Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Integration and Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Integration and Processing by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,043 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

AA

Mar 06, 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

FC

Sep 25, 2016

Best course taking into account the first three. Good material, more in depth than the other ones. Very well explained. Useful to get a sense of various interesting topics and orientative.

Filter by:

401 - 421 of 421 Reviews for Big Data Integration and Processing

By Spencer

Nov 17, 2017

This course was absolutely terrible. You spend 2 hours per assignment troubleshooting the install of the various tools used and literally no time do the assignments and experiments. Its like no one at the University even tried the steps that they published, they were simply incorrect. I am lucky to have a background using some of these tools. Course should be removed until content is corrected.

By Ruben M

Jul 15, 2018

To many wrong subtitles, to little explanation for people who wouldnt know how to find stuff out for them selves. I have been working on the week 2 exam for 2 hours because my downloadfile was in the wrong directory.... you should make ik way more easy for students to learn and not fix your faulty explanations in the downloading and installing part of the course. The theory part is great.

By Gary V

Sep 11, 2019

The course was informative but some of the scripts in the exercises were wrong. Example is WGET for example has to be changed to CURL. I spent countless hours just on figuring out what is wrong. There is no support to ask about the any issues with the lab except for the coursera community. The community is supportive, it's just that they dont give the best answers at times.

By Rahul B

Jun 16, 2020

I would not recommend this course to beginners as youtube courses are better because of the fact that they are not teaching the basics at all, also there is a significant gap between what they should tell and what should be told. I would rather learn on my own. They do not know how to teach at all.

By William R

Oct 06, 2016

I tried giving zero stars. This course is very poor. In particular the last portion of the class wherein you are tested on things that were not taught. If I had wanted to spend hours in google trying to learn this stuff I would not have spent money on this course.

By Ievgenii M

Feb 07, 2019

Final assignment is not working properly. Whatever you choose - you are right.

There is no enough information how to dump tweets into file and how to use that in assignment.

This course doesn't worth any cent and should be either reworked or excluded.

By Felix

Sep 02, 2016

Forcing users to install demo software which requires a registration is just too lame.

Other than that, courser is very boring, introductory, jumps constantly between things and doesn't explain much. Stack overflow and 2 hours would do a better job.

By Deleted A

Feb 23, 2017

I have enrolled in this twice but can't see the course content. Every time I click "go to course" I get directed to the description of the course. Where are the lecture videos and other course content?

By Sayandeep A

Jun 23, 2017

Instructors were not responsive at all. Many of the participants faced technical issues in the hands-on exercises involving Spark. Questions in the discussion boards were never answered.

By Kivan I

Jul 14, 2017

No followup from course mentors and admin. A lot of the software also had bugs and caused errors, which is why there was a need for mentors assistance.

By Avishai G

Mar 30, 2019

The course is ok until the final project which is totally not compatible with the level of the hands on during the course ,the final project is a mess

By EL M

Mar 10, 2019

Les fonctions ne fonctionnent pas sur Jupyter. Il faut revoir ces TP !! j'ai perdu beaucoup de temps à chercher sur internet les bonnes fonctions.

By Shubhradeep B

Aug 25, 2019

anaconda file not working when bigdata3 file is extracted. Very bad experience in doing the project. Local host 8889 not opeening. Dont know why

By Kjell L

Sep 12, 2016

The course cost too much for the gain of knowledge. Feels like this course could be merge with the first or the third course.

By KOSURU V R S

May 15, 2020

the programming assignments are designed very poorly. it takes lot of time to install and trouble shoot the installation.

By claudio f

Nov 30, 2016

Poorly designed, no help whatsoever from the staff, Forum is totally worthless. Worst course I ever had on Coursera.

By KAY A

May 07, 2019

It is very difficult when the environments don't work. This course has been very difficult to navigate

By Anatolie P

Dec 12, 2019

No any support, the soft versions are old. The control data in quiz does not correspond to real data

By Ricardo L C T

May 21, 2017

the quiz at the end is impossible to solve with the course content.

By Alex B

Sep 17, 2019

learning data is corrupted. nothing works

By yinxz

Nov 07, 2016

Awful