Chevron Left
Back to Introductory Human Physiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introductory Human Physiology by Duke University

4.8
stars
3,915 ratings
921 reviews

About the Course

In this course, students learn to recognize and to apply the basic concepts that govern integrated body function (as an intact organism) in the body's nine organ systems....

Top reviews

LL
Jun 1, 2016

I'm a high school student interested in human physiology.\n\nThis course is AMAZING! Though sometimes I felt overwhelmed and couldn't remember everything, I think it was worth every effort and energy.

VB
Sep 11, 2020

Very informative, straight forward, and was practically free too! The teachers were very easy to understand, had a real passion for their subject, and I really learned a lot. Would totally recommend!

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 910 Reviews for Introductory Human Physiology

By Glaceia H

Aug 15, 2020

It was really in depth and the instructors really knew how to explain it. I would only ask for better diagrams and slides because it would be nice to see more authentic photos of the parts of the body they are talking about and designed slides that more accurately represent the part of the body they are talking about to create greater connection with the subject.

Overall, I love their teaching! Great Course! Thank you!!

By Elena W

Sep 25, 2021

I completed this course as a prerequisite for a Master of Nursing degree and really enjoyed the experience. My existing knowledge is basic - high school biology - so found it quite challenging getting my head around the content. The beauty is you can set the pace and take as much time as you need. I now have a feel for basic physiology and eager to continue learning. Thanks Emma and Jennifer!

By Meri I K

Dec 4, 2020

Great course, plenty of enlightening material about the beauty of life !

Some more information about how the experiments and observations are made leading to all this knowlege would be better. Also, some basic concepts, terminology, anatomy knowledge could be provided at the begining of each chapter. I found that the course was addressed to non-beginners. But it was still great fun!

By Sue C

Jul 14, 2020

A lot of ground is covered in this course, and includes what feels like a lot of biochemistry. Having studied physiology as part of sports science and cardiac rehab, I found this helped in some areas. The depth that it goes into seems to be more than at an introductory, but it was interesting, challenging and I appreciated the efforts of the lecturers.

By Rebecca B

Mar 24, 2021

Really interesting and enjoyable course, I feel like I have learnt a lot! My only criticism is some topics were quite difficult to understand (for me, the endocrine system!) and I feel the content could have been taught a bit slower and with a few more 'real life' examples to help fully understand and remember what was being spoken about.

By Marguerite A

May 9, 2016

Some of the final exams included information that was not in the lectures, so there were a few times I felt the need to refer to outside sources just to pass a lecture. I have no previous medical knowledge or training, so this course may be better suited for someone who is a pre-med student and at least understands some of wha

By Aastha J

Jul 14, 2020

Well, I enjoyed this course. Being a science student, I already have some basic knowledge about this and I think for doing this course we all should have some knowledge because this course is very challenging. Yeah! Quite complicated videos and quizzes as well.

But overall I I get some information that will help me

By Papai R

Jun 5, 2021

The course is good. But when there is a logic of two yards hygenic so the cd posv kdnd ndkndknvvvvv nhdb kk lo d so then ssd limitation is completed of my future liable content so my is berybust at rhe p of the best cycle and i m very gld jdj js so tmu db beacuse of rh encyclopedia of ver brst succes of my screen

By Diana A

Jul 20, 2020

This is a challenging course that provided a lot of helpful information about how the body systems work. The course is really geared toward people who have a basic understanding of college level Biology. I would have liked to see/hear more questions/lecture about how the systems work together.

By Anne S

Feb 20, 2021

Interesting course and it makes sense if you listen carefully/also use other resources to understand the material. I think many of the graphics used could have been much better (clearer, a bit less schematic (include the shape of the structures processes happen in)).

By Diego d D M

Feb 5, 2019

Gostei muito do curso, achei excelente, só não gostei por não ter tradução para o português do Brasil. Teve em algumas semanas que achei o conteúdo muito pesado, demandei mais tempo do que o previsto para compreender os assuntos, poderia ter um pouco mais tempo.

By Rujul S

Jul 14, 2020

the course is very useful for the medical freshers but i felt it could have been a bit intense or else everything in the course were fantastic i would recommend it to all the students who would like to know something extra out of this course

By louis f d m p s

Sep 2, 2015

I think it's a very good course, but there are parts that can be improved and some that should be addressed in more leisurely fashion, this is the case of the nervous system and the endocrine system. Thank you very much for your effort.

By Berk

Jun 27, 2020

This course was very detailed and well-designed. Yet, the level of detail is sometimes frustrating. I recommend the course only if you are seriously interested in human physiology or systems; otherwise, it is too much work.

By Donald A

Jan 20, 2020

Thanks again. Great Job.

Your class provides good general knowledge, to benefit many students.

The Lessons will help many students, to make Better Choices in their HEALTH future.

Best; "the" DONALD from PENNSYLVANIA !

By Ratchanee T

Jun 14, 2021

Very good knowledge. But lessons can be a bit confusing a first. Needed to go back and re-read, re-do tests to understand more. A glossary of terms & indices that link to the lessons would be helpful as a reference.

By enrico

Dec 3, 2015

Prof. Jakoi and Prof. Carbrey are able to stimulate the curiosity about every apparatus of human body. This course is an essential step to introduce the further subjects of Medicine. Congratulations to the organizers.

By Gemma L

Jun 20, 2020

I have learnt in more detail how medications work in the body which will help me in my job as a near patient Pharmacy Technician. I would like to of had some more real life examples to aid what is going on in body.

By Rebecca M

Mar 5, 2017

To do well in this course you definitely need a background in biology and anatomy. This course is fast paced and you might want to use the whole week to review the videos in order to do the best on the quizzes.

By Haydi P P L

Nov 17, 2020

Me gustaría que incluyeran más y mejores figuras explicativas de mecanismos e histología. También recomiendo más orden en las explicaciones.

Me gustó mucho la forma de explicar y los temas.

Saludos y gracias.

By Laura O

Apr 15, 2017

Good material with a very generalized but advanced overview of concepts.

Some fatigue and lack of confidence was noted in the lecturers. More confidence with assured speaking will elevate the review stars.

By Vítor P

Apr 27, 2016

A very nice experience! Good to review the majority of the lessons that I've learned a few years a go.

Some (minor) issues with the quality of the videos but the overall rate of the course is very good!

By Ammara J

Jul 4, 2020

A comprehensive course for anyone wishing to brush up on their knowledge of physiology and to get a better grasp on the concepts of physiological processes . Specially recommend it to medical students.

By Haydi E

Aug 19, 2020

amazing presentation and very simple to deliver the information

the tests were perfect to digest the basic notes but if only the model answers were shown with the grades it would be so much better :)

By Christophe S

May 16, 2018

Fascinating course, allows to understand the body as a system. Being alive is so complicated, there are so many things that can go wrong. I think this course is really a must.