Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,081 ratings
2,053 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1901 - 1925 of 2,035 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By phung s

Mar 16, 2021

Probability and Function sections are too hard to understand

Exercise is sometimes so confused and seems wrong answers

By Martino V

May 29, 2017

a good selection of topics, but way too formula based rather than understanding based, especially in the second half.

By Felix H

Mar 30, 2020

Some of the quiz questions have mathematical errors (e.g. inside of a log cannot be negative) or are quite unclear.

By Manish G

Sep 26, 2019

The last module could have been done better. More examples to be included for explaining probability problems.

By Leen J

Aug 15, 2020

the first two weeks were brilliant, but I had a really hard time comprehending the 3rd and 4th week material.

By Paola G

Aug 15, 2020

Thee explanation of week 4 was not comprehensive and the quizzes were too complicated for what was covered.

By Ammar E M

Apr 14, 2020

I notice that the quizzes questions not reflect 100% to what we got already !, However, the course great

By shai z

Jun 18, 2020

its ok, i felt the statistical part wasnt explained well, and went from pretty easy to hard too quickly

By Garvit r

Jun 25, 2020

i am giving 3 star just because of professor efforts .Difficulty level of this course is not of level

By Ali H

Apr 27, 2020

Some points in probability was not clear and doesn't been explicit.

Some quiz answers are wrong.

By kavya

Sep 23, 2020

I completed the Course but I didn't receive certificate..

Good to understand it's useful for us

By Zarmeen S

Jul 11, 2020

The course should be improved from last topics with simple examples. It was good at the start.

By M

Nov 5, 2020

The course might not be entirely introductory. Part of it was breezed through very quickly.

By Wasin W

Jun 7, 2020

In first 3 week, i learned berfore, so i can understand.

In last weeks, it is new knowledge.

By Michał F

Aug 30, 2017

Basics knowledge, i liked first part about functions, but second was not quite good for me.

By Dhwanil S

Oct 3, 2020

There is no practical usage of it. There can be a project which shows its practical usage.

By Ioana D

Feb 10, 2017

The Probability section could use more practical examples, I found it difficult to follow.

By Aryan K P

May 15, 2020

Good for those who have not taken any maths since 10th grade, else it would be too easy.

By Nauan S

Oct 7, 2020

The last week (Probability) has terrible lectures. They are anything but comprehensive.

By Rodolfo N R

May 7, 2018

Last quiz is very hard and course does not provide the knowlege needed to resolve it.

By Alexander K B

Oct 14, 2020

The entire course would be much more enjoyable if Paul B. taught all of the modules.

By Devin M

Jan 25, 2021

Some topics in week 3 especially 4 need some work. 1 and 2 were very helpful though

By Seyed P R

Apr 22, 2020

Quite good but so many errors in the presentation that it was distracting at times.

By Vitaly B

Mar 28, 2021

Probability portion of this course was not as clear, felt it was rushed through.

By Maureen v D

Jan 12, 2021

Final probability section is very confusing with no support from the instructor.