Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
6,684 ratings
1,655 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SJ

Feb 4, 2022

Really learned a lot about the fundamentals of blockchain, being a software engineer looking into blockchain. It just got me up to speed with the underlying workflow of blockchain and more. loved it.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,679 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Aadesh J B

May 26, 2020

Very well structured quiz and assignments . Had great learning and understanding of Basics of Blockchain.

By DEVRISHI D

May 9, 2020

Excellent Course for beginners and for anyone who's looking forward to exploring the world of blockchain.

By Amey K

May 1, 2020

A very gentle, but thorough introduction to Blockchains.

Programming assignment could be more challenging.

By Muhammad M

Dec 13, 2019

It's an amazing course which helps me to understand the working of blockchain and etherum.thanks COURSERA

By Muhammad R W

Mar 22, 2021

its very good for someone like me that i don't know anything about blockchain and this course is help me

By Shanmuka A P

May 1, 2020

I got the best explanation from this instructor and I recommend every enthusiast to take up this course.

By Daniel G B

Apr 17, 2020

Thank's a million, crystal clear explanations, very useful graphical presentations. Bina is the best :-)

By Deepanjan D

Apr 11, 2020

Amazing course! Learned a lot about blockchain technology and about bitcoin network and ethereum network

By Amr M E

Aug 25, 2018

I really enjoyed the simplified approach of learning and mostly hands-on project @ the end of the course

By Keondre L

Nov 16, 2021

Very descriptive and provided a lot of information that presented in a way that was easy to understand.

By Михаил Д

Nov 11, 2021

This is a very interesting introduction course to blockchain technology. Good and informative material.

By anupa s

Mar 4, 2020

Perfect course to learn blockchain concepts and get experience of creating a new blockchain transaction

By Narsinh

Oct 9, 2018

Perhaps a small issue but more clarity in setting up the environment in the last assignment would help.

By ARGHYADIP G

May 4, 2020

the instructor is too good she had cleared each and every concepts and the contents are also very good

By Yogesh S

Apr 24, 2020

Enjoyed the course thoroughly

Look forward to learn a lot more & build my expertise- one step at a time

By Sameer M

Oct 13, 2019

This course is easy to understand basics of blockchain.. One should definitely learn from this course.

By JOSE G B S

Jan 19, 2021

Excelente curso, justo lo que he estado buscando como punto de partida para el desarrollo de mi tesis

By DHVANI F

Aug 10, 2020

Helped me to understand basic concepts of blockchain. Thanks to coursera for providing such courses!!

By Ashwin S

Jun 9, 2020

Professor Bina Ma'am and the proper guidance by the coursera made it possible to complete this course

By Nileen G

Aug 29, 2019

This was very good content. I loved the programming assignment. it helped understand how things work

By Dissirama E

Jan 13, 2019

C'est un très bon cours qui nous permet d'avoir les notions de base sur la Blockchain!! Je suis ravi.

By Dipak G

Aug 31, 2020

Blockchain basics has a clear objective of what needs to be taught to make this technology relevant.

By Vinit K

Sep 8, 2021

Wonderful course on blockchain. Its really knowledgeable program. And i loved the final assignment.

By Devang P B

Dec 28, 2020

This course is very helpful to me. I learned many great things about the blockchain in this course.

By OSIMOKUN E O

Oct 11, 2020

I'm really happy to be having such an amazing experience with the service rendered by the platform.