Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,914 ratings
858 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

VL
May 28, 2017

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

CD
Jul 12, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 841 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

By Kyung J L

Jan 14, 2018

I am aware that this is an introductory course but I can't erase the feeling that too much of the work is done for us. The lectures / assessments were very good though.

By Leqi W

Jan 11, 2021

Very intuitive and useful introduction course for people who don't know any python or for those who never know interactive programming and object-oriented programming.

By Ayush S

Jun 20, 2018

Amazing course, A must-do for novice programmers, or one's looking to have a firm grasp on the fundamentals. Excellent exercises, no mugging up, legit problem solving.

By James K

Jun 3, 2020

Fantastic course, it takes something I was finding challenging to learn and builds up your knowledge at a steady pace. Im delighted with the progress over the 5 weeks

By vasanth K R

Mar 17, 2017

excellent course to get a good introduction to programming in python. Mini project based appraoch ensured I got hands on training throughout the course of the project

By John C

Jun 26, 2017

Excellent hands-on way to learn Python, from instructors who love the topic and made the course fun and low-key, but still rigorous. It's a commitment that pays off.

By Adam B

Jul 7, 2020

Very fun and interesting course. The workload is well balanced and the projects are explained in a way that makes them challenging but achieveable with some effort.

By Ikseon K

Mar 5, 2018

Professors really tried to teach us in more fun and more interesting way. Thanks for their support and help with our understanding Python and computer science. :)

By Chenguang Z

Aug 9, 2017

A great class, which make me have a basic knowledge of Python and I think I will keep learning python since it is a interesting language! Thanks all the teachers!

By Robert L P

May 15, 2020

Excellent course for beginners to get an introduction to programming. The course was easy to follow and the instructor did a nice job of explaining the material.

By Ilse L

Aug 9, 2016

Hands-on course that uses lots of practical cases and relatable examples. Offers all the basics backed up with both serious expertise and much-appreciated humor.

By J L

Jun 1, 2016

Steep learning curve for a beginner, but you learn a lot on the way. Thanks professors! The discussion forums are great as well, with prompt and helpful replies.

By Ahmad R

Jan 15, 2018

This course is a good course for a beginner, we watch, learn, and implement it on the codeskulptor. The project oriented course makes me digest the basic easier

By Angelo A d M F

Dec 19, 2018

It's a very good introduction to Python through simple games. The course is well planned and organized and it explores some key concepts of Python programming.

By Rachel K

Mar 16, 2017

More than a quick-and-dirty introduction, this course will teach you the basics while also sneaking in some good engineering principles. Highly recommended!

By NAIR V V

Jun 28, 2016

Excellent way of teaching interactively. Very good exercise problems to revise and learn by practice. Occasional use of humor also adds interest to the course.

By David A C L

Jul 28, 2019

Es un excelente curso para iniciar en el mundo de la programación, sus instructores están altamente calificados y lo que desarrollan es simplemente grandioso.

By Michael C

Mar 31, 2016

I took this course 3 times as a student, and I absolutely loved it! The lectures are interesting, relevant, and entertaining. I'm grateful to be a CTA/Mentor.

By Gaston P

Dec 5, 2020

A pretty unique and well designed course. I already made a lot of programming courses but this has a really immense effort from the teachers, thanks to them.

By Krishna B C

Jul 7, 2020

Very useful. Instructors have explained the things clearly and in detail. The mini-projects are quite useful to sum up the knowledge learned through classes.

By Evgeniia P

Jul 5, 2018

Great course - I used to learn on other resources but like this one the most of all. Right amount of fun and clear explanations, all lecturers are very nice!

By Maria S

May 20, 2016

An amazing course. Professors are knowledgeable, fun, and contribute time and effort to the course. The content is fast-paced, but you end up learning a lot!

By Malwina K

Sep 30, 2018

I am 34 yo physiotherapist and I did it. You can really start with 0 knowledge about programming and finish the course. Just be stubborn and persistent :)

By 沈汪晴

May 14, 2017

Very good course. It start with the basic concepts and guides you to master python with interesting practice exercises. The mini projects are really fun!

By Bill C

Apr 12, 2016

Great course, great instructors, was hard, but the community of learners was fantastic and helped out a lot. Pace is face, be ready to commit time to it.