Chevron Left
Back to Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
2,504 ratings

About the Course

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Top reviews

VS

Sep 15, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

KG

Jul 24, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 669 Reviews for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

By Sidhartha S S

Nov 11, 2018

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. Special thanks to prof. Cockell for teaching in such an informative and relatable way. After this course my love and fascination for this subject has increased. Let's see how far our civilization goes succeed in finding extra terrestrial intelligence. Once again thanks for these wonderful lectures.

By David H

Apr 28, 2020

Five-stars. Thank-you Charles Cockell for a must interesting and informative course - even if I did realise towards the end the course is at least five years old, so some of the material is out of date.

But still I can catch up by continuing to watch Charles' "Life in the Universe Pandemic Series". I could certainly recommend this course to others.

By Karen D

Sep 11, 2018

This course was extremely helpful and exciting for an aspiring astrobiologist like myself.

The instructor explained everything very clearly and was very direct.

My favorite part was when he talked about the possibility of life in our solar system, such as on Europa and Titan.

He made learning about astrobiology exciting and fun. I was never bored.

By Stoyanov A

Mar 4, 2021

Many thanks to the University of Edinburgh all the people, who have taken part in production of this course, especially to Prof. Cockell! It is a really inspiring and multilateral course, which emphasises the basic provisions of studying extraterrestrial life, life on earth and methodology of detection life and planets suitable for life.

By Arturo C M

Mar 8, 2021

Great course, really complete. It is a great starting point and the professor is a huge figure in the field. Just a small observation: not right away I noticed that the course is a bit outdated so it would be beneficial to point out the year in wich the courses are released just to have in mind how much the field has possibly advanced.

By eda ş

Jun 17, 2020

I gained so many informations of the history and development of astrobiology as a new subject to lean into. The best thing while learning methods and researches done for the field, the course, has been prepared to seek out reasons and raise scientific questions in our heads for further investigation ourselves. Thank you Prof. Cockell!

By Jean-Simon L C

May 2, 2020

Very engaging and fascinating course. I was very interested in astrobiology beforehand, but this course inspired me to pursue a career in Planetary Science!

For my first course on coursera, I am very impressed an wish to continue learning on this platform. Thank you very much for giving me a sense of meaning in these Covid times!

By Nicola W

May 5, 2021

This was a fantastic course and a brilliant overview into the fascinating field of Astrobiology. It covers a lot of ground and fundamentals, is highly informative and is guaranteed to teach the reader/ learner a lot about the basis of this subject. The course is delivered well and it was a really enjoyable course to undertake.

By Daniela V D

Mar 3, 2016

I really enjoyed it, the first modules where the ones i consider more important and tho it was pretty informative i would like to recommend the update of a few lectures and data of the same. In the case of the arrival of the spacecraft new horizons, i mean. But in general i really liked it, it compliments my college formation.

By Yuri D

Apr 13, 2022

Rarely does someone explain difficult concepts and the connection between them so effectively. I hung on the lips of Charles every single part of his lectures. The further reading that I will be able to do thanks to this course is worth everyting. Thank you for making this wonderful course and I encourage anybody to try it.

By Jeremy W

Jul 10, 2021

What a fantastic, inspiring course! This course seems to capture all the important aspects of Astrobiology and induces a need for continued learning and further reading on the issues discussed.

Professor Cockell does a particularly outstanding job keeping it clear and interesting as well as fun and lighthearted. Thank you!!

By Pratika

Aug 23, 2015

Amazing! Thank you professor. Easily one of the best professors I've come across. The course was not too complicated, at the same time it was extremely understandable. May there be many more courses like this on the subject (as it develops and spreads worldwide). Cheers! Highly recommended. Thanks again! Thank you Coursera!

By Lauren S

Oct 18, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. I felt like some of the videos from the first week were a little too long, I preferred the shorter ones, and there was a mix up where the second week ended up being due before the first week which threw me off a little but the content itself was very interesting and I'm glad I took part in it.

By David D

May 23, 2019

This was an outstanding course. The material presented was varied and interesting, the quizzes well constructed and kudos to Charles Cockell who presented this so well. I like his approach of referring to his iPad but being able to deliver the course without constantly reading a tele prompter! This is rare - well done!

By Malvi P

Nov 9, 2018

An interesting course with a good explanation of basic concepts. The flow of the course expands the spectrum of thought and understanding of astrobiology and extraterrestrial intelligence. It also allows one to think for oneself if certain implications about aliens are outlandish yet logical or logical yet outlandish.

By Madeleine M

Mar 27, 2021

The outline of the modules was very nicely done and my providing the text directly to the responding part of the video was helpful for writing notes. It is a very broad and theresting topic with lots of questions still to answer in the future. The viedeo presentations were very interesting and well illustrated.

By Nitya P

Dec 29, 2019

Course contents are very interesting, and easy to understand. Even though my background is mathematics and Physics, I didn't feel any difficulty to understand the fundamentals of specially biology part. Another thing which I liked is the study timing flexibility. Thank you very much coursera and Prof. Cockell.

By Stergos S

Oct 15, 2020

Excellent instructor.Highly recommended. I was motivated throughout the whole the course. I gained good understanding of the field of Astrobiology. Great material and excellent representation. The delivery of the lessons was smooth, structured and well-organised. I liked the review at the end of each lecture.

By Annabelle E L U

Nov 16, 2019

I learned so much in this course! Since the quizzes asked for many details, the course required me to be active and take notes, and I think this helped a lot with keeping me engaged and also helping me to remember things. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in Astrobiology.

By N M

May 9, 2021

This course was very clear and perfect for an entry-level person. As a result of completing this course, I feel that I have a better understanding of the foundations of astrobiology and will continue to seek out more information on the subject. The lectures were intriguing and thought-provoking.

By job l

Mar 11, 2021

its an incredible experience and recommendable experience for all, it i can have many brancehs of application and especially for uselfulness in many areas, in my case i am agronomus and i´d love to go into more research how you are in the future to focus on space agriculture. México greetings

By rhea p

May 20, 2020

I had learned a lot from this course. Very interesting, challenging at the same time. I really enjoy learning Astrobiology. Thank you, Professor Charles Cockell, the University of Edinburgh and Coursera for bringing this topic. May God bless you more and keep safe. Again, Thank you so much!

By Mark A B

Sep 22, 2015

Really enjoyed this course. The videos were really interesting and full of facts and information. I would recommend anyone with an interest in the extra terrestrial or sci-fi to do this course. Some of the content will be a real eye opener to those looking to the sky for little green men!!

By JackMalone

Sep 16, 2015

This course was amazing! I hope the course will be updated in the near future with more depth to current exploration. I personally would suggest the New Horizon Mission, The Rosetta Mission, the "discovery" of Enceladus' subsurface global ocean, and/or Stephen Hawking's $100 million prize.

By Tracy B

Oct 12, 2015

Excellent! Professor Cockell obviously has a passion for his field and I thoroughly enjoyed his lectures. I learned much more than I expected as the course is fully detailed, well organized and the quizzes were challenging. I found the whole experience a pleasure. Thank you Professor!