Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
9,608 ratings

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

RH

Sep 16, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

IV

Jul 24, 2021

Amazing how much I learned watching videos with all the exact words. Not only about nutrition, but about our planet and how to take care of it. Also very inspiring for having ideas for foods for kids.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,839 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Noelia P

Nov 15, 2017

I LOVED THIS COURSE!!! Professor Adam was clear, concise, and to the point. This made the course super easy to understand and follow! It's courses like this one that are informative as well as entertaining that help me want to continue my education in nutrition. Thank you so much Maya Adam and Stanford University for making this course so gratifying!!

By Tan S C

Sep 17, 2015

I love this course very very much... i think the lecturer, Maya Adam has done a very good job for making this subject interesting,... I also like the way she explains stuff... she makes it so easy understandable! I hope she will have more course to come.. will defintely enroll again! Please notify me if she has any new upcoming course!! Well done! =)

By Juan G S

Jul 24, 2020

If you're a parent or early childhood educator this a great course to understand children's health and even a great way to learn how to cook basics that are healthy. The course also helps us understand what our environment needs through knowing the nutrition and healthy options of not just children but to even us adults. Highly recommend this class!

By Leslie L

Aug 15, 2016

I was so thankful to do this course a second time for my certificate because it refreshed my memory on the healthy pantry options and since I originally did it I had eliminated processed meats and cans from my grocery list but the refresher helped me to learn ways to create recipes, discover their nutrition facts and present it as for a recipe book

By Thais C F M

Nov 2, 2015

I'm taking this course just out of curiosity and I'm loving it!

There's a lot of information about food, how to understand what you're getting from the markets, how to be healthy in a world full of processed meals... it's pretty interesting! I'm also enjoying all 'cooking demonstrations' videos.

Thanks for all the material and knowledge!

Cheers, Thais

By Adrija R

May 15, 2020

I love cooking and I firmly believe in having a balanced and healthy meal. Through the course of 5 weeks, I have learnt immensely and so much. It has helped me broaden my perspective and know a lot about the food I eat and also tips about preparing meals.

I thank Maya Adams for making this class so enlightening, interesting and easy to understand.

By Linda S

Feb 21, 2019

I really enjoyed this course! My children are grown up now but I still love to cook for them. I see that i followed many of these practices in healthy family eating as they were handed down from my mother. But I have learnt some facts & ideas that will help me in my profession of caring for paediatric clients in their own homes. Thank you so much!

By Paloma P P

Feb 3, 2023

I am a pediatric dentist. Over the years I am hearing more and more.. 2then what can i give my child? " after I talk specially to mothers about the risks of so much sugar, so I was very interested in learning more about nutrition. The course is excellent. I am so excited about all i have leaned and cant wwait to share it and learn more!

Thank you

By Dimitra S

Dec 16, 2020

The course was brilliant! I learned more about nutrition labels and how simple cooking can be! The suggestions of Ms Adam are really great! I would say cooking with children can be bonding and fun! Also loved the different recipes! Would definitely recommend attending this course if you have a family or not and if you already love cooking or not!

By Camila G

Oct 2, 2020

Me a encantado formar parte de esta experiencia.

El curso de Cocina y Nutrición para los más chicos me resultó sencillo, ligero, y a la vez lleno de información valiosa para el día a día.

"No hay excusas para NO alimentarse bien" sería el mensaje que me gustaría enviar a toda esa gente que está empezando a tener consciencia alimentaria. Saludos

By Maria R

Aug 7, 2020

This is a course everyone should take! There are many helpful tips for adults, as well as cooking demonstrations. High quality videos, helpful tips and multiple learning approaches (video, audio, diagrams, animation). The Professor breaks down a lot of ideas simple enough to be understood and gives her own opinion/experiences as examples.

By Elizabeth G

Aug 28, 2015

It is the first time I can hear directly about the importance of 'child nutrition' in every day life setting. I do thank for this introduction, thanks to the Stanford University for this interesting online course. I do hope that there will be more friends of mine in Indonesia that also should pay attention to this great source of learning

By Ericka O

Sep 22, 2022

This Couse helped me realize the foods I been taking in since childhood. Now as a parent I plan to make all the major changes in mine and my childerens lives to substain a healther longer life. I Never realized how farm aniamls effected our envoirment along with factories and more other ways fossil ful is released into our atmosphere!

By Angeles E

Aug 14, 2015

I like how everything was clearly explained; besides, I think the teacher focuses on things (such as having a own garden or cooking one's chicken breast) which are really useful because they are affordable and they are easy to get used to. She doesn't talk about radical targets which are difficult to follow but quite common sense ones.

By Martha T

Feb 13, 2021

I loved this course and it led me to confirm many things which we had as good and in reality I was in error, especially in the food to prepare children, the ability to enter the world of nutrition, the value of food of our children that in the future affect their adulthood. Excellent material and methodology I learned a lot, thank you

By Punam M B

Jun 11, 2020

Hi. I'm a regular student of Coursera. I have successfully completed this course. It was immensely helpful to my knowledge. Would request you to mail me the certificate. Because of lockdown of civic have no source of income so cannot pay full amount. Can you kindly grant me a discount on the certificate. Will be obliged. Thank you.

By Maria P (

Sep 25, 2015

This course helped me to solve some questions i had about nutrition. It also helped me with lots of techniques to include vegetables and healthy food at home. My 9 years old boy tested a cucumber yesterday with salad dressing! i couldn't believe that was possible. It's easy to follow and encouraging. Thank you.

MG. from Venezuela.

By Carolina M C

May 21, 2022

Me pareció un curso realmente completo con la problemática de la cocina actual, las explicaciones fueron muy gráficas y bien expresadas para un buen entendimiento de los temas. Poder contar con la traducción de los videos fué de gran ayuda para completar el curso correctamente. ¡Muchas gracias por ofrecer el curso gratuitamete!

By Christopher D

Jul 11, 2016

So informative, cute, and easy to follow!

For scholars and parents, this course is so varied and helpful for anyone along any step to gaining the knowledge necessary to contribute to the fight against Big Food companies. The knowledge against these corporations is so ahead that it is almost like watching Food Inc. or Cowspiracy.

By Nikos K

Mar 19, 2021

Really nice course, easily given, with lots of information that will help you with child nutrition and with many cooking demonstrations. Mrs. Maya Adam is amazing and it's always an added bonus to have her teaching a class you take. The feedback on the quizzes is like an extra reading material for the week (in correct answers).

By Rasa V

Jan 1, 2021

The course involved me so I watched it from the beginning to the end. It gave practical skills how to cook both healthy and tasty, manage a well- balanced diet, act so that a kid would be more likely to try new tastes, make choices on sustainable and organic food. Thank you for the guidance thorough child nutrition and cooking!

By Jennifer D

Apr 3, 2017

Loved the course. Very professional, instructor was very warm and explained complex topics simply. Very nice combination of videos, demos, and lecture. My only comment is that the quizzes do not align perfectly with the lesson. There are numerous examples of being quizzed on something that isn't taught until the next lesson.

By Paula G A

May 9, 2020

El curso es muy importante de principio a fin, estoy aplicando estos conocimientos en mi vida cotidiana, para la alimentación de mi familia incluso cultive mi Bio huerto en maceteros. Lo recomiendo porque es necesario tomar decisiones responsable sobre nuestra alimentación de ello depende nuestra salud y la de nuestra familia.

By Natalia M

Apr 22, 2019

My first course on Coursera and I am so glad I've taken it here. Great instructor, very clear instructions and lots of new information+ of course, my favorite, new recipes and cooking videos. I have already learned so much and even my husband noticed that I started cooking healthier. I definitely recommend taking this course!

By Benjamin L

Nov 11, 2017

I really enjoyed the class. As an adult (who feels like a kid at times), learning about these practices of thinking about nutrition and the environment are wonderful in helping not just children but also parents to improve their intake of healthier food choices that will lead to more enjoyable meals that are also super simple.