Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,510 ratings
6,697 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 6,552 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Mark M

Jul 1, 2018

Provides a good overview of what will be learned in the Data Science specialization. Good introduction to the software tools required and how to set them up correctly.

By Luis A V C

Mar 10, 2016

Basic tools for shareing and develop that right now I don´t consider usefull. In the other hand, the content is well explained so right now I new how to use new tools.

By Bhargava P

Jun 23, 2017

I think it did give a bit of an overview but I expected a little more stuff on actual Data Science and not on how the course actually works...

But good start.

Thank you

By Donovan W

Mar 17, 2018

Good for getting started, installing the necessary software. Wish github commands and markdown were explained a bit more, but that is likely done in a later course.

By Kristin A

Jun 8, 2017

A nice survey that you can complete over a weekend if you do it in a concentrated dose. It really is just an introduction, though, and it only scratches the surface.

By Calvin B

Oct 15, 2016

Started out a bit slow with material that I felt was somewhat extraneous, but then got to the good part (hard part?) of installing R and getting it working with GIT.

By Lisa P

Feb 6, 2016

This course is good if you have zero background in R and using GitHub. It'll walk you through installing what's necessary and give you basic tips on how to use them.

By Saptarshi M

Jun 12, 2020

i am little weak at understanding things when taught for the first time. so understanding and learning about toolbox was little difficult due to the computer voice

By Dr A M

May 15, 2020

It was fine, very technical in detail, but it was useful to learn about Rmarkdown.

I guess it is training from professionals how need linking to github and the like.

By Catherine K

Feb 27, 2020

Very basic course to just install required tools, so if you're familiar with github and terminal, there's no much sense in it, and you can finish it in couple hours

By Pratyush D

Apr 3, 2019

Gentle introduction to the basics. Delivered on the premise of the course. I would have appreciated more examples and practice questions to drive home the concepts.

By Daniel P

Jun 21, 2018

Great course however it was not what I was looking for. I am interested in the business management area of data science. This course seems geared towards academics.

By Raymond P

Nov 21, 2017

Short course that provides the foundation for the rest of the specialization. Helpful even for students who already have some experience with R and/or data science.

By Abhay S

May 22, 2020

The course is well written but the videos are quite monotonous. Assignments are really well. Overall a good experience. Moving towards the next course. Thank you.

By Patricia Z

Mar 11, 2018

Good introduction course! Really comprehensive -- which is really great, but parts of it can be too advanced so there are times when it's kind of hard to catch up!

By Erin R

Feb 23, 2017

The lessons were very informative and well organized. I only wish the audio were louder for some of the videos from Jeff Leek. Other than that, excellent course.

By Aldo F P

Oct 11, 2020

Objectives are realistic and achieved at the end of the course. The time table could be improved, 4 weeks for completing the class seems too much. Maybe 2 weeks?

By Shalini R

Aug 1, 2020

The topic covered in "Data Science toolbox" section covers the basics of data science, Installation of R. RStudio and Git.

It is nicely done and easy to follow.

By Chris S

Dec 19, 2018

I had prior limited knowledge of R and 'old' use of Git/Hub but this course offered a fast-track to refresh those skills in preparation for subsequent R courses.

By Allister G A

Feb 6, 2016

The course was very helpful and instructions were concise and easy to understand. Great for those fumbling around to scour the net for which tools to start with.

By Mohammed A E

Aug 16, 2017

A very good introductory course, However it requires a lot of personal research and reading to master the area, I believe more video excercises would be useful.

By chiuyuwen

Jan 16, 2021

That's great class. The way it explained is very clear. However the class is a bit basic for me. I was expected to learn syntax of R ect., but still a goo one!

By Moshiqur R

Jul 25, 2020

I was very excited about this course, learned a lot. But, it became boring in the middle. Although, it was good considering the reading materials to back me up

By Wutikorn R

May 20, 2020

It's a little bit boring, since you have to study a lot of toolbox without seeing them in actions for a few days. Best to watch at faster speed x1.25 at least