Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,700 ratings

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM

Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S

May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 411 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By Lisi L

Jul 3, 2019

I loved Mike Davis classes! I'm sorry but the rest was a bit boring.

By Leonardo A L

Feb 6, 2020

Week three was very hard for me because I'm not american.

By John E H

Jun 29, 2017

Presentation style was not as engaging, and was so repetitive from class to class, video to video. Got tedious by the end. Good information, thorough, and only sometimes too basic. More repetition tha

By Siva A

Apr 17, 2017

not so much live examples full of theories.this has been thought in class it self.

By CARME B G

Feb 13, 2020

I don't like it. The course content is too much theoretical

By Shrey S

Apr 18, 2021

The course was well organized, the concepts were well explained with practical examples. It would be great if you could include examples from different geographies like emerging markets (BRICS) as the dynamics are a bit different due to difference in context. However, the principles are largely the same. Also, the assignment would be more effective if it takes into account that many people across the globe do the course and hence a globally relevant assignment would be more effective than just a US-focused one. Having said that, I really got a gist of compensation and benefits (the hard & soft aspects). I would highly recommend the course to anyone interested in getting a holistic perspective on the subject quickly in a practical manner. Thank you!

By Rumpa N

Dec 8, 2020

Dear Mr. Mike Davis & Mr. Allen Benson

It was great experience in learning the one of the course module Compensation and I thoroughly enjoyed each and every part of the course and will cherish this knowledge forever and I’m grateful to Coursera and University of Minnesota and All the Faculties of Carlson School of Management for bringing such a detailed and comprehensive learning programme on Human Resource Management and this course gave me lot of deep diving into the course and also it gave me more confidence in attempting all the Peer graded projects and Assessment was really useful for me gauge on my knowledge. My heartfelt thanks to entire team once again.

Thanks & Regards

Rumpa Narayanan

By Luis R R

Jul 29, 2020

As a third-year student at the University of Westminster in London, United Kingdom I received a final mark below what I expected at a module of Reward Management, after reflecting on what went wrong I understood my former handicaps were salary structures and compensation schemes, whereas a result I had to include this course on my PDP to improve my skills. I can only be grateful as this was a great opportunity to consolidate all my knowledge in Reward & Compensation management. The course is amazing and the video clips are invaluable!

For someone looking for a career change into Human Resources / Personnel / Human Capital management or even Business Management, this course is essential.

By Mohini D

Aug 23, 2020

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is not from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance. I learnt a lot from this course. The content was very good and the videos were very clear and easy to follow. I would like to thank to Prof Alan Benson, Mike Davis and all other supporting staff behind the curtains. Greatly appreciated.

By Md. F H

Mar 2, 2021

This was an excellent opportunity to learn some basics about employee compensation and setting benefits to convey company goals in a nonverbal way. The instructors were very clear about the topics. But one feedback for the peer evaluation is that it should allow people to set compensation based on their own country, region. Not all the participants are from the USA and we have little to no value in knowing it. Other than that, I wish all the future learners the best of luck!

By Dylan P

Jan 4, 2021

The course was very informative and to the point, but one small issue I have with it (along with the other courses) are the assignments that have to be completed. The instructions are not always very specific, and when the time comes mark the assignments of other peers, then the rubric has very strict standards and specific requirements that were not adequately prescribed in the questions.

By Muhammad F S

Dec 16, 2022

This course helps me to improve my skill, as I did my master at 2012. after that I am doing job. When i start this course it helps too much to boost my knowledge as well as my revision, but i have noticed many things have been changed.

Thanks for Coursera, who gives me a great platform where i can learn and implement it on our professional life.

By Dayna D

May 31, 2021

The delay in me completing this course was totally all on me. I enjoyed every step of this course, although, there were chunks of the information I was receiving I felt like I already knew. It was great to feel validated. There were other instances, where I felt like it was challenging but in a good way. I really appreciate the opportunity.

By Sana I

Nov 10, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. The way instructors demonstrated their knowledge is remarkable. Those who are really passionate about the field of HR this course really helped them to understand the basic concept of compensation and also help them to analyze things in the real world scenario with better perspective.

By Bridgette J

Oct 10, 2022

As a returning Human Resources professional taking this certification has been truly beneifical and allowed me to feel comfortable and informed once again in a field that I enjoy and love being a part of, Thank you to all the University of Minnsota Human Resource Department for offer this certification. .

By Gordon W

Mar 28, 2023

This was the best course of the entire program thus far. I learned a lot about structuring compensation and benefits, especially in non-monetary rewards. I especially enjoyed the practical challenge to write a complete job description. Well done to the instructors, Alan Benson and Mike Davis.

By Tony M

May 14, 2022

Instructor and videos were great. Course rigor needs to be increased. Discussion questions were optional and the peer assignments I saw were largely absolute trash. There needs to be more quality control and higher barriers to passage to protect the integrity of this credential.

By Nelly A

Jul 27, 2020

The course is an excellent course if you are looking to build your knowledge of compensation and you will really love Module 4 that talks about Non-Monetary rewards. Taking the course will give you an insight into how to strategically build a best-practice compensation system.

By Fatema M

Aug 25, 2022

This course had a lot of new and up-to-date issues for me, things that I didn't know before, now by taking this course I have learned a lot about human resource management and I am sure it will help me a lot for my future tasks. Thanks to the producers of this useful course.

By MOSES S M

Sep 20, 2021

Very excited to be party of this and I've indeed gained alot in terms of knowledge and reading materials and if given finance and opportunity , I can hesitate to pursue a masters in this course.

Very clear videos, well resaearched teachers with vast experience.

Thank you.

By Sigrid M

Feb 14, 2021

The course is very detailed and gives learners rounded knowledge of material that is easy-to-understand. I have been in HR for 4 plus years, and I have learned more from this course than I have in the four years at my former company. This is awesome !!! Great Job!

By Amit S

Aug 27, 2019

Great Course. Great learning. However, some parts were not relevant especially statutory requirement in USA for a course taker from India. None the less it was a learning and an opportunity to learn about statues in a foriegn country.

By Saikat G

Mar 2, 2020

Very good, detailed 4-week course on Management of Employee Compensation module.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and gained knowledgable insights into the domain of compensation design and management for employees in an organisation.

By Muhammad G

Jan 17, 2022

One of the best and valuable courses I have taken with Coursera. It's a bit heavy but has increased my knowledge in Total Rewards from many aspects. Many thanks to the great instructors who made this amazing outcome.

By Lynn L

Sep 23, 2019

The course was well organized and a great overview of all of the types of compensation. The course clearly outlined what to consider for comp programs and suggestions on how to implement. The instructors were great!