Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Arctic: Climate by University of Alberta

4.6
stars
410 ratings
115 reviews

About the Course

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

Top reviews

DM
May 12, 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO
Jun 15, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 113 Reviews for Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

By alpana r

Aug 16, 2020

great course

By Anabel G

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent!!!

By EDM18B044 S N D B

Jun 5, 2020

Amazing

By Virginia N F C

Jul 19, 2017

Great

By Pedro B G L

Jan 24, 2021

The content of the course is very interesting and deals with a problem that is generating more and more negative effects on the planet, not only on the Arctic.

The script is well developed, although the videos could be supplemented with more information, especially graphics.

Questions that are asked in the video allow us to better understand the contents, that detail is very successful.

Evaluations have a certain complexity, which makes it possible to analyze the substance of each question in great detail.

My thanks to Dr. Paul Myers for this course.

By Bruno-Pierre C

Mar 2, 2016

really interesting, it's a really good base for all to understand the Arctic and a rebound to understand the climat change. I would like to learn more in the pdf lesson, if you'll be able to add some optional lessons to read I would appreciate, but for sur I'll take the next course. It well structure and explain. The other thing is about the test it will be interesting to have all the good answer after we've pass it. Just to understand our mistake

By Guillermo I

Mar 14, 2016

Content was very good. I didn't liked the assignments, they were too short and the answering options were too narrow; sometimes they could be misinterpreted and led to a confusing missing point. I would recommend to add several more questions for each assignment, chosen random for each attempt, put a limit on total attempts and give feedback on answers. Thanks for the course, I enjoyed it a lot; short but precise.

By David D

Jan 8, 2019

This is a good overall picture of the arctic covering a wide range of topics that are being affected by climate change. The quiz that are spaced throughout the videos are a good break from just watching.

Perhaps the presentation, while enthusiastic, was a bit static and fairly long in length. This could possibly be improved by having different presenters or more visuals during the lecture.

By Rosie B

Oct 28, 2017

The course was enjoyable and I definitely learned a lot more about the arctic and climate change. I felt the content was a bit static and having done Mountains 101 with University of Alberta, I thought it would have made a big difference to visit some of the places mentioned, to show the problems occurring, and see interviews with researchers working in the Arctic.

By Sophie J

May 9, 2016

Very interesting course on the Arctic. As an introduction, I appreciated the broad overview of the things affecting the Arctic and thus the global climate. As a neophyte, some of the more technical, scientific aspects were hard to follow but were just as interesting to understand; having the course notes to go back to was helpful!

By kori r

Apr 19, 2016

Very interesting course that covers the the Arctic and how it has been impacted by climate change. Overall a qualitative discussion of the Arctic climate that references more detailed quantitative data. The summary sheets for each week are a really helpful reference for the class and beyond.

By Joy S

Feb 12, 2016

Good info. Instructor had rather odd body language, but friendly. Had trouble passing a couple of section tests due to "check all that apply" questions. Sections on ocean and atmosphere circulation and global warming rather boring and a little harder to follow. Interesting class overall.

By Gabriel H

Dec 3, 2018

Surprisingly thorough course, although the lectures can be improved and more material can be included in the lecture notes. I personally wasn't keen on watching the lecture material and only studies the notes, maybe a point to improve.

By Sasha B

May 16, 2020

This course was great, but I can't find the other UArctic courses mentioned, particularly the one about Arctic Cultures! I would love to learn more, any info would be much appreciated!

By Robert C C

Apr 25, 2016

I found the course informative, but the quizzes to be a problem as there were too many multiple answers, so was near impossible to complete the quizzes correctly

By Linnéa R

Feb 11, 2021

Good course, very informative.

Professor was a little stiff, but this is the first MOOC I've ever taken - so maybe that's the way you have to teach.

By Graham K

Oct 4, 2016

Nice overview, gives a good appreciation for changes happening in the Arctic. Sometimes the lecture material is a bit dry and repetitive/slow.

By Roberto D

Jun 10, 2016

A very good review of the main topics related to the Arctic and climate change. Final lesson tests are sometimes confusing.

By Franck L

Feb 16, 2017

The content was good and very instructive but the videos and graphic material could be more dynamic and interactive.

By Sophie B

Jul 18, 2021

It was a very good course. All of the topics were explained perfectly for anyone to understand. Very pleased.

By Ron G

Feb 20, 2021

Very well organized and presented. Good visual aids accompanying the lectures. Highly recommended.

By Jonathan D

Aug 20, 2017

Great introduction to the artic region, its people, economy, environment and global importance.

By Gina W

Aug 20, 2020

it was a very informative course. The presenter was easy to listen too and likeable.

By Anne G

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting. Easy to understand. Prof seemed very enthusiastic about the topic.

By Shannon A C

Jan 28, 2021

Love the open-book quizzes but hate the time limit as someone with test anxiety