Chevron Left
Back to Archaeoastronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Archaeoastronomy by Politecnico di Milano

4.5
stars
941 ratings
287 reviews

About the Course

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top reviews

II
Mar 2, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT
Sep 16, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 285 Reviews for Archaeoastronomy

By Erin N

Sep 23, 2020

Very interesting and informative material. There is a problem with the audio that produced a type of echo though.

By Luis G B T

Dec 16, 2019

muy bueno, quisiera que nos recomienden mas libros y si hay que agregar algo es sobre el arquitecto Antonio Gaudi

By Dimitrios K

Oct 7, 2018

Fascinated by the high academic level of the impressivly presented scientific knowledge. My respect to Dr. Magli.

By Pipaluk

Apr 27, 2017

Absolutely excellent! Would love to delve deeper into this subject matter with another iteration of this course.

By Dawn R

Nov 10, 2020

Quite a challenge! This instructor is great and the content is fascinating. I learned a tremendous amount.

By Guy G

May 18, 2018

Very nice course. It is a real eye opener and enabled me to understand classical Architecture much better.

By susan

Aug 28, 2017

Except for the fact that the Professor said that the Pharaohs built the Pyramids, it was a great course!!!

By Tiffany K

Jul 15, 2020

I enjoyed learning something new and how I can incorporate it into my archaeology studies and field work.

By Sebastián U Q

Oct 7, 2020

I found it to be a very motivating course that greatly stimulates awareness of monolithic constructions.

By Mark E

Apr 5, 2020

Really interesting overview of the topic. You can really sense the lecturer's love of the course.

By Osvaldo P

Jul 22, 2020

Excelente curso, me atrapó. Colmó mis expectativas y me despertó la voluntad de aprender más.

By Emilly V

Oct 2, 2020

A great course! Very interesting and well taught. Really glad to have enrolled myself on it.

By GBT

Feb 2, 2019

Great quick course, wish there was a little more videos at the end rather than readings tho.

By Jacinth

Aug 6, 2020

Very interesting course and Im an architect, so was a wonderful learning experience for me.

By Bettina R J

Nov 27, 2020

Truly an eye-opener, so much was thought and studied in deep before making these monuments

By Zyean A

Jul 21, 2020

The Architects who have interest in Archaeology & Astronomy, should go through this Course

By Lorraine M T

Jul 24, 2020

It was a very good course. It was informative and gave me a lot of insight on the matter.

By Luis E J G

Oct 16, 2018

Great combination of astronomy and ancient cultures, everything with a scientific eye.

By sumeet

Jul 12, 2017

Amazing and Excellent and Exciting. Hoping to cover more sites from other countries :)

By GAURI S

Apr 18, 2020

This is a very interesting course, however a bit hard to play with angles in the sky.

By Paul H

Jan 26, 2019

Brilliant subject area. Well constructed and well put together. Excellent delivery.

By Francesco V

Sep 29, 2017

Wonderful insight in ancient thoughts about the sky, wish it could be also for us!

By Poonam S

Jul 16, 2020

Very informative course for those who have little to more interest in the field.

By José R I

Jun 27, 2019

A very interesting course and a perfect introduction to Professor Magli's book.

By Juan G V B

Apr 21, 2019

Excelente curso, desde el inicio va de la mano en la explicación de cada tema.