Chevron Left
Back to Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
4,163 ratings

About the Course

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

Top reviews

GP

Aug 12, 2020

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

AT

Jun 9, 2020

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,359 Reviews for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

By Wade M

Jun 8, 2020

Felt like we were largely just learning strategies to manipulate people into doing what we want.

By Swamini G

Jun 7, 2021

This course is an absolute must for professionals who are working remotely in the virtual era! Though I am a communications professional, I still learnt a lot of new techniques and gained knowledge from these sessions. The instructor is fantastic, his delivery is perfect and he is so engaging, it does not feel like he is not physically in the room. Kudos to his teaching style. The program is well structured and easy to understand. I was so hooked, I could not wait to get to the next weeks sessions. Highly recommended for non-communications as well as comms professionals to re-skill themselves. Yes those pop-up quizes can be a tad irritating, but its not a show-stopper. I loved every minute of learning in this course.

By Michal M

Aug 7, 2020

The title of this course is not so catchy *my first impression was that this will be about using Slack/MS-Teams/Discord...*; but fortunately after reading the syllabus I've gave it a shot - and WOW! it is so good, that I'd make it mandatory for literally everybody who 'Talks to other people' - yes, you are reading it right. What is mentioned here applies to all types of communication forms: including offline-person2person & virtual-presentations/meetings/... as well.

10/10 Quality Course!

By Shibli A K

Jun 1, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken online particularly because of the skills of the instructor. However at times, the structure and content are not in harmony with the title of the course. For example, the title suggest online (virtual) communication, but the last section focuses on traditional presentation.

An excellent course nevertheless.

By SUNY L J A

May 5, 2020

Lovely!! The speaking pace, the dynamics of the topics and the importance of topics have really left a mark in me. When I alternated to a different course and the material was way more dense, it was hard for me to keep the pace, as I´m already used to the rhythm of this course and its lessons.

By Md. S A

Apr 11, 2020

The course is precise and to the point. Ivan is a great instructor, whose style of teaching in this course may even positively influence your own dialogue delivery. By the end of this course, you will have the tools/weapons to master communication both virtually and in reality.

By Abiral R B C

Jul 10, 2020

Fantastic & terrific course. I very much enjoyed this course.

I highly recommend this course. The time spent in this course will be worth your investment.

Happy learning!

Thank you and respect to instructor Ivan for creating such a wonderful course.

By G10 O L

Oct 9, 2021

Well-explained strategies and interactive lessons! Gained new insights and knowledge about the different kinds of communicators, how to deal with the specific communicators and strategies on how to make a good and lasting impression.

By Md A H

Apr 15, 2020

The Journey was amazing i was never thought about that things that i have learned would beneficial. i truly must say if anyone wants to learn something must start with this.

By Tom T

Apr 20, 2020

This is the best presentation course I took, and it provides a comprehensive set of useful tips how to doing Ace in presentation at a business setting. Love it!

By Suseela D

May 12, 2020

An interesting and fun ride to the road of effective communication...…..all cheers !

By Singh S

Jul 11, 2021

I wish I could have rated it 5 out of 5. But I want improvement in a few cases, to the likes of peer assignments and review of peer assignments. Coursera should conduct a TEST, where 60-70 % of questions can be of objective type while 30% should be subjective, needing detailed writing covering all the topics. Why is this way necessary?

Because many learners don't get a certificate as they are unable to find someone to review their assignments. Not all enrolled students are serious or complete the course and very few of them submit the assignments. So peer review is a big problem. Sometimes you review their work and keep requesting them but they don't offer any help. So Coursera should think about this.

By Hassan S

May 6, 2020

It was a great course and I enjoyed it. Here are a two suggestions for improvement. First, the final assignment should be designed as a webinar or online meeting because most virtual communications are in this format. Most people don't stand and present with 'belly button rule' when they are communicating online. They are on their desk and sharing screens. Second, there should be less video footage of the speaker and more practice assignments for each module instead of simple MCQ quizzes.

By Lee A

May 11, 2021

This course was very beneficial and had very effective techniques that enhance communication in virtual environments. It has a more complicated final assignment than most Coursera homework. It definitely required more time to complete, but I think it was worthwhile and beneficial.

By Mustafa M

Jun 2, 2020

too long and the peer is very hard , i don't know why would i have to make such peer in order to get my certificate , however i finished the course , i will not mke the peer . Certificate can remain .. :)

By Dharmesh R

Aug 20, 2020

It was very well explained, presented. A great work done by Ivan. The way he used smile, aha moment, topics presented into small videos , explaining each topic/goal was excellent.

By Sanal H V

Aug 30, 2020

Assignment ratings are very subjective. Like other courses on Coursera, in this course too, the peer reviews should have been among at-least three members

By Juan C G G

Mar 20, 2023

I would like to express my gratitude to Professor Ivan Wanis for delivering an excellent presentation on Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age in the course offered by the University of Toronto. He did a brilliant job of introducing the topic of how communication has evolved in the digital age and the new rules that apply to speaking and presenting, coordinating meetings, influencing people, negotiating, and selling ideas.

Our professor provided an overview of several key concepts that could each be a course of their own. He effectively demonstrated how the course would equip learners with the tools to practice and perfect communication skills on their own. By the end of the course, learners would be able to apply communication principles and techniques for both in-person and virtual teams, use a science-based approach to create impactful presentations, refine their communication style to better persuade and influence others, run more effective and impactful meetings, and incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to.

I appreciate the expertise and the effort he put into creating a meaningful learning experience. His presentation was clear, engaging, and informative. I am looking forward to applying the knowledge and skills gained from the course in my personal and professional life.

Thank you, Professor Wanis, for your dedication and commitment to delivering an outstanding presentation on Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age.

By Roshni S I

Aug 26, 2020

If you're interesting in learning to communicate well virtually and in person, this course is a must-do. Ivan, who teaches the course, makes sure that the lessons are never dull. There are live examples. There are visual cues and little quizzes (easy to do) to help recall. The lessons teach us stuff that one can start using right away - they're critical to being a successful communicator. They cover different aspects (meetings, presentations, understanding motivations, communication styles and many more topics) and interesting, highly effective strategies for all of these.

I love how Ivan would constantly address issues both in the real world and the virtual world and teach strategies that work for each of these settings. The assignments are well-designed, especially the final assignment which really challenged me and made me look back at and apply everything I'd learnt over the past few weeks. Thank you, Ivan, for a phenomenal learning experience!

By Maria K

Aug 1, 2019

This was an a very useful introductory lesson for learners working in business or educational field about developing core communicational skills in any professional environment.New basic strategies for communication were taught including necessary techniques for attracting audience's attention and curiosity as well as effective methods for organising groupwork and enhancing team members' interaction. The course was delivered in a dynamic and challenging way by an experienced and highly skilfull professor.The communication with professor for solving issues during the course was prompt and helpful while the professor was very suppotive.I would strongly recommend this lesson to anyone desiring to acquire fundamental communication skills in person and virtually in any scientific field!

By Dumebi A

Aug 16, 2020

This is one of the best courses I have had on Coursera. I learnt a lot of communication and presentation skills. If you take this course, you would learn how to deliver mind blowing presentations, how to have effective meetings without time wasting, the best ways to have difficult conversations with different categories of colleagues and a whole lot of other communication strategies. Trust me, it works because I have tried it. The additional materials were also very enlightening.

The course requires learners to upload a youtube video of self. You can check out mine on my youtube channel. The video is titled 'Stop procrastinating, just do it now!'

By Jayzel F R G

Sep 9, 2020

This online course has been helpful to me because I’m fresh graduate and licensed teacher. I’ve been thankful for this, it widen my knowledge. I hope University of Toronto will grant my hope to be one of them because, i’ve been dreaming of working abroad. Anyway, thank you so much especially Mr. Ivan who discussed, explained the topics, i’ve learned so much sir. I hope we get to meet soon to say Thank you to you personally. This online course, this is my new another success in life Thank you for granting it, I hope I can Go there at Canada, soon. Continue to help, expand knowledge University of Toronto. Thank you so much & God bless.

By Heather M

Jan 29, 2023

Stellar course - purposeful, dynamic, and accountable. Regretfully, I overbooked myself and missed assignment deadlines, the amazing LIVE office hours, and other student exchanges. Yet I have completed all tutorials and listened to all the office hour recordings. More importantly, I incorporated in real time, what I learned. Particularly for my brand video work, and presentations.

Ivan was an excellent teacher and a pleasure to "work with" during this thoughtfully constructed virtual production that embodied all he teaches. I am now a fan of his work and marvel how carefully this course was constructed. Great job!

By Jacob N

Mar 12, 2021

I came into this class with very low expectations, both of the subject and what the goals were. But I was very much proven wrong and this is among the most useful classes I have ever taken on Coursera.

This isn't really a class on Communications in the academic sense. I took one of those on Coursera and it was not exactly useful or engaging. This is a class on how to get your point across and get people to do what you want. And it is obvious that the lecturer uses the techniques he is teaching in order to better get them across to others.

I am going to retake this class once I finish, just to refresh the information.

By Amy M

Nov 28, 2022

Ivan is a dynamic speaker. Easy to implement tools to make sure your next email or presentation is no longer boring. His tools are based on real-life experience and his own background in Toastmasters, and well as behavioral psychology.

Examples used in the course, whether they were videos or articles, were effective in illustrating the points he wanted to get across. Structure of the course made sense.

Highly recommend the live office hours, if you have a chance to work it into your busy schedule and attend one.

Thanks Ivan! I will certainly be using the tools I learned in this course in my work and volunteer engagements.