Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,289 ratings
2,107 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1501 - 1525 of 2,090 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Atsushi T

Sep 14, 2017

Very comprehensive and challenging - I feel a final quiz would be great but individually, very well though out content and questions

By Rinav S

May 19, 2020

The course offers a good insight to the maths skills utilized in Data Science. WIll be looking to program all concepts learnt here.

By Ricardo V

May 23, 2020

A very great course for begginners but it would be great if the math skills could be elaborated closer to the real world examples.

By Priyadarshini S

Oct 25, 2020

THE COURSE WAS GREAT. AREAS OF IMPROVEMENT ARE MAINLY IN WEEK 4 CONTENT. MORE SOLVED EXAMPLES WILL BE MORE USEFUL TO THE STUDENTS

By Dyandra P W

Sep 16, 2020

Although I've already learned these but I had so much fun reviewing and gaining new insights on the materials! Thank you so much!

By Mohd F E B A

May 9, 2019

Though that this course was too simple but actually it is quite an eye opening and refreshing for the last two topics. Well done!

By Rohit

May 24, 2020

This is a interesting course . I learned lot of new things from this course .This course will be beneficial for me for my future

By Juan N R A

May 4, 2020

Me gustarían mas ejemplos en el tema de probabilidades. Bayesian y Binomial.

Gracias por la dedicación y compartir conocimiento

By Heather H

Apr 27, 2020

I enjoyed the class. I haven't taken probability in over a decade so it was rough learning it again. Thank you for the class!

By Alefiyah F

Nov 24, 2020

Excellent course. I would recommend adding on more optional practise exercises for those who have haven't done this in a while

By ayman m

Nov 1, 2020

probability section needs to be reviewed. i felt difficulties in learning and i went to khan academy to clear bayezian theorem

By Eugenio P

Jun 7, 2020

The instruction is great in presentation however it is far too shallow for the depth of the questions expected on the quizzes.

By Yuvraj M

Jun 3, 2020

The Course was structured pretty well! Like the tutors. More Support could have been offered for the last two modules though!

By Saurabh C

Apr 12, 2020

Well taught. I felt Bayes Theorem could have been explained a little better. However, overall a wonderful course. Thank you.

By Eman A

Jan 27, 2018

its very good course,,but i didn't mark 5th star because course need more excercises on each lesson special at probabilities

By Maksym F

Jul 28, 2017

Thanks for course! Only advise I can give - change the name to "Basic Math Skills for Data science". Course is pretty easy.

By JAGDISH R A

Apr 16, 2020

I understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on.

By Mohamed M A E

Dec 4, 2017

It is very good course but need to add more exercises (examples), reading materials in addition to more and longer videos.

By Shahrukh H

Apr 29, 2020

Should be rather more competitive from the 3rd week stage. Although the teaching was definitely interactive and engaging.

By Birkaran S

Oct 25, 2019

Well-described concise notes and if you do not understand anything, the author provides written notes with every lecture.

By Romain T

Jun 18, 2020

Good course for brushing up one's maths skills. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

By GODBOLE K S

May 15, 2020

It was very awesome experience with coursera.it help me to clear my concept regarding with data science and math skill.

By MONALISA P

Apr 27, 2020

One more week on Probability could have been better. Probabilty week felt a little rushed. Rest was awesome. Thank you.

By Zhe X

Jun 11, 2017

Good introduction course. It will be better if more contents and examples for calculus and probalility can be provided.

By Andrew C

Jun 22, 2017

Quality instruction with clear explanation of concepts and relevant practice/test modules to check your understanding.