Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
61,859 ratings

About the Course

In the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will open the deep learning black box to understand the processes that drive performance and generate good results systematically. By the end, you will learn the best practices to train and develop test sets and analyze bias/variance for building deep learning applications; be able to use standard neural network techniques such as initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, hyperparameter tuning, batch normalization, and gradient checking; implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence; and implement a neural network in TensorFlow. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

NA

Jan 13, 2020

After completion of this course I know which values to look at if my ML model is not performing up to the task. It is a detailed but not too complicated course to understand the parameters used by ML.

JS

Apr 4, 2021

Fantastic course and although it guides you through the course (and may feel less challenging to some) it provides all the building blocks for you to latter apply them to your own interesting project.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 7,103 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By David J

Jan 7, 2018

Thank you Andrew and Team for this course. I must say the course has surprised me and I have myself surprised my level of learning. But all credit to the way course is laid out and the step by step method of progress along with strong conceptual explanation helps a lot. Thank you again

By Farhodbek S

Jan 10, 2021

This specialization course gave me a better understanding of hyperparameters and the process of tuning them. Learning new information will help me build my own project without unexpected results. Andrew Ng still gives better intuition. I really appreciate the materials in this course.

By Long N T

Oct 14, 2020

An excellent course by Andrew about how to improve deep learning models. I actually thought about something over-emphasized before taking the course, but after completing it I have changed my mind completely: THIS COURSE IS A MUST IF YOU SERIOUSLY WANT TO GET INTO DEEP LEARNING WORLD!

By Rahul V

Jun 1, 2020

Awesome Course! :)

Andrew is really the best instructor... He makes problems very easy to solve.

The content is fantastic...

The best part of this course is Optimization algorithms.

I loved every video and content with best explanation on hyperparameter tuning...

Adam optimization is best

By Lavkumar M

Apr 15, 2020

A great course, with deep understanding of all important hyperparameters and the related concepts important to tune the deep neural networks. Lectures are up to the mark and so are the programming assignments. Thanks a lot Andrew Ng and Coursera for making it possible for me to learn.

By Alejandro R V

Jan 2, 2018

As usual, another incredible course taught by a really good teacher. I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a firm garsp about optimization algorithms and how they really work, apart from hyperparameter tunning and regularization methods for bias/variance. Thank Andrew Ng!

By Sanjay R B

Jun 16, 2019

Very helpful in building on the foundation in neural networks and deep learning with practical experience. The programming assignments are reinforce key concepts and are a great asset to keep after the class and apply in projects. Andrew is doing great work bringing AI to the masses!

By Dustin

May 4, 2019

Nice illustration of the tricks including Batch-Norm, Optimization as well as Dropout, etc. Sometimes the lack of the theory is sort of unstatisfying, but considering the difficulty of a comprehensive intro for all of the above, it has been good enough for beginners to catch up with.

By A S M A M

Jan 1, 2018

While the first course in the specialization is the perfect introduction to the realm of NN, this course is the place where I learned to implement a true Deep Network. It talks about various optimizations and parameters of the DL models. Bonus, it introduces the tensorflow framework.

By Ananth K

Oct 24, 2017

Great course! Very well laid out approach to tuning a deep neural network. FInal introduction to Tensorflow was useful, but I think a lot of information was compressed into a single video. Suggest spreading this a little more. The Tensorflow programming assignment was pretty good.

By Alberto B

Oct 7, 2017

Genial curso en el que aprender como optimizar tu red modificando una serie de parámetros y usando diferentes algoritmos. Ademas genial introducción a Tensorflow con el que avanzar en el montaje de redes de manera rápida. Recomendado totalmente tras realizar el curso anterior a este.

By Anurag A

Sep 10, 2017

This course is awesome. I never had this deep understanding of tuning hyperparameters, batch normalization and regularization before taking this course, though I went through several online material. The Tensorflow introduction and subsequent programming assignment is also excellent.

By The M G

Jan 10, 2020

The best course ever. I am highly impressed with the way Andrew Sir teaches and the depth of the topic, that he explains. You will never be left with a question unanswered. I am grateful to you sir, it made my life. Looking forward to complete the rest of the specialization courses.

By Taras M

Jul 26, 2018

It would be super cool if this course could be extended with pytorch just to compare with tensorflow. Usually courses are extended on udemy, for instance (not a marketing, just a comparison), even after all the materials are completed. It would be sand to have this course abandoned.

By Sreevishnu D

Oct 19, 2020

Second course of the specialization and I absolutely love the content and teaching methodology. As always got an elaborate and intuitive understanding of the topics with the best advise and practices on Improving Deep Neural Networks.

Thanks Andrew Ng, Deeplearning.ai and Coursera.

By Kalinchuk I A

May 7, 2020

Thank you, Andrew and the others, who helped him! The tests are very useful and lectures give enough theory to understand everything. The only think I would like to add is a quiz. Quizzes are very useful and can be used so as to make your brain repeat the what you heard in a video.

By M A

Mar 21, 2020

As a 2-3yrs experienced deep learning developer should say that this specialization is awesome specifically this course, it's really practical every day to get a better result just tune the parameters as you've learned in the course and boom that's it you get a better model. Thanks

By GAURI M

May 30, 2020

It is amazing how concepts can be made so clear that implementing them by hand seems so easy. Love how the instructions are commented in the programming assignment. It helps you complete the assignment easily, yet giving such an extreme feeling of fulfilment and accomplishment. :)

By Nektarios K

Jan 7, 2018

Really loved this course! I believe it is really important for anyone who completed the first one to enroll on this one as well as it goes over many important topics that are critical in implementing Neural Networks. And finally, it goes over Tensorflow which was really fun to do!

By Emilio D P

Sep 24, 2017

Fantastic course on Deep Learning. The concepts explained during the course are very useful, especially regularization (week 1) and optimization (week 2). The introduction to TensorFlow is great. This course has allowed me to read technical articles about DNN and understand them.

By Saurabh R

Sep 2, 2020

The discipline with which the code examples are put can make anybody learn Deep Learning with no prio Experience.I have thoroughly enjoyed each and every assignment and tutorials and I am amazed with the way Andrew NG has put the lectures. Kudos to the team behind this course !!

By Timothy G

Jul 15, 2019

This course was very helpful learn so additional information on hyperparameters which help me out at work. Where I was tuning my own and was able to get 88%. After taking this course and implementing what I learned into auto tune my hyperparameters my accuracy went up to 91.33%.

By tlinden

May 30, 2018

This lectures + programming examples are very good for a kick start and to understand key concepts. I'm a mathematician, diving into deep learning. I really appreciate this course. The programming examples are valuable even if my python knowledge is on a beginners level. Thanks!

By Dipanjan G

Feb 3, 2020

This again is an excellent insight on the hyper parameters and deep learning frameworks. The extreme prowess in the subject but at the same time a very lucid and relaxed style of teaching from Andrew helps quickly grasp these difficult concepts. Looking forward to much more!!!

By RAGHAV S

May 25, 2018

This is such a crucial course to build upon the fundamentals of Neural Networks.

Especially the intuitions that Andrew has provided really add to the arsenal, I'm so glad I took this course.

Looking forward to the other courses in this specialisation.

Thank you Andrew/Coursera :)