Chevron Left
Back to Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control by Columbia University

4.7
stars
1,789 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces the types of cost estimation from the conceptual design phase through the more detailed design phase of a construction project. In addition, the course highlights the importance of controlling costs and how to monitor project cash flow. Learners will work on a break-even analysis of construction tasks in a project. The course begins with Professor Odeh providing an overview of what will be covered. Next, learners explore the stages of design in a construction project. Professor Odeh then describes the types of cost estimates in a construction project, and the tools and methods used to create estimates. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Acquire the fundamentals of cost estimation and the design phase to perform cost estimation -Learn about cost control and cost control methods, emphasizing the Earned Value Method or EVM -Understand the close out period of the project by exploring the punch lists, final approval, and turnover to the client...

Top reviews

EM

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course but need to improve the videos about building an estimate or make available downloadable content because it is difficult to watch the things that are explained on those videos.

AS

Dec 15, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 351 Reviews for Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

By Anas M H

Jan 27, 2022

I would like if the standard unit of calculation of materials are SI unit rathen than Feet or american units, because it makes confusion for me.

By RUDY J J

Jan 6, 2020

I thought the course was very informative; didn't like the videos that had 5 minutes or more of a guy drawing but the information was heavy.

By MAVIS D

May 23, 2021

I hope the learning materials (slides and excel template) are available for download. Some of the excel in the video is not clear.

By Swaroop G B V

May 27, 2020

The overall course content was good but it was lacking in the real life examples and real usage of the estimating software.

By Sam T

Jan 16, 2019

This course loses a few stars because some of the professors are terrible. There is one who just reads the slides exactly. I could have skipped those videos except there are no handouts unlike the previous courses in this "pack".

Very disappointed in the quality of this class. You could probably find better free classes on all of this stuff. I expect much higher quality for something I am paying for

By Vladimir V C

Dec 26, 2018

It is incredible that the slides are not available to download!

By Zola M

Dec 24, 2022

I recently completed the "Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control" course on Coursera.org, and I am very pleased with the overall quality and content of the course. The lectures were well-organized and easy to follow, and the instructor was very knowledgeable and provided helpful insights and examples.

One of the things I appreciated most about the course was the practical focus on real-world applications. The course covered a range of topics, including cost estimation techniques, cost control strategies, and project budgeting, and I feel that I gained valuable skills and knowledge that I can apply to my work as a civil engineer.

I am grateful to have received financial aid to take this course, as it allowed me to focus on learning and improving my skills without worrying about the financial burden. Overall, I would highly recommend the "Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control" course to anyone looking to learn more about cost management in the construction industry.

By Renata F

May 4, 2017

Este curso apresenta algumas ferramentas para a elaboração de orçamento. Quais itens devem fazer parte do orçamentos, quantas fases temos na elaboração do orçamento, desde do inicial até o detalhado. Apresenta também um pouco sobre a gestão de orçamento nos EUA, que parece ser bem parecido com o que encontramos no Brasil. Para quem tem experiencia na área vale a pena para conhecer a estratégias nos EUA. Para quem não tem experiencia, e não conhece o vocabulário em português terá dificuldade em entender em inglês, porque a tradução "ao pé da letra" não funciona. Eu gostei bastante do curso e indico a quem tem experiência na área que faça.

By Pasan K

Jul 13, 2022

This course provided me the knowledge on cost estimates, pricing, procurement, earned value method and so on. It helped me understand the role of a cost manager in a construction project. It enlightned me with the new trends in the construction industry and how they help to make the work easy to the cost manager and how they can speed up the entire process of the construction. The uses of this is ramified upto the senior management levels since it is essentail for decision making while foreseeing the possible outcome.

The teaching pattern of the lecturers were phenomenal.

By Mustafa S O

Oct 4, 2017

As a Cost Control Engineer I have learned new things and enforced my knowledge, thanks to this class I will have a more systematic approach to cost controlling. The speakers were very good and informative. as a constructive critique the the BIM or 5D class was a little vague for people not acquainted with the software. and although I have learned very useful things in the lean class, it would have been really good if there was an example on operational cost control during the project construction. I would like to thank all of the speakers.

By Donavan G

Nov 7, 2020

The course as a whole was excellent. All the Industry experts in teaching the subjects was also excellent, and the use of examples and illustrations were very good. Some of the questions to be submitted was a bit tricky, but it was worthwhile to review the videos again for better understanding of the topic..The section on "Contract Cash Flow" is very informative and insightful. It will definitely assist me in my career. Thanks for the opportunity to be part of this excellent course.

Donivill Golding

South Africa

By Frantzo P

Dec 2, 2021

This course is also one of the best course i have learned in the Construction Management Specialization, this is very helpful for Engineer or construction professional for estimating project and calculate cost control of a project by using several format for estimating. Thank you to Coursera and the Columbia University for this opportunity. I learned very much about all this 4 course of specialization for this year and I am already ready for new opportunity in my career. Thank a lot.

By Adesoye L

Dec 5, 2022

This course has been very helpful and has boosted my skills in the construction industry given me a broader knowledge of key aspect of the industry and how it applies to the various activities that made construction management what it is. The course has made known to me that more can actually be achieved in the construction industries if proper skills are engaged and attention is paid to details

By Tom M

Jun 30, 2021

Although duration of course seemed long, it was very informative and comprehensive. the instructor were very knowledgeable and systematic in presenting each segment of the course. I just wish the slide presentation on computer software and technology could be enlarge so we can see the details of the software demonstration. Overall , just like the other specialization courses, i love it.

By Gabriel M

Feb 12, 2018

Very informative course which covers the basics and foundations of Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control. The Earned Value Method module was very interesting and useful. In addition, all professors are extremely qualified and experienced. To wrap it up, I recommend this course to anyone interesting in learning the foundations of Cost Control and Cost Estimating.

By Giovanni G

Jun 15, 2020

The course is excellent with some exceptions, I learned several concept and the quiz are interesting because is focuses in detail important, If you are a beginner with some knowledge in this area I recommended the course , the instructors are good but can be better . The information is good , the presentation must be better , very small print in large space.

By Shyaka J

Jun 22, 2020

I'm very grateful to have taken this course, I thank Coursera and the whole team that given me the

lectures through all this course, I do really for energy and your time.

I loved it because, it's flexible you can learn on your own pace and also availability, I hope the knowledge I have acquired will help me to move to another level.

BLESS YOU.

By Luis F R M

Apr 30, 2020

The course was very complete, i learned a lot and i am really satisfied. The amount of knowledge and expertise provided in this course is amazing and i definitively feel prepared to use some of the techniques i have learnt here in my day to day. I dare to say it is even more useful to most clases in most universities. Thank you very much.

By Jeffrey R

Sep 11, 2018

Provided easy-to-follow, in-depth instruction on best-practices and tools used in the Cost-Estimating / Control for commercial construction projects. The guest lecturers bring in great real-world expertise that gives valuable insight into managing error margins and the overall flow of a project. Highly recommend this course.

By Sasikumar S

Aug 10, 2020

Dear Proffessor,

Thanks for your great lesson and the efforts you spent for sharing the knowledge.

With the help of your talent and knowledge enrichment, I am sure many people would get benefit and forward their growth

also, at some point of time I felt, there are heavy volumes, but still good to acquire more.

By Geder M

Oct 6, 2019

Excellent course! Convenient at the right pace. I will highly recommend this course to anyone who will like to enhance their cost estimating and control skills. In addition, anyone interested with the willingness to learn about Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control will benefit from this course.

By Anus M

Mar 10, 2019

Its a perfectly designed course. I learnt how to control cost in construction industry. Effective ways of cost control and latest technology which are used for effective cost control. Recommend to join this course. Keep Learning. Thanks to Coursera and all the respective professors.

By ajay k

Dec 27, 2018

This course enable you to have better undertaking of cost estimation methods, factor influencing the cost estimation, cost control and representation method on graphs. I suggest this course for all civil engineers who are either working with general contractors or with developers.

By ANA L E J

May 24, 2019

Buen curso, me gustaría recibir retroalimentaciòn o hacer preguntas a los profesores, que tuviera material para descargar y mas tareas, tambièn que profundice mas en algunos temas, pero en general es un excelente curso que me ha hecho decidir a tomar educaciòn formal en el tema.

By R.Surya N

Jun 27, 2022

Nice course with only theory oriented conceptual data and could find only a problem solving method which is worth in practical site. Thanks for the wonderful lecture by all the members of the team to update the knowldge in the short term of the period by coursera mode.