Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,084 ratings
1,828 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1701 - 1725 of 1,810 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Manish G

Sep 26, 2019

The last module could have been done better. More examples to be included for explaining probability problems.

By Leen J

Aug 15, 2020

the first two weeks were brilliant, but I had a really hard time comprehending the 3rd and 4th week material.

By Paola G

Aug 15, 2020

Thee explanation of week 4 was not comprehensive and the quizzes were too complicated for what was covered.

By Ammar E M

Apr 14, 2020

I notice that the quizzes questions not reflect 100% to what we got already !, However, the course great

By shai z

Jun 18, 2020

its ok, i felt the statistical part wasnt explained well, and went from pretty easy to hard too quickly

By Garvit R

Jun 26, 2020

i am giving 3 star just because of professor efforts .Difficulty level of this course is not of level

By Ali H

Apr 27, 2020

Some points in probability was not clear and doesn't been explicit.

Some quiz answers are wrong.

By kavya

Sep 23, 2020

I completed the Course but I didn't receive certificate..

Good to understand it's useful for us

By Zarmeen S

Jul 11, 2020

The course should be improved from last topics with simple examples. It was good at the start.

By Wasin W

Jun 07, 2020

In first 3 week, i learned berfore, so i can understand.

In last weeks, it is new knowledge.

By Michał F

Aug 30, 2017

Basics knowledge, i liked first part about functions, but second was not quite good for me.

By Dhwanil S

Oct 03, 2020

There is no practical usage of it. There can be a project which shows its practical usage.

By Ioana D

Feb 10, 2017

The Probability section could use more practical examples, I found it difficult to follow.

By Aryan K P

May 15, 2020

Good for those who have not taken any maths since 10th grade, else it would be too easy.

By Nauan S

Oct 07, 2020

The last week (Probability) has terrible lectures. They are anything but comprehensive.

By Rodolfo N R

May 07, 2018

Last quiz is very hard and course does not provide the knowlege needed to resolve it.

By Alexander K B

Oct 14, 2020

The entire course would be much more enjoyable if Paul B. taught all of the modules.

By Seyed P R

Apr 22, 2020

Quite good but so many errors in the presentation that it was distracting at times.

By PAWANESH K

Jul 14, 2020

A good platform for online study material and best experience teaching methods

By Juan C D

Jun 11, 2020

Take this course as a review but not to learn the data science skills needed

By G T

Mar 01, 2017

The material is very useful, however, the second teacher is not the best...

By Gaurab R P

Sep 06, 2020

Week 4 is poorly designed. Concepts are not clear. Please redesign it.

By abid g

Sep 08, 2020

Course lacks many details especially differentiation and integration

By Moin u

May 10, 2020

The course topics were good. But the video lectures were not good.

By abinaya R

May 07, 2020

probability was not taken properly and many portions are missing