Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,714 ratings
1,972 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

AS
Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,951 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Manasi P

Sep 29, 2020

They gave real life examples to explain the topics which is very good .. personally it helps me to understand the core fundamental logics of each topic.

By Peter C

Jun 10, 2018

Actually I don't know well whether these contents should be earned by video classes. But, the explanations and the passion of the instructor were great.

By Nirupam S

Sep 17, 2017

The course is good for beginners. Although, more emphasis could have been placed on industrial examples but still the course is a great start for anyone

By Afif A R

May 25, 2020

an essential course for them wants to learn data science. But last week become really tough to understand, though the experience was good.

Thank you.

By harshita a

May 24, 2020

it was a great experience to have this course . I have learned lots of statistics tricks , which I found difficult. Thanks to provide these lectures.

By kishor k

May 1, 2020

It's really good courses to get complete command on mathematics on this very lockdown times.It really helps me to solve such maths problems.thank you

By Abhishek A

Sep 20, 2020

it was nice and understandable course specially the probability part .. for a basic data science it is enough to cover all mathematical portion.. :)

By Walid H

Aug 16, 2020

very good content and quality, however, the explainations could sometimes have been presented better way (the blackboarding could have been better).

By Abecassis

Jun 27, 2020

Le cours est globalement de qualité. Le prof explique bien. Il me semble qu'il a quelques erreurs dans les quizz qui perturbent un peu l'évaluation.

By Uriel C

Apr 29, 2020

Good course if you want to get the necesary skills for a data science course. The readings were good, but more examples would make the course better

By Cam B

Jun 14, 2020

Overall a good overview, Bayes portions moved much faster than the rest it seemed like. Maybe it's only because I'm less familiar with that portion

By Abhishek B

Aug 14, 2020

I wish the Bayes Theorem explanation was a bit more clear. I found it hard to understand. Apart from that the course and the exercises were great!

By Madhurjya S

Oct 27, 2020

The exams were a bit easier, would have loved if there were more questions to solve per subject, but no complaining, its good, loved the course!

By Omer K

Dec 25, 2020

The course was cool! Just that daniel talked a LOOOOOOOOT with probabilities In week 4 and It was BOOOOOOOORIIIIIIIING! But the rest was cool.

By Sujatha S

Aug 30, 2020

very helpful course to refresh our memories on probablity functions.

week4 quiz answers explanation is missing - could you please upload

Thanks

By Fernando A P

Jun 23, 2020

Needs more examples being given in the videos. However, the instructor does a good job in explaining the concepts in an understandable manner.

By Carlos V

Feb 18, 2019

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

r

e

s

o

u

r

c

e

t

o

r

e

f

r

e

s

h

t

h

I

n

g

s

w

e

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

in the past and also asses some voids in our knowledge of calculus and probability. Thanks!!!!

By Hauwa A

Oct 24, 2017

Week 4 gets confusing as more examples could help explain concepts. Otherwise overall course is great for basic math skills for Data Science

By Gary H

Jun 4, 2018

Introduction to some basic mathematical terms. Conducted in an easy-understand way. Not very clear explanation in the part of probabilities.

By Ysa G

Jun 19, 2020

Great for those who need to review their fundamentals. Helpful for people like me who already forgot about derivatives, probabilities, etc.

By Aldiyar S

Nov 18, 2020

The last part, Theory of probabilities was very unclear, with not correct explanaitions. Needed another sources to learn. Other parts good

By Phoebe ( Z

Feb 6, 2018

the material could be a little more challenging. If more vector/matrix material is introduced would be more helpful to the data scientists

By Suriya S

Jun 9, 2020

This course helps me to learn basic math of Data Science very effectively but more math skills are required other than this maths skills!

By Mai D T C

Jan 7, 2021

It's a very nice course, but please could you provide answer keys to the final quizz? It would be very helpful to reinforce our learning

By PO-HSIU L

Jun 12, 2020

The last part of the course, week 4 is a bit short on example, more examples on how to calculate conditional probabilty will be helpful.