Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,449 ratings
2,147 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filter by:

1401 - 1425 of 2,136 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Carla M

Apr 16, 2020

The first half is excellent. The second half, with the second teacher, is hard to follow, given that the explanations are much more theoretical, and the quizzes are harder than the videos exercises. But it helped me with basic concepts, I enjoyed it.

By Michael N

May 21, 2017

Although I previously studied these things I have long forgotten them or they WAY I was taught them previously was incompatible with Data Science in general. Do this course first if you want to start data science and your maths needs some work.

By Mohit S

Mar 21, 2020

I have been struggling with probability till now but now my understanding of probability especially conditional probability and Bayes Theorem has improved significantly. Also, I never knew what e actually meant, which I learned in this course.

By Suyog B

Oct 16, 2017

Course is simple yet difficult. It explains most of the concepts in simple way but the assignments are pretty hard to solve :) overall makes perfect foundation and provide necessary skills for data Science. More focus on derivatives will help.

By David

Aug 1, 2020

The last week is very abstract and not very well explain but the rest of the class if pretty good but i feel like i've learned superficialy math skill for ML because i didn't see the intergral, funtional analysis, linear algebra in depth etc.

By Samuel S

Mar 25, 2020

Quite interesting. Some of the quizzes have questions with "tricks". Questions should be straightforward, IMO, so that it's the content of the course, not intepretation skills, that are subject to evaluation. All in all, extremely worthwhile.

By Ganesh J

Nov 10, 2018

I leaned a lot especially in probability. But I had to search around various other resources before I got the hang of Bayes theorem. Also a tree diagram approach to both conditional and Bayes theorem will help get to the understanding faster.

By Ervandio I A

Sep 17, 2020

Some section are easy to understand, but some others not. Especially in the probability & bayes theorem section. This section is like compressing hours of lecture into 30 mins video. For advice, maybe it is necessary to add more example.

By Carlos L

May 26, 2020

The learning curve was a little bit unbalanced. I think would be better to spend more time with probabiliy instead simple cartesian concepts. Besides I miss for sure linear algebra since the course its called Data Science Math Skills.

By Giannina Z

Jun 19, 2020

I enjoyed this course and would have given it 5 stars if it were not because of the material in Week 4 and how poorly it was explained. Apart from that, great class to take if you have not reviewed relevant math concepts in a while.

By Jorge F P

Oct 10, 2017

Great introduction to mathematical analysis and probability. I took it to refresh the concepts I had learned some years ago and it met my expectations. The quizzes, particularly the ones in weeks 3 and 4, are quite challenging.

By Phan, T T T

Jul 27, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course, it provides me with the basic knowledge of the math of Data Science. The lecturers explained very carefully although the knowledge was not too difficult. I will recommend it to my friends.

By Simone M

Oct 12, 2020

This course helped me to understand probability better than the classes that I took in high school and college. I have greater confidence in understanding data presented in medical studies. Thank you for offering this course.

By Erica C

Dec 26, 2020

Overall a good review of material I learned a while ago and introduction to some concepts I hadn't covered in previous coursework. However, the course would benefit from more and varied examples to solidify concepts covered.

By Medina A

Jul 22, 2020

It helped me to understand what I should be expecting if I want to go into the data science field. I also realized it is not as difficult as it seems if only I ma willingly to work a little harder or just do some extra work.

By Abduvosid M

Jun 4, 2020

Very good explanation of Sets, Sigma Notation, Cartesian plane, functions, and logarithms. But probability (last week) requires more independent learning from learners side (this is actually a very big and interesting topic)

By Oscar F R P

Apr 24, 2020

Sometimes som expresions and explenations may confuse non american learners, but the content is amazing and its easy to learn ( Also too many videos have mistakes and some scribbles in the videos are hard to understand).

By Himal k

May 2, 2020

I m very happy to complete this course .it was very interesting and brain storming course.it Will help u in every situation of maths course simple question.it was awesome and very interested course...thank u 😊🥰😍😘

By Angelos K

Oct 25, 2020

Some problems and calculations of the last modules could be designed to be easier. Still, the course was great and offered an amazing recap of the basic math skills needed for statistics and data science. Thank you!

By Srijit B

Sep 4, 2020

It was an exceptional course , however I felt a little more of solved example and thinking procedure on encountering a conditional probability and Bayes theorem related problem can be shown a bit more for novices

By Himanshu S

May 5, 2020

A good refresher on mathematics wrt Data Science. Concepts were very well explained.

There is a vast difference in difficulty of quizzes in first 3 weeks and week 4, with the former needing to be more challenging

By Kristel I S R

Jun 17, 2020

He comprendido conceptos y su aplicación en temas que realmente no había comprendido la primera. El primer instructor explica con muchísimo detalle y es excelente para aquellos que necesitan reforzar las bases.

By Rita M

Aug 28, 2020

Although the instructors explain mathematical concepts in simple, easy to understand ways, there needs to be many more (real life) examples as well as practice questions with answers to solidify understanding.

By Sanjay T

Aug 27, 2020

The explanations by both the instructors are quite clear. However, I'm cutting one star because the difficult of the problems in the Week 4 (Probability) lectures are easy, but the ones in the test are hard.

By Bernard O

Nov 1, 2020

This is a great course. I, however, believe that the sections on algebra and especially probability need more time. I believe probability needs at least two weeks as it is highly complex and very essential.