Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,527 ratings
6,698 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 6,553 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Jessica M

Nov 5, 2018

This was a very informative course and a good start to the Specialization. The course project I found to be very challenging, only because I am not familiar at all with Git and it took me a long while to figure out the right commands to perform tasks.

By Felicia S

Apr 6, 2020

Some people might say that it has lots of theory, but I find that the theory is delivered in a way as succinct and impactful as possible within the short video time. Do read the written material to understand the intricacies of the in-material jokes!

By Dev P

Oct 25, 2019

Great introduction into the world of R! I have been completing this alongside the R Programming course and found the two go well together. Interesting to learn about version control and utilising Github, which I am sure will be valuable in the future

By Meihan L

May 16, 2018

4.5/5. For a total beginner of data science, sometimes the lecture is hard to follow so I have to resort to several youtubes videos to complete the project. But the lecture is informative and well-structures, and the forum is very helpful. Thank you!

By Juliana C

Oct 5, 2017

This first course of the specialization is extremely important for people like me who do not know nothing about programming, coding, computer data, etc.

When I completed the course, I was more confident to continue with my idea to start a new career.

By Yash S

Jun 3, 2018

Really intimidating, but very attractive introduction of what lies ahead by portraying a true picture of what you would be involved with as a data scientist in future. Looking forward to the courses ahead in the specialisation. Thanks you so much!!

By Sreenivasreddy R

May 28, 2018

The course is very structured, simple and to the point. We get a very good introduction to all the tools that are used by the data scientist. This module is like a MAP of all the tools that we are going to learn & master to become a data scientist.

By Lakshmi

Oct 17, 2016

It was an interactive session. The introduction to the tools and the examples related to various models were relatable. I am glad to have joined this course. The peer graded assignment is a good option to learn different methods in problem solving.

By ABHISHEK K S

Dec 2, 2018

The course is very good for the begineers I didn't have much knowledge about Data Science but this course gave me some of the basic ideas behind data science which is really helpful .Take this course before enrolling into any data science courses.

By Sumanta K P

Aug 22, 2017

I got an overall idea that what I need to do before jumping into the bigger topics or even starting the real data science course. This is truely very important because people who don't have any idea about this topic needs to get an overview first.

By Abhijeet M

May 21, 2020

Although the course structure is well designed, I would request the course designers to reduce the pace of the robot voice as she speaks very fast and an Indian I was struggling very hard to cope up with the speed. Please this is a humble request

By Melody K S

Jan 20, 2018

I am not sure how to assess, I'm advanced in many cases and gaps in others. GIT is making me crazy b/c I can't see it but logic and flow of hub makes perfect sense due to extensive SAS/STATA coding experience and stats background overall pleased.

By Daniel S

Jan 30, 2017

Great and very informative ! I strongly advice to anyone who wants to start learning how to manage a data and be involve in data science field. This is an absolute course to become familiar with the essential software and technique to get start!

By Nirav D

Apr 2, 2016

This is the first course in the Data Science Specialization series by Johns Hopkins University taught on Coursera. It introduces all the tools necessary for subsequent courses on data science and gives a driving motivation for the specialization.

By Carolina S

Oct 8, 2020

This course is the right choice for those who want to get solid foundations of R and version control. I definitely recommend it!

The materials provided are of very good quality and they come in different formats: audio and written, with pictures.

By SURJEET K S

Oct 17, 2018

This is the first course in my last few online courses of R where I learnt how to initiate Git and Github and do things in a very formal sequential manner. Very good for people who are not too technical in nature. Simple and easy to understand.

By Ana D

Jun 30, 2017

Nice course, very complete, although being new to it I would have loved a longer lecture on thisas well as a practic examn or something similar with the objective of developing this skills sufficiently for future courses fron the specialization.

By Syed M A T

Jun 28, 2018

I have tried to learn a couple of times but due to busy work schedule i always left in the middle of a course or tutorial. However this course due to its interactive nature kept my attention. Finally i completed my first course in Data Science.

By Pradeep p

Nov 10, 2016

Course Structure is good. I could able to gain the basic knowledge & ideas about tools & questions Data Analysts work with, then could also get practical understanding about the sharing & version control tools.Looking Forward for other Courses.

By Jeff L J D

Oct 3, 2020

Thank you very much for this course, this course helps me to have a good understanding on how a data scientist works and what are the different tools needed to work and collaborate with a different professional to work with a specific dataset.

By Abbid A

Jun 28, 2020

Guides students through the basic tools all data scientists need and sets them up to both learn and apply them. A very good introduction that not only covers the theory behind data science but also shows how it can be used in the modern world.

By Dostonbek K

Nov 3, 2020

So far, although I am studying computer science, I was too far from the nowadays-popular concepts Big Data, data-analysis (what I am very interested in) and This course covered and gave me the motivation to keep on studying the specialization

By RASMI

May 31, 2020

I really loved the quality of the content being provided. I appreciate the fact that the courses have been designed for being beginner friendly, but at the same time it ensures that the student gets to know about all the relevant content too.

By Dr. S M A T

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent Course designed to learn insights relating data science using R software. basic Coding and analytics basics are taught in this course. Moreover learning relating how a data scientist can collaborate on GitHub is an added advantage.

By James M

Feb 17, 2021

Very basic, but I guess that is what is what is meant to be. Not sure I really liked the computerized voice over slide aspect. I get the point of how that is more efficient, but it certainly takes something away from the lecture experience.