Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,542 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,517 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Ashish D

Nov 19, 2022

This free course is a sweet investment.

If you're interested in scientific writing, great! If not, you can still learn much about better writing practices, which is the subject of the first half of the course. The instructor vividly explains the principles with real examples.

By yekta g

Jul 26, 2020

That is very practical with very useful examples for beginners. This course have tried to cover differnet aspects of science writing and the instructor information is surprisingly wide and thourough. Her English accent is great that you can understand her explanation easily.

By Loretta

Jul 6, 2021

This was top-notch university level course. Dr. Sainani was a wonderful communicator. I appreciated the thoughtful course design because it included all of the potentially useful topics for either a researcher or medical professional. The media unit was a pleasant surprise!

By Laura C

May 27, 2021

I found this course extremely helpful as a novice writer and new doctoral graduate student. Excellent overview of the key elements of science writing. I learned several simple and effective tips to make my writing more concise, understandable, and captivating to the reader.

By Ilia M

Nov 24, 2020

I loved this course. Informative and useful. And it's free!!! Anyone to whatever extent involved with the making of this course deserve the most highly respected award in any category!!! Damn I can't even conjure up the write words to describe how much I love this course!!!

By Andrew C

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course! The professor does a great job explaining concepts and providing examples to demonstrate skills and techniques. I learned a lot in this course about writing and I have a new way of thinking about writing and reading in general, not just medical literature.

By Abirami C

May 25, 2022

Wholeheartedly I thank the organisers of coursera, Dr. Sainani and all the professors who taught me the valuable skills on how to write a journal article, how to publish the article, how to edit a science article etc.

I'm happy to be a learner of this eight week course!

By Auditya P S

Jul 14, 2020

I love this course very much, just a bit regret why I found it after I had completed my PhD :( Yet this course provides a great informative and useful resources to improve my writing skills... DEFINITELY!! I Thank you very much Dr Kristin Sainani and team, I love you all!!

By Anisha M

Jun 8, 2020

A great course. You can learn great tricks to improve your scientific writing. Those who are struggling to write a paper; this program is the key they teach about the outline and ways to deal with before starting to write your manuscript. I personally enjoyed this course.

By Tushar P

May 21, 2020

Thanks a lot, mam. This was one of the best courses I ever had on this platform. The amount of effort that the instructor put in, is really remarkable. I hope that the knowledge acquired from this course would help me reach millions of miles in science. Thanks a lot again.

By hamid m

Sep 25, 2022

I'm a Computer Science Post Graduate Student from Iran and I would say that despite the more medical orientation of the course, I found it to be extremely helpful in my own field. I strongly suggest this course for the ones who are interested in Writing Scientific Prose.

By Bárbara P

Dec 23, 2020

This was the best writing course I've taken. The lectures are very engaging and cover several important topics in writing. Not only have my writing skills improved with this course, but also the structure of my texts and my writing process. I cannot recommend this enough!

By Damilola K

Aug 12, 2020

I used to think I was good at writing until Dr. Krisitin showed me that I still had a long way to go! The title looks scientific, but don't be fooled, It is equally beneficial to those who are not into sciences. The course is what I will call "the ABC of science writing".

By Valentina S C E

Jul 8, 2020

It was a great course, one of the most complete I have done, and I know that in the future it will help a lot, very clear, with multiple examples and activities to apply the lesson. I loved the way Dr. Kristin Sainani used to teach, congratulations on this amazing course.

By Markus I

Oct 17, 2022

I needed an enormous amount of time to complete the honor's assignment. I chose a computational topic which posed me enormous problems of understanding. Finally, I got it approved by the original author of the article, but I can nomore upload it to the original course.

By mahnoor f

Apr 23, 2021

It is an amazing opportunity for those people who are struggling in research writing, especially novice researchers. A unique thing about this course is that it is comprehensive and it tells you those tips and tricks which you haven't probably learned in your undergrad.

By Hellen C

Sep 1, 2020

I found this course to be so eye-opening! The instructor is amazing. All my years of taking advanced science and medical coursework have led to all of the writing problems identified in this course. I have recommended this course to all of my fellow science braniacs.

By Sin Y N W Y

Sep 16, 2022

Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani! I learned to write more concisely and efficiently using active voice than passive voice. Also, the structure difference between research papers and science journalism for the broader audiences is well explained. This course really helps!

By Jeanette C V

Aug 28, 2018

El curso está excelente. Las explicaciones, material y entrevistas con expertos en la materia son de gran ayuda para mejorar la manera en que escribimos la ciencia, y tener un mayor impacto sobre el público a través de nuestras investigaciones. Ampliamente recomendado.

By Francesca R B

May 18, 2021

Me encantó el curso, muchas gracias :) aprendí de escritura académica y además, cosas básicas de que debieron enseñarme en la universidad, por ejemplo, la entrevista a científicos, redes sociales para actividad científica, y los procesos editoriales. Muchas gracias :)

By Melvin J N G

Nov 12, 2018

What a wonderful course. It is the first time I have complete one at Coursera, and I must say it has set a high bar. I wish in the future, a longer version of Writing only is provided—the last modules, while very helpful, seem to be a bit more than I currently needed.

By Fereshteh Z

Nov 25, 2019

I did not expect an online course to contain such high level of efficiency. It was very well planned and I used a lot of the advices in my paper. I recommend people, who just want to start writing their paper, to take this course. It is very professional and helpful.

By Courtney W

Nov 30, 2020

This course has improved my writing immeasurably, and I believe it helped me gain a promotion earlier this year. There are only two changes I would make: including examples from different fields – not just medical research – and updating the section on social media.

By Shabana S

Jul 26, 2022

The course has introduced me to scientific writing skills in a very elaborate, understanging and easier way. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole course . The course has refined my writing, reading, skills and has increased my knowledge in depth about scientific writing.

By Barb M

Mar 14, 2021

This course helped me evaluate my own writing and apply the writing skills taught in this course, which greatly improved my scientific papers writing. It broke down each lesson with active learning assignments that allowed me to apply the writing principles taught.