Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
1,876 ratings
406 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top reviews

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 401 Reviews for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

By Dan

Dec 26, 2018

Informative but not very engaging. Videos were mainly slide after slide of text with the occasional graphic. Presenters sounded bored and read the slides almost verbatim, often going too fast. End-of-week quizzes were just compilations of the in-video quizzes. Also frequent errors and typos in quizzes.

'Honors' liver cancer course was essentially identical to the liver cancer section in the main course.

By Mudasir K

Jun 16, 2019

very Knowledgble

By Soumyadeep P

Jun 15, 2019

It is very much informtaive and wonderful course for research

By Aya E S

Jun 13, 2019

Great course

By Houda

Jun 09, 2019

Le cancer n'a plus de secret pour moi après cette chouette enquête . Merci énormément

By purvank

Jun 09, 2019

the course was easy and super helpful.

By Elene M

Jun 07, 2019

amazing review of Cancer as it is .

By Wilma G

Jun 07, 2019

awesome course with clear explanations.

By Mariia K

Jun 06, 2019

Sehr interessanter Kurs, alle Grundlagen der Biologie der Tumoren sind sehr ausführlich erklärt. Die Statistik bezieht sich auf die Vereinigten Staaten und ist ein bisschen veraltet, veranschaulicht trotzdem die Aktualität des Themas sehr gut. Ich fand es faszinierend :)

By Rahima B

Jun 03, 2019

Very informative

By KHUSHMAN T

May 28, 2019

This course is very informative and covers majority of required and interesting information about cancer and its treatment. Anyone interested to have a knowledge about cancer basics would surely benefit by attending this course.

By Wilson C

May 21, 2019

Nice course!! Really helpful!!!!

By Vignesh R

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much, Dr. Kenneth Pienta, for providing such an engaging course throughout 6 weeks, and I enjoyed every content of this course that is well structured especially Ten hallmarks of cancer, TNM staging, cancer imaging, and various types of cancer treatments. Overall, it is a comprehensive cancer biology course. Looking forward to having an intermediate level of this course.

By Hiba M I A

May 16, 2019

What a great course to learn very informative and well designed .

By Julia W P S d S

May 07, 2019

Muito bom!

By Zaki D

May 03, 2019

Great introduction to better understanding cancer and it treatments and challenges.

By Ghanem M G M

May 01, 2019

thank so much

By Kerimova S

May 01, 2019

I very liked this course!

By Vinícius F d S

Apr 28, 2019

Curso incrível!

By Ruchi T

Apr 28, 2019

I would like to thank coursera to consider me eligible for the scholarship. I have completed the course with a cent percent result, hence proving my interest in the subject. The course was beautifully presented and explained by all the professors. It was brief and knowledgeable at the same time. The quizzes after each lecture have helped in clearing the main quiz. The course was all in all very knowledgeable. Thankyou

By ZIHAN X

Apr 27, 2019

Repetition can be reduced.

By Angel Z

Apr 24, 2019

I really like the class in a way how the class is structured, introducing common types of cancers, hallmarks, development process etc. I have learned a lot! The only thing I wish for the class is less technical or more time in explaining terminology etc.

By Dario M

Apr 22, 2019

really nice. every doctor should talk slowly as mr Pienza does because some of us are foreigners and it would be easier for us to understand.

By Prakhar S

Apr 18, 2019

Nice course content, with full detailed course knowledge and good graded assignments.

By DEREJE E M

Apr 12, 2019

thank you very much stay blessed