Chevron Left
Back to Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
1,973 ratings
459 reviews

About the Course

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the online course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Top reviews

AD
Mar 25, 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
Feb 27, 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 453 Reviews for Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

By Vasiliy I

May 17, 2020

Excellent course, I especially liked the manner of presentation by Alexander Shen, where before voicing the solution or proof, you are invited to get to it by yourself

By Aditya V M

Aug 29, 2020

Hi ,I am Aditya

i Really Enjoyed this Course, This course gives a lot of Puzzels and Riddles and it's really fun to solve them , I am moving Towards Next cource now

By tejas g

Nov 3, 2021

Awesome learning experience. Kudos to all professors. To be great in computer science, This course is must in your syllabus. I learnt a lot from this course

By Cheung Y S

Aug 24, 2020

Good introduction to computer science in term of mathematics but need some improvements in week 5, deeper explanation is needed. However, overall is good

By Gunjan B

Jun 5, 2020

Amazing experience. This course has interactive puzzles and then theoretical explanation about the mathematics used in solving computer science problems.

By Bharani J

Feb 28, 2021

Great course with some challenging assignments to complete. This course apparently helped me comprehend how to incorporate Maths into Computer Science,

By Jherson A M C

May 19, 2020

It's a very dynamic course, fun and easy to understand. Teaches you the essentials of mathematical thinking, and works perfectly as an introduction.

By Matam V

May 15, 2020

One of the BEST courses to take up when you are bored!

Helps your way of thinking a lot! Though I personally feel a few bugs need to be fixed.

By 221910304019 G K

Dec 22, 2020

This course was really interesting , i enjoyed it a lot. There was so tricky questions too, which made me to take a break and think again.

By Mohammad I

Jul 14, 2021

Fantastic course I have ever did. Huge thanks to the author. The quiz was very good and intuitive, I have enjoyed this course very much.

By YANSKY

May 22, 2020

Great course! All of the lesson are delivered clearly. The exercise was also relevant and very useful for understanding the material.

By Sangeeth S V

Sep 9, 2020

Amazing. Really enjoyed the puzzles. I think this is the fastest i've ever finished a course because that's how interesting it was.

By Chyuan S H

Oct 15, 2020

Great Math, great attempts at teaching it, proofs are some times complicated and will take some time to wrap one's head around it.

By Mohaimen S

Sep 5, 2020

This course was amazing.Alexander Shen sir has awesome power to take attention.His sound and the style of teaching is really nice.

By Alagappan S

Jun 10, 2020

Would be better if we could get a hold of the python algorithm to solve the 15 puzzle. Couldn't learn/solve that by the end

By Prakhar j

Sep 1, 2020

this course is quite good for implementing logics behind mathematical problems in programming i really like the course !!!

By PURVA G

Aug 10, 2020

Made my basics very strong. The course is designed very well and gives you everything you expect out of it , even more .

By Mohit

Jul 6, 2020

This was a very well taught course with an interesting curriculum. Note: Previous python experience is recommended

By djm

Aug 22, 2020

Exceptional explanation by professors. The problems were worth solving and I have enjoyed a lot in the process.

By Liz M

Aug 16, 2020

This is a great course. It supplemented my discrete maths courses at school and helped solidify many concepts.

By Marcos M M

Sep 1, 2020

Excelente curso, recomendable, he sufrido un poco por el inglés; debería haber también en español. GRACIAS.

By Sanjesh C

Jun 30, 2020

This course is really engaging and fun. I really enjoyed it. Anyone who loves puzzles must check the out.

By Mihir N

Jul 11, 2020

All the 4 instructors were just amazing! Excellent Course. I loved the way Shen Sir explains the most.

By Ketan A

Jul 16, 2020

an extremely well taught course. the use of real illustrations of algorithms helps tremendously!

By Anton I

Jun 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, although it was sometimes challenging. Feels like back to the uni.