Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,453 ratings
2,148 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 2,137 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Bernard O

Nov 1, 2020

This is a great course. I, however, believe that the sections on algebra and especially probability need more time. I believe probability needs at least two weeks as it is highly complex and very essential.

By Armando A A E M

Apr 16, 2020

Es un curso, que dependiendo de tus conocimiento estadística será bien fácil, o algo tedioso. Las explicaciones son muy buenas, y es una gran herramienta de repaso de estadística para el uso de datos

By 吴俊杰

Jun 24, 2020

the week1 and week2 makes me feel i was a child,it is too easy, but the week4 is good, the example about ball is easy to understand, I think it is worthwell to take in this course if your have time.

By Kyle C

Oct 21, 2020

Weeks 1-3 were quality. Week 4 was a little sloppy in the instructional videos and less clear than in Weeks 1-3. Overall, concise refresher of various mathematical subjects useful to data science.

By Philippe

Feb 27, 2018

The content of the course as a whole is interesting as a good synthesis of basic skills, even though the content of the weeks 3 and 4 lacks of clarity compared to the content of the weeks 1 and 2.

By Shubham G

May 29, 2020

It is very valuable course for data science learners. They provided math topics which required for data analysis. For further learning, it is very useful. Thank you for providing such great couse

By Rahul B

Sep 2, 2020

Entire course material is very helpful in understanding the concepts.

Only request would be to simplify the probability section a bit more so that it can easy to understand the concepts clearly.

By shuman P

May 30, 2020

Great refresher and primer. The section on Probability and Bayes Theory needs a lot more support material (video and notes) as it can get tricky and abstract, especially when doing the quizzes.

By Allakhverdov R

Jul 2, 2021

Excellent course. Among the disadvantages, I can note that I did not have enough comments on the solutions to the problems that were proposed at the time of testing. More precisely, feedback.

By Deepa B

Jun 7, 2020

This course was very easy to understand, though I think week 4's context required more examples. Overall, it was a concise course for brushing up basic math skills required for data science.

By Paul M

Sep 17, 2017

Good refresher. Weeks 3 and 4 are much more difficult to follow than one and two. Part of this is due to the subject matter but also a change of teacher / and style makes it more difficult.

By Robert W

May 28, 2020

There are a lot of different topics in this course and I feel that more experimental examples and longer lectures that are more coordinated within the module. It was a good review, however.

By Heidi

Aug 3, 2017

Loved it! Started off easy but got a little tricky in the end with Bayes Theorem. Glad I know which data / math areas I need to brush up on for my job. Thanks, Duke University and Coursera!

By Christos G

Dec 21, 2020

Well explained concepts most of the time but towards the end, things are harder, and explanations not very detailed along with quizzes that the lessons have not prepared you appropriately.

By Katesopon K

Jul 15, 2019

sometime the lecture is too easy to understand and after some week it goes too hard to understand even it not a hard thing but sometime the lecturer make it so hard so it can make confuse.

By Anna-Kristina P

Feb 8, 2018

A great review of A level statistics which I had long since forgotten but suddenly found myself needing again. A really good balance of work through the weeks and at just the right level.

By Md. S I P

Jun 16, 2020

It started with very basic and gradually it lead me to work more hard and think thoroughly. Quizzes was very good and week 4 was kinda tough for me, but I managed it. It was hard but fun.

By Navin K R

Jul 5, 2020

It was quite good learning online and it helped a lot to learn Mathematics, I am bit confuse that how would l use this knowledge into data science ? overall reading learning was amazing.

By Choudri V

May 9, 2020

I like all the video lectures more and gives me more ideas to recollect the ideas.. Week 4 videos little more to be improved with other set of examples to make the concepts more clear

By Stanislav V

Feb 11, 2018

Course is really good for beginner who wants to start career with data. Especially is possible understand everything by video companion which explain math skills in practice exercises.

By Bruno S

Aug 21, 2020

A dificuldade dos últimos questionários (semana 4) não condiz com o conteúdo ministrado em aula, tirando esse detalhe, o curso ajuda a relembrar conceitos de uma forma bastante clara.

By T.

Jul 15, 2020

I find this course really helpful with explanation of concepts and definitions. I would like the probability module to have more example exercises though. I really need more examples.

By Fakhre A

May 14, 2020

I love this course. I have gained lot's of knowledge by completing this course. I would recommend who want to develop their career in the field of data science should use this course.

By Prishanga B

Jun 14, 2018

Could have a little more of theory on how to solve the problems. But otherwise a good understanding of the basics of the statistical and probability maths required for Data Analysis.