Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,593 ratings
2,179 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

AS
Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 2,176 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By J. A H

Sep 7, 2020

Really enjoyable course that taught me how much I still need to learn to truly understand probability theory.

By Aman G

Mar 20, 2019

The course is well structured and good for the newbies and the ones who are not from mathematics background.

By Aishwarya K

Jun 25, 2018

I wished there were better examples and a little more in depth videos for week 4 since week 4 was very tough

By Ayda D

Mar 14, 2017

Good course. I feel like Week 4 could have been explained slightly better but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

By newksie

Aug 30, 2020

Great Course content, but many formatting mistakes which made some questions difficult to understand fully.

By Liqing P

Aug 24, 2017

Great course. For me the linear algebra part is too easy. But really learnt a lot about Probability Theory.

By Ramalingam R

Jul 19, 2020

Some topics were slow; Final week on Bayesian theorem etc. should have been covered little more in detail.

By Charae B

May 30, 2020

The Bayes Theorem and Binomial Theorem portion could have better examples and more simplified explanation.

By Stanislav F

Jul 5, 2020

There are several mistakes in video lectures, there are pop-ups saying about those mistakes, but still...

By Poornima B

Jun 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the session on Data science math skills, refreshed all the math skills learnt long back.

By Patrick S

May 25, 2020

It is wonderful to go through the basics of data science math skills. Thank you for offering the course.

By KRISHNA T M

Nov 27, 2017

brushed up the basics of mathematics good course for beginners and want to revise the key skills of math.

By Satya N

Sep 25, 2017

Please make probability sessions more interactive so that it will be useful to understand basic concepts.

By Sanjiv R

Apr 21, 2017

at time the formulas are given without proof or intuitive explanations. overall a good basic level course

By Deleted A

Jul 23, 2020

Congratulations on making such a course. But remember that the largest room is the room for improvement.

By krishna k s

Jun 18, 2020

It was a great course but in last two modules is seems it is difficult so need to make it more expalable

By Michael B

Jun 16, 2018

A good refresher on some basic concepts. Great intro to bayes theorem. Didn't go as in depth as I hoped.

By Francis

Jul 1, 2017

Some of the assignments are not well covered by the material, I have to check with additional material.

By Bijaya B

Jun 18, 2020

Well Structured course , had fun learning. Thanks to Duke University and Coursera for the opportunity.

By Manav P

Mar 9, 2020

I was a good experience to learn the base of mathematical skills related to data science and analytics

By Zax

Feb 28, 2021

Great class, but not enough explanation or practice problems for the permutation/combination problems

By Karim M E

Jul 20, 2019

the course was great but the last week was so hard and the instructor didn't explain the subject well

By Eric G

Sep 17, 2017

Good refresher course. The course instruction would definitely benefit from some real world examples.

By Sarhane H

Nov 15, 2020

Great content. Unfortenatly some Math display problems and some errors with assignments validation.

By Karthik M D

Jun 5, 2020

A well structured course. Content is simple and limited yet it sticks to necessary for data science