Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,406 ratings
6,678 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

4726 - 4750 of 6,534 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Melinda M

Jan 24, 2016

Useful couple of modules for helping you get set up with R and Git/GitHub. Really doesn't require a full month to do.

The quizzes were pointless.

By Tanisha Y

Feb 18, 2021

The explanation of the course is up to the mark. This course is overall good besides you need to follow other courses of the specialization too.

By Anand R

Mar 3, 2020

It was helpful for the beginners who is willing to learn data science and gained a knowledge about Github and other aspects. Thanks for Coursera

By Adam G

Jan 5, 2018

Good course that clearly explains basic R & data science concepts. Workload was very light - didn't get to practice or learn as much as I hoped.

By Bhojraj B

May 4, 2016

This course is great to start with. It provides overview of what is in the course and how should we as students be prepared to learn the course.

By David R

Mar 7, 2020

Excellent course. I found it particularly hard in the first two weeks. Practical exercises were intense. Discussion forms really helped out.

By Karthik R

Jan 16, 2017

Very good in setting up for the next courses. I would like to see more on Git though because I could have definitely understood it a bit better

By Douglas R

Jul 16, 2016

With my background I found this part of the course rather slow, but I can see why it's necessary for people with less of a software background.

By Jeff L

Feb 1, 2021

Computer voice was a little to quick to move on in some portions of the course. Particularly when trying to type code in R Studio or Git Hub.

By Nick M

Jun 29, 2020

Nice way to teach but more example related to bio medical please add more example like finance and technology and please check out while study

By Kingsley B

Jul 22, 2019

Liked the course and completed all the quizzes and project. But couldn't submit and earn a certificate because I can't afford to pay the fees.

By Melanie A

Feb 7, 2017

The course is a real beginner's guide to the world of data science and gives a good introduction to some of the tools used by data scientists.

By Heiko R

May 27, 2019

The course was well laid out and covered the basics of definitions as well as setting up R, RStudio, GitHub and showing how to use RMarkdown.

By Glauco P S

Jun 30, 2020

I do understand why they used automated videos in order to keep all the material as updated as possible, however it is a strange experience.

By Judith W

Apr 2, 2020

It is a good course to get familiar with the basics, however, I would have liked a little more actual content. Week Four I enjoyed the most.

By Suryakant S

Feb 7, 2020

I liked the course as it helped me to understand the basics of R programming including the installation of R studio and linking it to GitHub

By Leul B

Nov 2, 2016

Pretty great introductory course on types of data analysis. I can't wait to see how this builds in the future courses of the specialization.

By SantoshKumar

May 5, 2016

Nice course for Beginners, No complains regarding course material, however there is little bit audio issue in some slides as it is bit low.

By Peter E

Feb 14, 2016

Great Course! Overall I would recommend. Had a little bit of trouble b/c I am using a Mac but after a few Google Searches I was on my way!

By Brandon P

Jan 20, 2016

Great course! I would recommend compressing the audio on the video presentations so it's easier to hear and more consistent in volume level.

By ashika g

Apr 28, 2020

This course is nice kick start for the upcoming courses but the course could have been even more interactive . over all nice experience .

By Kadimisetty H S P

Jan 12, 2020

This course helps many of us to get started with R and R studio. It also explains about some famous terms in data science and statistics. T

By Chloé S

May 23, 2019

Everything was perfect except the Git and Github part. It was confusing. I ended up not using what it has teached me to pass the final exam

By Girish V V

Dec 28, 2018

Quiz in final submission related to usage of toolbox Rstudio, like loading new packages will add more value and will help the learners also

By Francesco M

Dec 28, 2017

Good introduction on Data science specializationi. I highly recommend to all people that would like to know more about this fantastic world