Chevron Left
Back to Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.3
stars
1,135 ratings
338 reviews

About the Course

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top reviews

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
Aug 15, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 335 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

By Igor K

Aug 16, 2016

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

By Nelson C B

Jun 29, 2020

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

By Greg T

Oct 28, 2019

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

By Kyle B

Jun 5, 2020

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

By Abdullah D S

Jun 5, 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

By Rohan S

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

By dong c

Sep 5, 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

By Will V L P

Jan 18, 2021

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

By Caroline C

Jun 13, 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

By Mohamed A

Jan 4, 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

By Afshin P

Apr 25, 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

By Florent C

Mar 2, 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

By Surabhi D

Jun 4, 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

By itay b

Sep 19, 2016

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

By bpathakjee

Mar 26, 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

By Tarik A

Aug 20, 2020

Please add more video course and meaningful assignments instead of all readings. Thanks

By cristina g g

Apr 29, 2018

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

By SABARI K B B

Jan 1, 2020

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.

By Paul J

Jul 27, 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

By Daniel H

Feb 12, 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

By Michael E L

Jul 4, 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

By Hamza A D

Feb 28, 2020

Good course although could be improved with more simplicity and less complexity.

By María J F P

Nov 14, 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

By Mariane M R

Dec 18, 2020

/Não é nada fácil e muito menos nível iniciante, mas consegui pensar bastante.

By Juan J M

Aug 1, 2020

This is a challenging course for absolute beginners, but definitely rewarding!