Chevron Left
Back to Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
520 ratings

About the Course

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Top reviews

C

Aug 17, 2022

This course was amazing! I loved the extracurricular activities (readings, assignments and the meditative moments) which helped to contextualise the material learned in an interdisciplinary context.

ST

Jun 20, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 179 Reviews for Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

By Dimitris A

Feb 18, 2021

My Gratitude to the Teacher. He was Great. Thank you so very much Sir! Be well and keep influencing people the best way possible

By Denai B

May 15, 2022

Really Great Learned so much. Easy to complete. Lots of interesting topics, great imagery and information throughout course.

By Chen Y

Jun 24, 2021

This course opened another door for me to know myself better. It really helped me to be more aware and be in the present.

By graciela b

Oct 12, 2022

the course is great, the concepts are clear and the videos are exquisite.

I am very grateful for allowing me to do it.

By Mike C

Mar 20, 2023

Even with or despite of having post graduate certification I learned a tremendous amount from this amazing professor.

By Michaela K

Mar 8, 2023

I had a wounderful time, when I was doing that topic at the University of Edinburgh,

All professors were wounderfull.

By Florence Y A A

Nov 15, 2022

I find it so interesting and it actually added a lot of value to my person. thank you everyone that made it possible

By Robert M

Sep 18, 2022

This was an eye opener in knowing who we are as human beings. Excellent pholosophical and pyschological theories.

By dh

Feb 9, 2019

Good content just a technical issue some of the modules repeat themselves even though they have different names.

By Mystery L

Feb 10, 2021

It was a pretty good course. It was interesting but I already though of most of the theories being discussed.

By Kathleen R

Jan 15, 2019

Fascinating subject. Course was well-designed, good lectures and interesting readings. Highly recommend.

By 马秀欢

Jul 25, 2019

It's really useful and helpful,especially the extra materials applied in it. Thank you for everything.

By Samiksha S

Sep 9, 2021

Great course to start philosophy lessons and knowing yourself. Amazing tutor and teaching material.

By Joe G

Sep 8, 2018

Very well-done online course packed with knowledge. This was my favorite Coursera course thus far!

By Imogen H

Aug 28, 2021

motivated me to think more about other topics- taught in such a lovely way thats easy to follow!

By Christopher L

Aug 26, 2018

Great introduction to basic, Philosophical concepts and thinkers largely by way of Descartes.

By Eldrick J F O

Oct 12, 2018

Phenomenal! It allowed me to peer closer to views which I now considered to be misconstrued.

By Hazel I

Jun 19, 2020

Loved this course. Well structured, knowledgeable professors. Inspiring content. Thank you.

By Erica D

Jul 9, 2020

This course was really Interesting and gave a lot great perspective. Definitely recommend!

By Ajaya G

Jun 4, 2020

The video presentations are excellent. Concepts are very well explained. Learnted a lot.

By Amy S

Apr 26, 2020

An absolutely wonderful course, easy to follow with thoughtful prompts and assignments.

By Robert M

Dec 2, 2022

The inner self, the mind, unconsciousness, consciousness, subconscious, preconscious.

By Kim S

Oct 8, 2021

This was really excellent. Dr. Green really made abstract principles very accessible.

By nadia a

Aug 3, 2020

For me, it was an essential course to widen my knowledge in myself and in philosophy.