Chevron Left
Back to Creative Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Problem Solving by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
2,008 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course deals directly with your ability for creativity which is a critical skill in any field. It focuses on divergent thinking, the ability to develop multiple ideas and concepts to solve problems. Through a series of creativity building exercises, short lectures, and readings, learners develop both an understanding of creativity and increase their own ability. This course will help you understand the role of creativity and innovation in your own work and in other disciplines. It will challenge you to move outside of your existing comfort zone and to recognize the value of that exploration. This course will help you understand the importance of diverse ideas, and to convey that understanding to others. The principal learning activity in the course is a series of "differents" where you are challenged to identify and change your own cultural, habitual, and normal patterns of behavior. Beginning with a prompt, e.g. "eat something different", you will begin to recognize your own = limits and to overcome them. In addition, you are encouraged to understand that creativity is based on societal norms, and that by it's nature, it will differ from and be discouraged by society. In this course, the persistence of the creative person is developed through practice. At the same time, these exercises are constrained by concerns of safety, legality, and economics, which are addressed in their creative process....

Top reviews

EN
Jan 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative and easy to follow. The videos were clear and the graded sections were great. The course as a whole was enjoyable and would recommend to others.

AF
Mar 1, 2016

SO INTERESTING AND FUN. Have you ever took a stranger'S secret and propose another stranger to take that secret in exchange of one of his? This course is an opportunity to do crazy stuff like that!

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 623 Reviews for Creative Problem Solving

By Udhyan S

Jul 9, 2020

Great course to learn from!

By Rajesh K G

Jul 26, 2020

It really was awsome..

By Sugumar S

Jul 25, 2020

I have best experience

By Keerthi

Dec 2, 2020

It's so much useful

By Mario M P

Jun 8, 2020

good course to do

By abhishek d

Jun 13, 2020

It's crazy Dude!

By Mhmad E

May 30, 2021

i​t is great !

By Nisha W J

Jul 1, 2020

It was good

By Mrunal D P

May 3, 2020

Interesting

By Mukul W

Jun 27, 2020

Good one!

By Deepak B

Jul 25, 2020

Good one

By Mamta S

May 9, 2020

Great!!!

By Shubham M

May 17, 2020

IMPROVE

By Nisha A

Jul 5, 2020

Gooodd

By Bruno M P S C

Jun 30, 2021

buena

By arepallynikhitkumar a

Nov 24, 2020

good

By Mariam O A

Sep 18, 2020

Nice

By Khondokar A S

Jul 3, 2020

good

By Koustav M

Jun 9, 2020

Good

By Sanjay K

May 21, 2020

good

By Lauren H

Apr 12, 2021

Overall, I enjoyed this course. I found the readings to be very insightful along with the supplementary materials (there was a stellar Ted Talk) but some of the videos fell a bit short for me along with some of the activities. I enjoyed the thought and meaning behind the DSD challenges but some of the instructions and encouragement to complete these activities/challenges in public felt odd to me and read more like a sociology 101 course. In the same vein, I think the rolling admittance of an online course like this does not lend itself well to group feedback/discussion time. I didn’t see many people interacting in the discussion sections or providing meaningful feedback so that part felt a bit futile. However, again the ideas behind these DSD challenges were great and I appreciated trying to think of new things to do and ways to be more creative in my own life, changing my habits, etc. I picked up some good tips and tricks in terms of mind mapping and attribute listing which I will definitely use to help me problem solve in the future. So overall, I enjoyed the course and learned new things but it ultimately felt very surface level (which could be very fair considering this was a beginner course) but I wished there had been more personal activities that focused on building and growing my own creativity.

By Myca R

Jun 9, 2020

The first week of the course introduces you to the wonders of being a creative person. The Do Something Different are practical applications of creativity which is fine however most of the lessons taught in the four modules are very limited. In example, the lessons were for generating solutions as it meanwhile what the DSD what most likely about being "random and as a contrarian." New and updated researchers on creativity would have been generously appreciated, and such as mentor and student interaction in the discussion forums for any inquiry that they may have.

The tone of the speaker had also a huge impact on trying to be creative. Rehearsed lines and a more friendly atmosphere would have improved the atmosphere. The DSD's are quite challenging but not applicable as of this time. There could have been other ways of generating ideas instead of the DSD's where students are required to upload pictures of them that might be used against them later by attackers to harm their reputation. Further review and consideration about this must be checked upon.

If you have a lot of free time, you are free to check this course out for yourself. You might as well learn something fairly new.

By REXON H

Jun 30, 2020

This course really has valuable contents but the way lectures been delivered, to me is quite dull / uninteresting. There are lots of useful methods / techniques about creativity but I was really expecting examples or real-life applications or problems where creativity is indeed applied as what the course title says. Though some assignments really brought out some creativity in me. This course is still recommended for beginners. But you might want to check "Creative Thinking: Techniques and Tools for Success" from Imperial College to see which one you would want to take first.

By Ivana J

Jul 6, 2020

I like the course encourage us to be more creative in real life, be brave in doing something that we have never done it before. However, it haven't provided a clear relevancy how doing these "creative" things enable us to solve real problem. Would be great if there are any example/ real cases that emphasize more on problem solving instead of creativity alone.

By Aija P

Aug 26, 2019

E-learnings did not provide me with skills missing, and I was suprised that tasks given are not created by teachers, but part of some projects that were done by some people a way back. It made it all seem slightly useless. I would suggest to make students to more relavant tasks and maybe event tasks together.