Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,226 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

TS

Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

SW

Jun 21, 2021

This course was more intensive than the first one, but felt a little more hands-on. I am excited to see how the next course goes. I do feel I learned quite a bit in this course and it was challenging.

Filter by:

7476 - 7500 of 9,611 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By RJMW

Nov 12, 2020

This particular course was extremely challenging for me from the the starting line to the finish line. However, I am grateful for every bit and byte (pun intended) of information given to me in this course. I am still looking forward to continuing my journey of completing the Google IT Support Professional Certificate Program.

By Donna S

Jul 31, 2020

This course is full of computer knowledge! There are some videos where I wish things were explained better but I find critical thinking is important in these instances. There are flaws in the testing that make it stressful to take tests. But again patience is a virtue with this course. Take notes and keep moving forward.

By Marcus J B

Feb 19, 2021

This course was somewhat challenging, I understand that there is a lot of information dealing with the bits and bytes of computer networking. Some things I think would help improve this learning course is maybe more plugins showing connections. All in all this course was great though, looking forward to the next one! Thanks

By Rob H

May 19, 2022

Some of the materials, I feel, should have more time dedicated to it. Conversely, there are other portions of the course with plenty of information that could have been bypassed. Perhaps this is just my opinion.

I enjoyed this course very much. I was challeneged beyond expectation

Thank you for the knowledge and experience.

By Paul B I

Jun 6, 2021

this was very difficult for someone who has never dealt with networking outside of setting up a home network. i have learned a lot from this but suggest maybe breaking this up into something a little easier to follow. so much information in such a short amount of time was hard to remember and put to use during the quizzes

By Carlos E

May 29, 2020

It is a very interesting course, it gave me a little light on the internet and computer networks. The truth is a difficult and broad topic and I think I need a little more to reinforce it, that's why I give it 4 stars, because it is a lot of technical information for people who are not supposed to have previous experience.

By Brittany B

Apr 6, 2022

This course is very dense. Watching and rewatching the videos doesn't much help when you aren't grasping something. More plug in activities, term vocab sheets, and flashcards for all of the terms/abbreviations would be so helpful. The data analyst course has these and I think it would add so much to this course as well.

By Rezwanul H T

Apr 15, 2020

Wow !! This was too much stuff. I think this course could be shrink to only few basic detail which is needed as there are lots of stuffs that we might not need to know so much in detail. Or the course can be split into two or more or even a different program. This is too much information. But the overall course was fun

By Esteban C

Aug 6, 2020

It was a very complex set of modules relating to networking and the structures of IP and how the interaction between computers is very broad. Some of the material could be better presented and more thought out. but there's no denying that what is here to digest will come really handy in the career field of IT support.

By Matt G

Jul 20, 2022

The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course is challenging to say the least. If you didn't know how the Internet works before doing this course, then you will definitely get your fair share of culture shock. Computer networks are vastly complicated. This course will definitely prepare your mind for a wild ride.

By Abdulmajid A

Jun 23, 2020

The course was really great and had a lot of important info , but the info should use a more of a practical demonstration, the course is mostly theoretical, and a huge ammount of information being thrown out into you in each video, but the quizes kinda took the right approach putting "some" info into practical use.

By Ilya L

Mar 26, 2018

Everything is great, but the graded quiz system needs to be changed at moment, when its compares answers to correct one. its very SENSITIVE to any mistakes with any letter, like aDDreSS will be correct, and aDreSS is not. Its sensitive even with a DOT at the end like in DNS IP 8.8.4.4. is not correct. And so on....

By Emerson H

Sep 21, 2022

Very good material exposed by dynamic videos and text. You have a chance to test your skills after each step, and sometimes you really put your hands on.

Like most Coursera material they are great and approved with trustable companies in the background for sure is one of my preferred online source what I need.

By Denise P T

Jun 4, 2021

It was first journey for me in studying Computer Networking,

that t was something i was yarning to do. It was a grate course, i struggle a lot but going at it over and over gives prepares me a better understand of Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking . I would like to thank everyone that takes part in lecturing.

By Dean E

Dec 6, 2019

This is an extremely high-level overview of how computers network with one another. Some of the information is really great, and this course is a good setup for a deeper dive into networking. Be warned: Some of the questions in the graded assignments can seem pretty vague. Take your time and think it through.

By KP P (

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting , i like the teacher , i did not give it 5 star , they should have added more animation (demonstration and illustration ) . as most us we were not familiar with some of the topics , it was hard to understand the context, so animation is the best option , we few of them , and i appreciate.

Thanks

By Rebecca G

Mar 3, 2019

It was allot to take in without having a book in my hands. Taking this class was a bit difficult because it's all video's, so I found I learned and retained better not so much by watching the video but by reading along with the script. Overall though it moved really fast for my speed but I enjoyed the content.

By R. S

Jan 12, 2022

The course was extremely useful. I learned more terminology and the ins-and-outs of networking that my brain could handle within the short amount of time.

The course is very rigorous and requires a lot of coffee to get through some of the video. Changing up the course personnel would probably help a little!!!

By Joel C

Aug 21, 2020

I enjoyed most of this course. I did feel like describing the entire TCP Connection process from beginning to end in week 2 was a bit of a big ask, but I understand why it's important. That said, putting that together in pieces or even in a dynamic modeling setting might be more efficient for people to learn.

By Stacey G

Aug 18, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. While I likely won't work in networking, it is interesting how networking works and amazing that some geniuses developed this technology. I will have to refer back to my notes often to refresh the concepts and memorize the acronyms, but I liked the challenge and the material.

By Jessica R P

Sep 4, 2021

Some areas in the courses did not help in taking the tests. Had to do so extensive reading to clarify what was being asked and even reach out to mentors in the industry for direction because some information that the tests were asking were not really explain right in the course. So other then that 4 stars.

By John R B

Jul 5, 2021

The information comes very quickly, for people like myself with little to no background, the concepts can seem a bit too abstract - I would definitely have loved a little more context behind how & why some features function the way they do. Overall great course, I just felt a little behind the whole time.

By Miguel B O

May 15, 2020

It was entertaining, but too much information crammed into videos. It was difficult to do an essay type test since it's all a bit confusing and the examples provided make your head explode. However i do feel I learned a lot. So this is the reason for my 4 stars. I did have fun though and feel accomplished.

By Clayton S

Feb 28, 2018

While the overall course was awesome and highly informative, there were a few spots where I believe the lack of emphasis put on a subject area in the videos did not necessarily reflect that you needed to know it for the quizzes or tests.

Otherwise, I am loving this program and am quite excited to be in it.

By Deidre S I

Mar 4, 2019

The course was very informative but challenging. I definitely could have used a lot more hands on training with this information. The modules should be changed to include more hands on exercises that I could face when working as a technician. Other than that there was lots of good information to learn.