Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,030 ratings
2,891 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,873 Reviews for Python Basics

By David C

Mar 14, 2020

Overall well structures and helpful. Good review for someone with some basic knowledge but also good for people with no background. Can go at the pace that works for you.

By Sai V

Feb 22, 2020

Very simple yet elegant introduction to the basics of python. Thoroughly enjoyed the course, would recommend it to everyone who's looking to get into learning the language.

By MACHUNURU S R

May 6, 2021

very useful course ..and encouraging tasks makes me concentrate and think a lot ..i got self confidence of solving any question..thanks to coursera and michigan university

By Ivan F

Apr 25, 2021

Great course for learning and understanding how Python 3 works in it's core. This course gives you full understanding of Python's logic so you can write good, simple code.

By Nitish T

Mar 8, 2021

This course helps me a lot to enhance my coding skills in python programming. This course provides several module in python where you can build your projects using python.

By Apoorva J

Mar 30, 2020

As a beginner to computer programming, Python Basics Course was rightly paced and easy to understand with the Runestone textbook being very helpful for practice exercises!

By Глеб Е

Jul 24, 2020

This course was for me a big step on my path to AI mastery. I think there was an adequate amount of practice and theory what were the great basement for further learning.

By Rohith K K

May 11, 2020

The runestone textbook and the coding environment has helped me so much in learning Python. Kudos to the creators for helping the students learn in the best way possible.

By pavan m

Jul 31, 2020

This course is very helpfull for the phyton learners at beginning level.lecture vedios & reading material is very helpfull & easy understand.i really enjoyed the course.

By Maria d C S F

Jul 22, 2020

Excente curso, esta muy bien organizado, es fácil de entender y los ejercicios te ayudan a entender las sentencias y la lógica de las diferentes estructuras del programa

By Habtamu S

Jun 16, 2020

This was an interesting course. I have taken python course before, but this digs deeper and allowed me to understand the reason why the python code acts the way it does.

By Davies T

Jan 31, 2020

Well taught and explained course

Runestone and Codelens are wonderful tools and well integrated into the learning environment

A great way to learn any programming language

By Mike C

May 17, 2019

Very solid. I especially like the online textbook with the interactive problems. The lectures and the textbook covered the same material so I don't think you need both.

By Коновалов М С

Nov 29, 2020

Курс для начинающего программиста на Python сложный и увлекательный. Для проверки своего кода использовал IDLE Python 3.9

Большое спасибо команде University of Michigan!

By Moshiur R

Aug 5, 2020

Awesome course! I loved the instructors. The Way of the Programmer was very unique. Really loved Professor Resnick's jokes! Overall a really great course for beginners.

By Salma A

May 1, 2020

Excellent instructors, quite engaging and make the concepts easier to understand. After I took this course, I now plan to complete the specialization and apply to MADS.

By Florencia B

Mar 28, 2021

Me parece que las herramientas disponibles son muy útiles. Permiten seguir el curso sin dificultades y entender los contenidos sin experiencia alguna en programación.

By Chetan R D

May 7, 2020

An absolutely essential course for all the beginners in the world of PYTHON, this is the right course you have been searching for all the time. Highly recommend this!

By Pan

Apr 4, 2020

the designing of this course is very scientific, easily and helpfully leading you from the very beginning to a basic level! Thanks to the every excellent instructor !

By Kamil R A

Jul 25, 2019

Python Basics Course is really great. It is very interactive and also provides interactive book and videos.

Fully recommended!

Thank you, dear Michigan University team!

By fatima h j

Jul 11, 2019

good content and well explained concepts by the facilitators. A prior knowledge of basic programming concepts will help to complete this course in fast track! Thanks.

By Duc P A N

Dec 31, 2020

It is amazing course for beginner, especially, for person who never program before. And it will be too easy for you if you have a little bit knowledge in programming

By Altynbek S

Nov 13, 2019

One of the best course with great instructors for beginners. Playbook, theoretical materials and general course structure is well designed and prepared for beginners

By charles l

Mar 24, 2019

I have greatly enjoyed every course have taken from Univ Mich Dept. Info and CS. Really a great learning experience. I am on my 3rd specialization from the Dept.

By Sheng-Ta T

Dec 14, 2020

The instructor takes the time to explain the learning materials so they are very clear. There are plenty assignments and quizzes to apply newly acquired knowledge.