G M

Sep 11, 2020

Excellent course

By Jesus M Z F

Oct 13, 2020

Excelente curso

By Luis l L L

Dec 30, 2020

Good Project

By DHAKSHNA M C

Sep 30, 2020

Ok

By Robert B

Mar 8, 2021

This course provides the basic skills necessary to get started scraping data from websites using python.

Unfortunately some of the websites used have changed or are unusable, such that the learner will not

get the same results as demonstrated in the instructional videos.

By Anup K C

Feb 25, 2021

Its very good for beginners. Please share the code for each section in download file section

By Tarit G

Sep 19, 2020

Very good course. Could cover with more examples.

By Debapriya M

Oct 22, 2020

learnt a lot about web scrapping

By MARCELA A C B

Apr 3, 2021

I feel like the course should say basic instead of intermediate... However, I like the interactive way we can navigate in the guided project.

By Abhishek K

Sep 20, 2020

wasn't much about web scraping and more on the different steps done individually which didn't include data collection.

By Alejandro G L

Dec 7, 2020

It woul be nice if the profesor go deeper in the webscraping methods and the final product of the proyect