Chevron Left
Back to The Strategy of Content Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Strategy of Content Marketing by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
3,945 ratings

About the Course

This course is a partnership between the leading content marketing authority, Copyblogger, and UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education. In this course, you will learn the core strategies content marketers use to acquire and retain customers profitably. Specifically, you will learn how to develop, organize and implement a content marketing strategy, analyze and measure the effectiveness of content marketing, write compelling copy, use a strategic framework when writing, and build your professional brand and authority through content marketing. You will also learn how to put the ideas presented to you into action and build your own personal brand through content marketing....

Top reviews

ID

Dec 13, 2020

I'd like to recommend this course as it was instrumental in providing for me the necessary push to shift industries. The course content was well thought-of, clear, easy to absorb and very interesting.

SM

May 27, 2020

For those who want to start your content marketing journey, you may want to take this course. It focuses on touch base points but also goes into further details on what you need as a content marketer.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,282 Reviews for The Strategy of Content Marketing

By Raichel O

Jun 21, 2020

The course content was very informative. I found most of the sessions helpful and Sonia Simone very engaging to listen to. I did feel the readings were quite a lot given the time we had and wish there were more visually appealing snapshots of the 40+ pages of content we could keep at the end of it summarizing each article. There is just so much to pore over! But I appreciate the information shared and level of depth. I do have one grievance. Your peer-review assignments don't work for serious learners because a lot of them are in here just for a free certification and have no clue as to what they are grading. Some of the submissions I have read were pathetic and lacking the most basic level of understanding. Please involve a moderator for your wonderful courses - someone who can fish out these folks as they are just wasting the time of those who need to get their work reviewed fairly.

By Nicholas S

May 12, 2020

This course certainly helped me to gain insights on Content Marketing, with the different strategy - from market research, crafting a "wow" headline, understanding your audience, to the type of content and how you are going to manage these contents.

The assignments were great to not only test my understanding of the lesson, but also created a platform to try-fail-learn and got valuable feedback from other students. *Prepare yourself for some heavy content to read and absorb!

Now, it is really the time to put these theories into practicality.

Before I sign off, I would like to extend my invitation to you, yes you who is reading this, to connect with me on social media, and expand our network! Click on the links below now!

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/nicholasseow

instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicholas.seow

Thank you all!

Nicholas Seow

By Renee M

May 15, 2020

As someone who is a beginner content marketer, I found this course very helpful. However, there are a few things I would change:

-Use video lessons and transcripts only. I found the podcast lessons hard to follow at times because the hosts would share unimportant anecdotes or it would become an ad for Copyblogger or Rainmaker Media.

-Include a sample assignment for each peer-review assignment given. I think providing an example of what is expected would clear up any misunderstandings about the assignment and make it easier for people to grade their peers' work.

-Integrate more of the learnings from the readings in the quizzes. I found that most quizzes only tested you on the podcast or video lessons. This then made it feel like most of the readings were pointless (especially for week 4), even though they had the most information.

By Megan R

Jun 12, 2020

This was a very good introductory class for understanding content marketing and how to be successful at it. I actually learned quite a bit and believe it will help me as I develop a new business. I appreciated Simone's professional, warm and enthusiastic approach. The written materials are excellent and will be invaluable for future reference. I think that having someone from the university or business do the reviewing and grading of assignments would be useful; I didn't think the feedback I received from course students was particularly helpful. I also wonder about such a strong focus on Copyblogger; while they are clearly skilled and successful, and I appreciated their information and insights, I would have appreciated hearing from a greater variety of individuals on the podcasts. Overall, I highly recommend this course.

By Anna G d C T

May 5, 2020

The course is very good, the content of the videos and podcasts are interesting. The reading materials are a bit repetitive and not always related to the topics discussed in the week, but they still have value. The only reason it is not a 5-star course is the evaluation system. The whole evaluation is made by peer-review, which would be great if all the students were really involved in making a great course out of this, but sadly many are here only for the certificate, and they do not care to make good work nor a good review. I invested time and effort to make a good piece in week 4 and received a review that was literally "a" just to fulfill the mandatory comments. It was very frustrating and made this course lose a lot of its power.

By Gee I C

Dec 26, 2020

I learned a great deal from this course. You get a lot of useful and practical information. As a former journalist, I was most interested in the material on copywriting, as well as all the stuff on how content interacts with the technology. I would have given this course five stars but I think the peer-review system is its biggest weakness. It seems to me that some of the reviewers have not studied and absorbed all the course materials. Others review your submissions in the most superficial way. You have situations where one reviewer will give you maximum marks for a submission, and a second will award the lowest possible for the same piece of work! This doesn't give you a lot of faith in the scoring system.

By Aisha A

Dec 8, 2020

The course was an incredible way for me to enhance my knowledge of marketing. I really enjoyed the different methods of learning; reading, listening to podcasts, completing assignments...etc. One thing I would've liked to see more of, is offering more real-world examples of how to apply what we've learned. At some points, certain aspects felt like we were just being told to do this or don't do that and I felt like some examples would've really solidified the concepts and helped us apply them in the real world.

Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in content marketing and copywriting or would just like to learn about something new!

By Oleg K

Feb 23, 2021

Firstly, I would like to thank the course authors for their colossal work and sharing it for free here at Coursera! The course is indeed insightful and useful. Although it is already 5 years old, the information within the course is mostly up-to-date (especially if we are talking about theoretical basis such as 7A Framework, writing headlines or exploring your buyer’s persona). The only thing I missed was not enough examples of good and bad content marketing from different B2C and B2B businesses. The course authors mostly showcase pieces of content from copyblogger.com to illustrate their key points. But all in all the course is worth your time and attention.

By Chan Y Z

May 24, 2020

I take this course not because of business but for non-profit purpose. I think most of the content can be applied in other fields as well. This course is very helpful. The deadline for submission is good as I have more motivation to finish every lesson on time. The assignments are challenging as well, I learn and understand better through the assignments. But, I hope there are subtitles for podcast learning, it's a bit difficult for me to catch some of the info in the podcast. And, the peer review should be done by a professional tutor instead of classmates as the mark/score can be given by begging other people? Thank you.

By Ruxandra W

Oct 27, 2020

The course is quite complex. One of the best I've taken on the subject. They give a lot of real-life examples, especially in the podcast sessions. They also include a lot of extra reading material which helps clarify some of the points that couldn't be tackled in the video or audio courses.

If I were to suggest an improvement, that would be better explanations of peer-graded assignments. Or more simplified peer-graded assignments. I had trouble receiving accurate evaluations of my submissions. My guess is that many course takers didn't understand what was required of them.

A valuable experience overall.

By Kaelynne M

Jul 6, 2020

I enjoyed this class and felt that it was a very helpful and useful course. My only suggestion for improvement: update some of the pdfs and include more up to date information. It is obvious that most of the content written for the pdfs was written around 2010 (mentions of Google+ and Tumbler) and there is no mention of newer social media platforms like Instagram. It makes the content feel dated. I'd also recommend someone go through and edit the documents as there were numerous spelling mistakes, not a great look for a course focused on writing. Other than that, great course! I loved taking it.

By Cheryl M

Jul 27, 2020

Great course with easy written techniques and content. It's a combination of videos, podcasts, assignment and written text all-in-one. Only downside for me were the actual assignments. It would have been nice if they had given some examples of what was expected of the students and improve the assessment process. Instead of them connecting you to other students to review, you have to ask for others to do this via their forum. I did not enjoy that part at all. Thank you for this course! I would still recommend it if you want to know more about content marketing on a more beginner level.

By Beth L

Jun 13, 2017

There was a great deal of edu material provided in this course via several different methods - video lectures, podcasts, eBooks, etc. I prefer visual over audio content, so there were too many podcasts and not enough videos for my learning style. I see some value in peer graded assignments, but would have preferred to have my work reviewed by the professor, or an expert in the field. Some of the peer reviews were very thoughtful and helpful, but others didn't even make sense in the context of the rubric for the assignment. Overall, the course was engaging and well worth the cost!

By Martyna G

May 11, 2020

The course material is really interesting and I liked the content a lot! However, I think that written assignments shouldn't be reviewed by other classmates. Some of the people in my class didn't do half of the required bullet points in their work but still got marked well by someone who asked them to do the same in return. This helps people who have no idea about whole content of the course or didn't even learn anything get the certificate... on the other hand those who worked hard to get good grades can be marked badly just because some of the classmates may have a bad day :D

By Ria M

Oct 8, 2017

The course was very informative and taught me how to think about content, and more importantly, the audience who will finally consume it. The resources (books) werein-depth and extremely good. I am extremely happy with course.

The only problem I faced was in Module 3 and 4. I felt the technical terms were a little overwhelming and difficult to follow along since this course is an introductory course and is targeted at content marketers who are starting off. So a visual presentation of the podcast points would have helped me visualize the ideas better.

By Mandy S

Apr 19, 2020

Very informative, perfect for beginner and advanced learners. The course includes many materials like ebooks, videos and podcasts. Unfortunately, they uploaded informative videos/presentations only in the first two weeks. After that, you must hear many podcasts and some of them are not really useful. They are only advertisement for Copyblogger or don't explain the core problems and solutions for them. On the other hand you have many quizzes and practical homeworks to train the theoretical stuff. All in all, I am satisfied with the course.

By Pallavi C

May 10, 2020

This course should be compulsory for every advertising professional. It exceeded my expectations and I have learned so much.

From personal branding to walking in the shoes of the prospective customer and how; this course has offered application-based knowledge through detailed frameworks of understanding the audience, and comprehensive writing techniques.

Thank you, Sonia Simone, Brian Clarke, the Copyblogger, and Rainmaker Team for compiling such a comprehensive and relevant course.

I can't wait to apply these techniques in real-time!

By Saurabh S

May 8, 2020

A great course to learn content marketing. Really good for those who have some idea of Content marketing or are already into it. I really learnt the right approach towards content development. Hope this will help me in claiming part time job along with my current job. I wish theories were discussed more clearly. Podcasts were enlightening but theoretical aspects could have been touched more like related with Attraction, Affinity, Action and Authority. In all a great course

My best wishes to the team. Thanks a lot.

By Suvajanee A

May 20, 2020

This course is amazingly full of great content which is really practical. I learn a lot of copy blogging and how to make your blog more interesting and fascinating to your audience. The only reason I give this course 4 stars is that some of the classmates do not really grad the work according to the work you submitted. Eg. the grading rubric asks whether the work includes a picture of user persona or not (which I did), that person gives 0 point which means I did not include any photo.

By Aaron J

Aug 6, 2020

Overall really great content that personal branding and how to think like a marketer. Plus, some great additional resources that I will review later.

However, towards the end there were too many lessons hidden away as audio files which are less accessible and out-of-the-way, and misleading in terms of the actual times required to complete the course. If they took their own advice of turning those into video content, that would turn this into a 5-star course for me!

By Anh V L N

Jul 27, 2020

The course offers a wide range of materials related to content marketing. It also provides several insights into the practical aspect of content marketing, such as copywriting, SEO, and particularly blogging development. However, the course offers inadequate information related to the know-how of writing, when it provides lots of bullet points but little instruction. Overall, it is a decent introductory course for anyone who interested in content marketing

By Lakhwinder S S

May 22, 2020

I've benefited a lot by pursuing this course. I really learned a lot of things. From the beginning, I learn about the various stages of 7A framework, empathy map, experience map, four types of strategic content, copyright, professionalism and at last monitoring, reporting and prediction. I really learned a lot, as well as I, enjoyed the content and resources in this course. I want to say thank you to Coursera, University of California and Sonia Simone.

By MD R I

May 13, 2020

I had a pretty good experience throughout the course, knew a lot of materials that I didn't know before about Content Marketing as I'm a Science student.

In some parts, it looked lengthy and the large reading materials wouldn't help much. Some lectures looked incomplete as the Instructor said to take over a person but nothing happens, the video cuts off.

Overall the basics were a plus point. Would recommend anyone who's interested in Content Marketing.

By Allison B

Aug 2, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It teaches you so much about content marketing and so many great ways to be successful at it. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I really didn't like how very important lessons were taught via podcast. It's very difficult to concentrate on and I would have loved to see visuals of what they were talking about, especially since they were very visual elements. Overall a great course and I am very happy I took it.

By Hamis E

Jul 4, 2020

This course is highly effective when it comes to copywriting. From headlines to call-to-action, every part is explained properly and in great detail. However, one problem that I saw was the content being a bit out-of-date, like the text on usage of Google+ which is long gone. for the rest, this course is bound to polish your copywriting skills and improve your ability to convey a message in general as you become better with wordplay.